We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
S.T
Melbourne, Australia

Host cancelled our new year's trip 7 days before due to "communication error"

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Dec 2018
Didn't even make it to the property. However, now after seeing all these reviews I am glad we didn't. Booked with the host 3 months in advance, and received an un-empathetic email 7 days before our New Year's trip that we can no longer stay. Absolutely no signs of remorse or sympathy for the disposition she caused, just tried blaming the website stating that it's their fault that their communication was so bad and that she hadn't seen the email. Absolutely shattered that our plans are ruined, and now we won't be able to go anywhere for New Years because 7 days out, everything is booked out or extremely expensive! If you want a reliable booking, don't book with Dale.
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$391
  • Expedia.com
    AU$399
2.3 km from The View on Grossmans
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.4 km from The View on Grossmans
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Beach View
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$181
  • Algotels
2.3 km from The View on Grossmans
Pool
Beachfront
Sit out the back in our covered BBQ area
    1.5 km from The View on Grossmans
    Free parking
    Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool & Hot Tub
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$106
    • Algotels
    1.2 km from The View on Grossmans
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$195
    • Priceline
    3.8 km from The View on Grossmans
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$98
    • Priceline
    2.3 km from The View on Grossmans
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    7.3 km from The View on Grossmans
    Free parking
    Bed
    • ZenHotels.com
    1.0 km from The View on Grossmans
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$127
    • Expedia.com
      AU$138
    2.3 km from The View on Grossmans
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Torquay
    Reviews (54)
    Filter reviews
    54 results
    Traveller rating
    22
    17
    8
    3
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    22
    17
    8
    3
    4
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    8 - 13 of 54 reviews
    Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

    Booked room for one night stay 28 September.
    Took one look at the room and complained to owner. Bathroom set up for invalids, huge coffee table jammed up against couch. Owners rude and aggressive. We opted not to stay. Owner said would reimburse if room could be re-booked. Noted later that our booking had been cancelled and the room re-booked.
    NO REFUND.
    In all our travels have never cone across such rudeness and lack of respect for a customer.
    NEVER STAY - NO WAY IS THIS PLACE 4 STAR. DO NOT BELIEVE THE REVIEWS. THEY MUST HAVE WRITTEN THEMSELVES

    Date of stay: September 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Curious726652
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

    We stayed here after driving down the great ocean road enroute to Melbourne.
    The room nice and clean. The view was lovely. The seemed fairly modern and the bathroom looked as if it had been recently renovated.
    It’s a little further out of town so you need to drive to use the shops, restaurants or beach.

    Date of stay: September 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank pickle2012
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 July 2018

    Not very well sign posted
    Room was ok couch was some type of bed very uncomfortable to sit on, Room was clean and well maintained water pressure in shower very poor
    The real disappointing thing was after we went out the owner delivered our continental breakfast while doing so turned off the heater when we arrived home the room was freezing as we stayed in winter time not very hospitable , after all is this what you pay for to be comfortable

    Date of stay: July 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Rob B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 June 2018

    If you want a noisey, poorly lit and sign posted establishment where the only staff interaction is a postit note on the door; then you'll love it.
    Firstly we couldn't find it in it's remote poorly lit and remote area, we drove by it twice. Then we couldn't find anyone to show us to our room, there was just a post it note stating basically find your own room. We suffered with every noise from the top floor booming down into our room most of the night, and on check out we still could not find anyone to give a room key too.

    Room tip: Go somewhere else.
    Date of stay: May 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
    1  Thank Kelvin C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 May 2018

    We stayed for one night at the start of our road trip, but wished we could stay longer! The accommodation, welcome, location, and general ambiance were faultless. We can't recommend it highly enough! The only, very slight, negative, is that it is a little difficult to find in the dark.

    Date of stay: April 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Bob B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews