We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
AU$198
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Wayne V
Melbourne, Australia

Perfect Getaway Location by the Water

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Sept 2022
Thoroughly enjoyed 2 nights at The Sands in a well equipped quiet room with a view overlooking the golf course. We had the pleasure of enjoying all the amazing facilities including the gym, indoor pool, bar and verandah as well as 9 holes of golf on the Saturday afternoon. The hotel is a $11 Uber to Torquay center so enjoyed dinners out in town. All in all a fantastic relaxing weekend at The Sands !
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Perry, General Manager at The Sands Torquay, responded to this review
Responded 1 Oct 2022
Dear Mr V....Dear Wayne,

"A fantastic relaxing weekend at The Sands" is music to our ears.

Thank you so much for your kind words.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you both back soon.

With thanks and best wishes,

David

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lol.travel
    0.9 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Exterior Beach View
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Lol.travel
      AU$158
    • Hotels.com
    1.8 km from The Sands Torquay
    Pool
    Beachfront
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    3.1 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$289
    • Hotels.com
    4.3 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$116
    • Algotels
    2.7 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Sit out the back in our covered BBQ area
    eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    3.2 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$106
    • Hotels.com
    3.6 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    10.2 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    3.6 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Bed
    Booking.com
    • Lol.travel
    • ZenHotels.com
    4.7 km from The Sands Torquay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Torquay
    Reviews (119)
    Filter reviews
    119 results
    Traveller rating
    87
    16
    6
    5
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    87
    16
    6
    5
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews golf course sunday afternoon spacious room golf view play golf relaxing weekend great room would stay again indoor pool great stay great facilities sandals spike netflix kangaroos retreat tv
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    71 - 76 of 119 reviews
    Reviewed 11 September 2022

    My wife and I stayed here for two nights during our recent holiday in Torquay. The room was spacious (34 square metres), clean and comfortable. It had a large balcony facing the Golf Course. The views were excellent.

    A king size bed, a study table and a large 65 inch smart TV with netflix, Amazon TV, etc. were good features.

    It was off peak season, so there were very few people around. Our room was a corner unit and there were no occupants in the room next to ours. It was very quiet and peaceful.

    We had a full breakfast at Spike Cafe on both days and a drink at the bar one evening. I swam 50 laps in the swimming pool on two days.

    Room tip: Corner room on 2nd floor facing golf course.
    Date of stay: September 2022
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank World_Traveller_838
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    David Perry, General Manager at The Sands Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2022

    Dear World_Traveller_88,

    Thanks for for taking the time to share your experience here at The Sands Torquay with readers of Tripadvisor.

    Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back soon.

    With kindest regards and thanks again,

    David

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 September 2022

    I can not speak highly enough of the overall experience. Great for a catch up even if you were not playing golf. The resort is well maintained with a great selection of spacious, comfortable rooms available. Very convenient to eat in with a lovely meal. Highly recommend!

    Date of stay: September 2022
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank janSept2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    David Perry, General Manager at The Sands Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2022

    Dear Sir/Madam,

    The team at The Sands will be thrilled to read your glowing review. Thank you.

    The pleasure of your company was ours and we look forward with the hope of welcoming you back soon.

    With thanks and best wishes,

    David

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 August 2022

    Room clean and good (other block out blinds letting light in). View of the golf course great, gym good - but the bar and dining room design and the common areas woeful. It appears that management opened the hotel when the rooms were ready but forgot about everything else.

    Date of stay: August 2022
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Weekend_01
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 August 2022

    Stayed at the Sands Torquay as we had a friends 50th birthday celebration at that location. It was a fantastic night and was made even better not having to drive back to Melbourne,so convenient being able to walk back to our room and stay in a cozy bed and a very clean and welcoming room looking out onto a beautiful golf course

    Date of stay: August 2022
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank jardy5
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 August 2022

    We had a great time but the staff in the dining area were a little confused about their process for table service but the food was excellent and so are the amenities, rooms and the golf course. We will be back

    Date of stay: August 2022
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank H2218AZrossp
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews