We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eclectic mix of art and books.”

Blarney Books and Art
Ranked #1 of 9 Shopping in Port Fairy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We are a bookshop (both secondhand and new) and an art space. Exhibitions change regularly. We are also the home of the annual book art competition. Recently we have added a stage to our shop, so we are now able to host music, performances and book talks - please email us if you have any ideas! We encourage people to come in and spend time browsing, settle on a couch with a book, play a game of chess, give the piano / pianola a go, and we have a great train track set for the kids! Open daily through January. Thus - Mon 11-4 all other times.
Reviewed 27 April 2017

A great little shop to browse through. The day I visited there was a display by an artist who had drawn sketches into old books.The shop had a very welcoming relaxed atmosphere.

Thank Y4330PVnatalies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2017

We had the best time in Blarney books & art looking buying a big stack of lovely books and fantastic art prints. Incredible place to spend the afternoon. Loved chatting to Jo. Thanks for having us , we certainly be back

Thank Bridgit Rose m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo C, Book Enthusiast at Blarney Books and Art, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Dear Bridgit, thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review! So glad you enjoyed your time with us - we hope you can send us a photo of how those prints look on your wall when you get home! Looking forward to seeing you again. Kindest wishes, Jo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

We spent some time wandering around Port Fairy today. We had a wonderful time hunting for books at Blarney Books & Art. The service was fantastic and we left with a number of new books to read.

1  Thank Dianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo C, Manager at Blarney Books and Art, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you for this lovely review, Dianne! Thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Blarney. We hope to see you again when you're next passing through Port Fairy. Cheers, Jo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Windy and rainy outside.
Inside we sat listening to Irish folk singers and drinking red wine! What a great place. The art based on books is inspirational. The furniture - patchwork chairs is fantastic!

2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo C, Manager at Blarney Books and Art, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Dear John, thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We agree, it was a perfect way to spend such a tempestuous day! The lovely re-upholstered furniture we have acquired from Liz Gannon of Gannon Art.
Kindest wishes, Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Loved this place. A real find. Great to just browse around. If you are in Port Fairy it is worth a visit.

1  Thank Jetseta380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo C, Book scout and art curator. at Blarney Books and Art, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you, Jetseta! Glad you found us, and for taking the time to review us! Every review makes a difference - certainly helps people find us, as we're off the beaten track somewhat!
Kindest wishes, Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blarney Books and Art also viewed

 

Been to Blarney Books and Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing