We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
664 results
Traveller rating
186
251
137
59
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
251
137
59
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hanners restaurant golf course comfortable bed sunday night the ground floor buffet breakfast poached eggs round of golf nice resort pleasant stay golf view the great ocean road short walk to the beach tennis courts sandals golfers gym
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 664 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed here over the AFL grand final long weekend. I thought this was a great location. Short walk to the beach, a quick drive to the city center and being in a residential area it was very quiet at night. Reception staff were very friendly & helpful. Our room was very clean & bigger than I expected (I found the bed to be very comfy!). The bathroom was also clean & much bigger than expected (loved the extra big shower!). No microwave in the room made warming up bottles for our baby a bit tricky, but we managed. Free wifi was great, however I found the connection weak most times, still worked though, it was just a little slow. The balcony didn't have any furniture, which was a shame & there was bird droppings all over the balcony ledge (which meant hanging up wet beach towels became a difficult task). We didn't use the golf facilities, nor did we eat at the restaurant. Thought it was a little odd that the restaurant closed at 8pm (seems very early) & there wasn't any room service. We did try to use the indoor pool on one very hot day, however we were not allowed as we had a baby with us (must say the lady looking after the pool/gym area was actually very rude about this. She told us we should have known that children were not allowed & when we said we weren't aware, she basically called us liars!). Anyway, other than the one very rude staff member, I was very happy with our decision to stay here.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank -0-Vanessa-0-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Dear -O-Vanessa-O-,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay and we are pleased that you will return to our Hotel in the future.

Now that our weather is warming up our housekeeping team have been kept busy with maintaining the room balconies and removing the unwanted bird droppings. Being in a environmentally sensitive area the wildlife can be a challenge this time of year, especially on very warm days and with the moth migration that annually occurs.

Although our rooms do not have microwaves due to the sensitivity of our automated fire monitoring system our kitchen are more than happy to warm up baby bottles for future reference.

The privately run Health Club does have a set of rules that need to be abided by for Hotel guests, I will be following up with the Manager of the Health Club in regards to your other comments.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Richard Blackley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

My husband and I were on a road trip from sydney to adellaide for a wedding and decide torquay was a nice spot to stay for the night. We chose this hotel from recommendations we saw on line. We were very happy with the very lovely room and were happy with the lovely meal we had at the resuarant.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Dear Jenny A,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your important road trip and do hope the wedding you attended in Adelaide was a wonderful event. Our new Chef Luke has had a great impact on our food in the Restaurant so it is pleasing to know you enjoyed your dining experience. We hope that you have a safe trip home and should you ever be in our beautiful part of this great country again please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Warmest Regards
Richard Blackley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

An amazing venue for our recent two day conference. Staff were amazing, particularly Morgan!

The staff couldn't do enough for us, the venue was organised, and the food was fantastic.

Very professional set up.

Thanks guys, see you next time!

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cairi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Dear Cairi R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

Conferencing is such an important part of our Hotel and we valued having you stay with us. Morgan is extremely dedicated to ensuring that all of our conference delegates are well looked after and truly is an asset to our team. In a relatively short period of time Morgan has been recognised time and time again as a valued team member by our guests and staff alike, we are delighted that you feel the same way.

We look forward to the opportunity to having your group return to us in the future and thank you for reviewing our Hotel.

Warmest Regards
Richard Blackley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Waking up to the sound of waves crashing on the beach. Lovely short stroll to beach. Friendly helpful staff. Beautiful facilities. Food was lovely and just right portion size. Lots of room to move around.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lynnellej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Dear Lynnellej,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

Your thoughts and comments are much appreciated, we at Peppers the Sands Torquay make every effort to ensure that you our valued guest enjoy your experience with us and I am pleased that we have exceeded your expectations.

Our new Head Chef Luke will be thrilled with the feedback regarding his food, a new menu is currently being written and we expect to see his unique flair delivered to the table very shortly. Something to look forward to on your next return.

I am looking forward to passing on your feedback to our staff and once again thank you for taking the time to assist future guests with words from your own experience.

Regards
Richard Blackley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

This resort was a great place to stay for the weekend. Great views of the golf course and staff were exceptional through out our stay. We had breakfast and dinner at the resort and they were of a very standard.

Room tip: Our room was large and bathroom was excellent with a great shower. Our room also had a great view of the golf course just through the sliding door from our room.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

Dear Samuel H,

Great to hear you enjoyed your weekend away with us here at Peppers the Sands Torquay. With the weather warming up and more sunshine in our days the leisurely escape to the coast is increasing in popularity. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for recognising our wonderful staff for their efforts to ensure our guests are well looked after.

When you have time in the future for another coastal retreat please do not hesitate to contact us directly as we always look after our valued return guests.

Warmest Regards
Richard Blackley
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews