We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
twall707
Melbourne, Australia

Overnight Stay

Review of Central Motel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Feb 2020
We stayed one night Saturday Feb 20, the motel is very well located you can walk to restaurants ,Jetty etc.The room was clean but the window lock was broken and could not be locked. The drinking water tap is located close to the toilet at the same height, we did not like the proximity, we booked direct and thought it pricey for what it was, no foxtel a very basic room.
Tony
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$587
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$587
0.4 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bed
AU$272
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$351
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$351
0.7 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contactless 24 hour self check-in
AU$317
No prepayment needed
  • Lol.travel
1.7 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$138
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Central Motel
Free parking
suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$175
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
1 Bedroom Suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$214
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Norfolk Suite Bedroom
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$362
  • Expedia.com
    AU$443
0.5 km from Central Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$115
  • Algotels
1.3 km from Central Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Fairy
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
138
133
54
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
138
133
54
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews centre of town great location the main street pedestal fan room was clean one night the great ocean road within walking distance off street parking enjoyable stay quiet location road trip great place to stay short stay the ground floor peter tesla
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2020

Central Motel was a lovely place to stay. Quiet, even though on the main street. Comfortable bed, good bathroom. Very convenient to supermarket and local eateries.
Would stay there again. Great management team.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Centralmotel, Owner at Central Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Thank you Kay for your generous review-we would love to have you back-please ring me direct and mention this conversation on 03 55681800
Kind Regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2020

While located in the centre of town the motel is set back from the main road so while being very convenient to shops, cafes and restaurants it is also away from traffic noise.The rooms are a little old but still very comfortable and clean with staff helpful and knowledgeable on the local area. A great place to stay in Port Fairy. Be aware that staying at any of the coastal towns in the Great Ocean Road area will cost you 2 to 3 times what you will pay at inland towns such as Hamilton.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Centralmotel, Owner at Central Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2020

Hi Richard
Thank you for your review-we continue to work hard to deliver the best guest experience possible at a competitive tariff-remember to book direct 03 55681800 for the best rate in town
Kind Regards
Peter
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2020 via mobile

The gentleman who checked us in was lovely. The room was fine; well equipped with cutlery, ironing board etc. It was however a bit tired and the bathroom was a tad on the small side, however the room itself was spacious with convenient parking directly outside.

Only downside was the price. It was the most we had paid for one night the entire trip, and was almost the most basic room. There was a Hotrod event on in the town which may have reflected the inflated cost.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RebeccaLuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Centralmotel, Owner at Central Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

Hi Rebecca,
I agree with all you say and thanks for the compliment about me at check in-You came to us via a 3rd party booking platform and their commission form your tariff was $36. Others who booked direct paid considerably less.-our biggest challenge is to educate guests to book direct-if you view my responses to reviews I keep talking about it.
I believe most people check reviews before booking so my hope is that we can have some success this way. As to your tired comment-that is partially correct-our rooms were re painted recently. I did read an article in an accommodation magazine that said many of the Sydney accommodation providers were subject to the same comment and the reason given was that with the pressure on price from commissions and Gst (25% all up of tariff) and the drive down in price to stay competitive with other providers, there is no fat left in tariff revenues to do timely renovations. We do our utmost to keep up with guest expectation by providing immaculately clean rooms, comfortable beds, neat and tidy outdoor areas and good showers at a rate considerably below our competitors. As a bonus our location is the most desirable in the town.
I conclude by saying at high times the tariffs are greater to cover for the very lean winter months where visitation drops and you can stay with us for $120.00pn

Again book direct for the best possible price
Regards
Peter
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020

This motel was great and had everything we needed for our 1 night stop over. It was clean and comfortable. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend staying here if you are planning on stopping in Port Fairy.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Su-LinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Centralmotel, Owner at Central Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2020

Thank you for your positive review. We have been her 15 years and although sometimes I feel akin to Basil Fawlty, we still strive to deliver rounded friendly service throughout your stay.
Now where is Sybil ????
Remember to book direct and speak to us about best price.
Thank you
Peter
Owner
03 55681800 or stay@portfairymotel.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2020

Booked 2 rooms side by side rooms were spacious clean and well appointed x give outdoor sitting areas x walking distance to every thing we walked to lemongrass Thai slid very nice x would highly recommend this motel

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SUSAN j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Centralmotel, Owner at Central Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

Thank you for highlighting some of the genuine positives about our property. We work hard to ensure our guests realise the most enjoyable stay possible.
Booking direct with us will always deliver the best price possible 55 681800 or stay@portfairymotel.com.au
Kind Regards
Peter
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews