We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kevinpeacock
Sudbury, United Kingdom

Turnaround point of Great Ocean Road trip

Review of Central Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Feb 2020
Great location, central to all shops and eateries, excellent base for touring the area. Helpful and friendly staff, great recommendations on where to eat and places to visit. Rooms well equipped and very clean and tidy..Really enjoyable stay.
Date of stay: February 2020
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Langley, Owner at Central Motel, responded to this review
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Thank Kevin from all the staff at Central motel-all staff take pride in the presentation of our motel. We trust you enjoyed your tour of Oz
Kind Regards
Peter
PS for best rates book direct with us 035568100
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$195
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$195
  • Agoda.com
    AU$195
  • eDreams
    AU$195
0.2 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
1 Bedroom Suite
Booking.com
AU$278
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$278
  • Hotels.com
    AU$270
  • Priceline
    AU$278
0.3 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$318
  • Expedia.com
    AU$318
  • Agoda.com
    AU$261
  • Hotels.com
    AU$290
1.3 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$846
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$846
  • Agoda.com
    AU$846
  • Vio.com
    AU$846
0.1 km from Central Motel
Restaurant
StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
StayForLong
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cottage Deluxe King Suite
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Bed Room - Standard Room
StayForLong
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
StayForLong
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
2.4 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Fairy
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
138
133
54
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
138
133
54
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews centre of town great location the main street pedestal fan room was clean one night the great ocean road within walking distance off street parking enjoyable stay quiet location road trip great place to stay short stay the ground floor peter tesla
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2020

We stayed one night Saturday Feb 20, the motel is very well located you can walk to restaurants ,Jetty etc.The room was clean but the window lock was broken and could not be locked. The drinking water tap is located close to the toilet at the same height, we did not like the proximity, we booked direct and thought it pricey for what it was, no foxtel a very basic room.
Tony

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twall707
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2020

Central Motel was a lovely place to stay. Quiet, even though on the main street. Comfortable bed, good bathroom. Very convenient to supermarket and local eateries.
Would stay there again. Great management team.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Centralmotel, Owner at Central Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Thank you Kay for your generous review-we would love to have you back-please ring me direct and mention this conversation on 03 55681800
Kind Regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2020

While located in the centre of town the motel is set back from the main road so while being very convenient to shops, cafes and restaurants it is also away from traffic noise.The rooms are a little old but still very comfortable and clean with staff helpful and knowledgeable on the local area. A great place to stay in Port Fairy. Be aware that staying at any of the coastal towns in the Great Ocean Road area will cost you 2 to 3 times what you will pay at inland towns such as Hamilton.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Centralmotel, Owner at Central Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2020

Hi Richard
Thank you for your review-we continue to work hard to deliver the best guest experience possible at a competitive tariff-remember to book direct 03 55681800 for the best rate in town
Kind Regards
Peter
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2020 via mobile

The gentleman who checked us in was lovely. The room was fine; well equipped with cutlery, ironing board etc. It was however a bit tired and the bathroom was a tad on the small side, however the room itself was spacious with convenient parking directly outside.

Only downside was the price. It was the most we had paid for one night the entire trip, and was almost the most basic room. There was a Hotrod event on in the town which may have reflected the inflated cost.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RebeccaLuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Centralmotel, Owner at Central Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

Hi Rebecca,
I agree with all you say and thanks for the compliment about me at check in-You came to us via a 3rd party booking platform and their commission form your tariff was $36. Others who booked direct paid considerably less.-our biggest challenge is to educate guests to book direct-if you view my responses to reviews I keep talking about it.
I believe most people check reviews before booking so my hope is that we can have some success this way. As to your tired comment-that is partially correct-our rooms were re painted recently. I did read an article in an accommodation magazine that said many of the Sydney accommodation providers were subject to the same comment and the reason given was that with the pressure on price from commissions and Gst (25% all up of tariff) and the drive down in price to stay competitive with other providers, there is no fat left in tariff revenues to do timely renovations. We do our utmost to keep up with guest expectation by providing immaculately clean rooms, comfortable beds, neat and tidy outdoor areas and good showers at a rate considerably below our competitors. As a bonus our location is the most desirable in the town.
I conclude by saying at high times the tariffs are greater to cover for the very lean winter months where visitation drops and you can stay with us for $120.00pn

Again book direct for the best possible price
Regards
Peter
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020

This motel was great and had everything we needed for our 1 night stop over. It was clean and comfortable. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend staying here if you are planning on stopping in Port Fairy.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Su-LinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Centralmotel, Owner at Central Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2020

Thank you for your positive review. We have been her 15 years and although sometimes I feel akin to Basil Fawlty, we still strive to deliver rounded friendly service throughout your stay.
Now where is Sybil ????
Remember to book direct and speak to us about best price.
Thank you
Peter
Owner
03 55681800 or stay@portfairymotel.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews