We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marjo v
The Netherlands

A very modern boutique hotel in a victorian exterior

Review of Drift House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Mar 2024via mobile
The old victorian exterior belies the very modern interior; a huge contrast and very comfortable. In the garden a shared lounge area, as well as a pool. The restaurant does not open every evening, which is a pity, as the food was lovely. Also breakfast was a nice experience.
The service was great.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Drift House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Drift House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Drift House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Drift House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cottage Deluxe King Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Drift House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Drift House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bed
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Drift House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Bed Room - Standard Room
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Drift House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$309
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Drift House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Drift House
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Fairy
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
187
17
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
187
17
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local produce open fire rain shower two nights wonderful boutique hotel well thought out luxury accommodation in town wonderful hosts natural light our night stay beautiful place to stay little things perfect spot comfy bed breakfast was excellent the river
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2024 via mobile

This boutique hotel is simply outstanding. Ultra chic and beautifully designed - the best place we have stayed in Australia. The service is exceptional but also sincere, and the vibe is just very chilled. Food was amazing and location brilliant. Absolutely beautiful.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JamesE534
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2024 via mobile

What a nice little hotel! The small reception area doesn’t give a clue of how nice the room we had was. The place looks like a small house in the back of a garage (the reception). In its back is the common room, which includes six tables for two a smallish sunken living room with a fireplace and, somewhere, the kitchen. This area overlooks a small garden with a pool and some sitting area. We were then taken to our room. A marvellous modernist bedroom (king size), a sitting area, a cupboard that hides a small fridge, espresso machine, a kettle, mugs and small plates, a bookshelf that hides a tv and the most humungous bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel room completes this amazing room. We are told there are six of them, hence the six tables…

We had a nice dinner of tapas, a fantastic breakfast and we were gone.

I can’t recommend this hotel enough. The gentleness of the owner and her staff, the serene atmosphere and beautiful food makes us regret that we did not spend at least another night there.

Room tip: This is a very modern architecture and design. Don’t go if you like big American chain hotel.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lynnb509
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2023

The reviews already posted will have done a better job than I could do of describing the quality and uniqueness of Drift House. We stayed in apartment 1 (the ground floor of the old house) for only one night which frankly wasn't long enough to truly enjoy the experience. Port Fairy is a great place to visit - combine it with Drift House and your holiday will be made even more special.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Relax04121778290
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2023 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Drift House and like so many reviews before us, we wish we had stayed longer! We spent 2 days driving the Great Ocean Road from Melbourne to Adelaide and if we could do it again we would have enjoyed at least two nights at this amazing spot! Colleen was lovely and warmly welcomed four weary travelers and had us tucked into our rooms and off to dinner before we knew it.

The Rooms: The room designs are just so fabulous and unique. We LOVED the doors and how grand they were. The beds were very comfortable and the entire room catered to comfort and relaxation. My one bit of feedback is that I tried to enjoy a bath and the water pressure or maybe the faucet was terrible for the tub. I couldn’t have gotten it half filled in 15min and gave up. The rain shower more than made up for it though.

The Food: Wow. Just wow. John is an amazing cook and the dining area is like the rest of the facility, beautiful attention to detail. We shared pretty much everything on the menu for dinner (mostly tapas like food) because it was all so good. Fantastic drink and wine selection. Breakfast was equally delicious with perfectly poached eggs. Yum!

Other: The entire facility was just lovely. It was too cold for the pool but there are beautiful gardens and sitting areas and bikes to ride into town if you like. My sister and I did an early morning trip to walk the lighthouse loop which was beautiful.

Overall: You simply can’t miss staying at this amazing gem in Port Fairy. I recommend at least two nights to fully enjoy the experience. Thank you Colleen and John and the rest of the staff for making our stay amazing and your commitment to sustainability!

Room tip: Lighthouse walk is a must!
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank flygirl603
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2023 via mobile

Drift House is honestly one of the best hotels I have every stayed in. The attention to detail in the design and furnishing of the suite we stayed in and the communal salon area is phenomenal. From the welcome at check in to the check out process our stay has been just perfect. The only negative thing is that the hotel is so good I wish we were staying for longer. The breakfast was excellent and the early evening local wine choice was great, if you wanted anything after the owner had gone there was an honesty system in place, which clearly worked really well. We stayed in Suite 5. If you need a couple of nights
stay in Port Fairy and you enjoy some exclusive luxury then this is the place for you. We would most definitely stay here when we visit again. A perfect 5* hotel.

Room tip: Free on site parking, great coffee machine in the room, lovely toiletries, and a wonderfully comfortable bed and pillows. Great local wines
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank coombsmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Colleen Guiney, Owner at Drift House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2023

Thank you Amanda, it was such a pleasure having you stay with us. We do hear without fail from guests who book just one night that they regret not staying longer. Drift House and Port Fairy is definitely a spot to linger. It is always wonderful to hear when guests really really enjoy their stay, so a big thank you!
Safe trip on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews