We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Paul F
Glenelg, Australia

Good room but sparse and we didn’t get any breakfast provisions

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Apr 2019
Booked the room thru booking.com and I agree with previous reviews, it wasn’t easy to find even with Navman! It’s about a 3 to 5 min drive to restaurants and the main beach. The room is functional and the bed comfy with a good sized bathroom. There was no breakfast facility but I don’t think that was part of my booking anyway. The host was certainly not friendly but accommodating I guess. Not sure if I would stay here again given te other choices we saw closer in town.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$354
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from The View on Grossmans
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from The View on Grossmans
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sit out the back in our covered BBQ area
    1.5 km from The View on Grossmans
    Free parking
    Exterior Beach View
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Wyndham
      AU$225
    • Hotels.com
    2.3 km from The View on Grossmans
    Pool
    Beachfront
    Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$116
    • Hotels.com
    1.2 km from The View on Grossmans
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    3.8 km from The View on Grossmans
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$105
    • Hotels.com
    2.3 km from The View on Grossmans
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    7.3 km from The View on Grossmans
    Free parking
    Bed
    • ZenHotels.com
    1.0 km from The View on Grossmans
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Hotels.com
    2.3 km from The View on Grossmans
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Torquay
    Reviews (54)
    Filter reviews
    54 results
    Traveller rating
    22
    17
    8
    3
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    22
    17
    8
    3
    4
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 54 reviews
    Reviewed 4 April 2019

    Having booked a room at 'The View on Grossmans' at Torquay through Booking.com, we experienced some difficulty in locating the site even though our GPS device stated that "you have reached your destination" as we drove past slowly. A phone call to the host soon had us checking in but perhaps a more conspicuous sign at the front of the premises would be helpful, especially if arriving at night. Everything else we experienced at this place was good and we thoroughly enjoyed receiving good advice from host Dale, followed by a very pleasant evening. The facilities were generally superior to 'average', particularly the large bathroom, which I covet! The continental breakfast -from the fridge - was generous and enjoyed. The view of the surrounding rural countryside from our upstairs window was also valued. Highly recommended.

    Date of stay: March 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank ianandsandraw
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 February 2019 via mobile

    We stopped for one night in our way to the Ocean Road. It was really good to discover this place out of the beaches but next to. Quite and really comfy. The couple who managed were friendly and makes you feel like at home. The appartment was cute, it had a big bathroom and confortable bed. The place offered a swimming pool and tennis court. You can park your car inside on and if you want to walk to the beaches or go to the restaurants you just need 5 minutes driving. Good prices for 100% quality.
    In my opinion, this little place is really recommendable.

    Date of stay: December 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Patriciamassa
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 December 2018

    Didn't even make it to the property. However, now after seeing all these reviews I am glad we didn't. Booked with the host 3 months in advance, and received an un-empathetic email 7 days before our New Year's trip that we can no longer stay. Absolutely no signs of remorse or sympathy for the disposition she caused, just tried blaming the website stating that it's their fault that their communication was so bad and that she hadn't seen the email. Absolutely shattered that our plans are ruined, and now we won't be able to go anywhere for New Years because 7 days out, everything is booked out or extremely expensive! If you want a reliable booking, don't book with Dale.

    Date of stay: December 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Stephanie T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

    Booked room for one night stay 28 September.
    Took one look at the room and complained to owner. Bathroom set up for invalids, huge coffee table jammed up against couch. Owners rude and aggressive. We opted not to stay. Owner said would reimburse if room could be re-booked. Noted later that our booking had been cancelled and the room re-booked.
    NO REFUND.
    In all our travels have never cone across such rudeness and lack of respect for a customer.
    NEVER STAY - NO WAY IS THIS PLACE 4 STAR. DO NOT BELIEVE THE REVIEWS. THEY MUST HAVE WRITTEN THEMSELVES

    Date of stay: September 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Curious726652
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

    We stayed here after driving down the great ocean road enroute to Melbourne.
    The room nice and clean. The view was lovely. The seemed fairly modern and the bathroom looked as if it had been recently renovated.
    It’s a little further out of town so you need to drive to use the shops, restaurants or beach.

    Date of stay: September 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank pickle2012
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews