We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Site
AU$147
Booking.com
AU$147
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
AU$158
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Senny G
Adelaide, Australia

Comfortable stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Dec 2022
A very comfortable stay. Large rooms in a peaceful lakeside setting set back from the highway so very little traffic noise. The motel is a little bit dated but fresh and spotless. We ate at the restaurant and the meal was excellent. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay again.
Date of stay: December 2022
Room Tip: Eat at the restaurant- the food was excellent.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$122
  • Hotels.com
    AU$125
  • Priceline
    AU$125
1.4 km from Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$125
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$122
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
  • Agoda.com
    AU$125
1.6 km from Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$130
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$147
  • Hotels.com
    AU$163
  • Agoda.com
    AU$130
1.7 km from Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant
Free parking
Pool
Comfort Inn Goldfields Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$135
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$135
  • Hotels.com
    AU$140
  • Agoda.com
    AU$135
1.4 km from Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$127
  • Priceline
    AU$127
  • Agoda.com
    AU$127
  • Vio.com
    AU$127
2.1 km from Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Site
AU$147
  • Booking.com
    AU$147
  • Expedia.com
    AU$158
  • Hotels.com
    AU$158
0.0 km from Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ext view - Great Western Motel
Booking.com
AU$115
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$115
  • Priceline
    AU$115
14.5 km from Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$157
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$122
  • Agoda.com
    AU$157
13.9 km from Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$128
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
  • Agoda.com
    AU$90
  • Hotels.com
    AU$140
19.4 km from Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$147
  • Expedia.com
    AU$160
  • Hotels.com
    AU$167
  • Agoda.com
    AU$160
19.4 km from Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Stawell
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
43
50
18
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
50
18
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small lake easy parking country town late check hot water road noise one night stay motel hosts heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2022

The very rude owner tried to charge my credit card one day ahead of our arrival by manually data entry on a terminal. This does not work because of fraud protection by my bank. when we arrived we were told that our booking was cancelled because the card does not work, but he forgot to tell that he did not tried to charge the card via booking.com but by using the card datas manually. What a thieving guy. Whoever book there be aware of theft

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team at Magdala, Guest Services / Front Office at Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2022

This lady provided a credit card which was stopped by her bank with error code to retain her card. We made 6 attempts to contact her by phone (German number), email and via booking.com to provide another guarantee card, however received no reply or contact.

In this case the only option is to report the card to booking.com and follow their procedures, which if unresponded to, results in cancellation of the reservation. We never like to cancel a reservation, but we also cannot hold a reservation with a card blocked by the bank and instructions to retain the card, especially when we are at 100% occupancy and others are calling desperately for any nearby accommodation.

The card provided when you book accommodation is to secure your reservation, and it is perfectly normal practice to charge the card to secure the booking in accordance with the policies of booking.com - This is exactly why you provide your card details. If you use a card which is reported as blocked or does not have available funds, that card will be marked as invalid and you will be notified and given an opportunity to provide updated details prior to the reservation being cancelled.

You could only expect that given the situation you presented to us, and additionally not answering calls or responding over 2 days, that your reservation would absolutely be cancelled. We could not have done more to allow you the opportunity to contact us with valid card details and sort everything out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2022

This motel is set in lovely surroundings and from the back of each room, the view is across a small lake and straight into bush land; it’s delightful. The rooms are spacious, clean and, although they’re a bit dated, they definitely don’t look tired. What they are though, is COLD!! We finally managed to figure out the right setting for the heating on the reverse cycle air con but honestly, it struggled to keep the chill off the air. We panicked initially when we discovered there was no electric blanket on the bed; our hosts were a bit sceptical when we called this in but once they realised there really wasn’t, they went all out to rectify the problem (and we know they’re under the pump there, with staff shortages biting). We were booked to dine in the restaurant but found out last minute that it was closed due to staff shortages there too. Our host offered us room service and we thoroughly enjoyed a delicious steak (also the best mashed potato I’ve eaten in a very long while!). We enjoyed our one night stay, despite the minor set backs…but I’d probably wait till the weather warms up to visit again ;-)

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SisPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2022

Not sure what people were expecting with some of these reviews, a heater in the bathroom .really? This was a beat & clean motel in a country town where the owners are doing what they can to make guests comfortable. There was a fully stocked mini-bar; clean & comfy bed and hot water. The owners have done what they can with a dated motel, fresh modern paint and small touches to compete with flashier chains The restaurant was open on a Monday night with good food & bar. It was a little pricy, but as expected. We stayed in an expensive hotel in St Kilda that was disgusting, so this was a very welcome stop over and we found staff friendly.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 620katey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2022

waitress who is also receptionist at same time was rude to our children ,she did not want them to stay long at the restaurant .
Robert the owner who lives there have poor communication skills and have very short temper .
His wife seems nicer and knows how to talk to people professionally
Not recommended

Room tip: not sure where good rooms located
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank I764FRmohammeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team at Magdala, Guest Services / Front Office at Magdala Motor Lodge & Lakeside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2022

Thanks for the feedback Mohammed. It is regrettable that you feel this way, particularly since this was your second visit with your family in a matter of weeks.

Note that your wife and children attended the restaurant during the middle of the afternoon when our restaurant was closed and were setting up for a private function/conference, and preparing for dinner service. Hopefully this really puts everything back into context for you.

Even given the case, we were still happy to serve them. Although our waitress informed your wife we were closed and setting up for the function, she was insistent on entering and she was only asked that the children remain at one table so we could continue setting up (unlike the morning prior where the restaurant became their playground) - Perfectly reasonable.

Although closed and all equipment was off, we turned the coffee machine back on and coffees and hot chocolates were made for your family which they sat and had while we continued to set up.

To our shock, the state of the rooms upon your departure was quite frankly disgraceful. Food splattered all over bedding and walls, mattresses dragged to the floor and rubbish left everywhere including half eaten food discarded outside by the lake.

None of this would have been an issue for you had we not informed you there would be additional cleaning costs... which we didn't even charge in good faith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2021 via mobile

We chose this motel for a local business trip: me accompanying my wife this time. The spa bath was one of the drawcards, but the grounds also attractive. The room was indeed spacious and warm, though the fittings were a little dated. We were happy with the check in service and we chose to eat in town. Post COVID lockdowns one needs to spread the money around. Yes there was some road noise during the night but pretty minimal compared to many highway motels I have slept in around Australia. Motels were located for convenience rather than noise abatement back when they were built. The lake brought many birds to the motel grounds in the morning which we enjoyed. Stawell itself is underrated as there are magnificent views of the Grampians from the high point lookout.

Room tip: Have a look around Stawell itself. Nice views of the Grampians.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Greggy_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews