We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Danny E
Ostend, Belgium

Very dirty, prison cell room ‘style’, total rip-off

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Dec 2019
Our room was very dirty, with a carpet which never is vacuum cleaned. Hair everywhere from previous customers. It’s the most ugly worn out room we had in our lives. Generally the rooms are not clean in Australia, but this room was terrible.
Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$165
  • Agoda.com
    AU$165
  • eDreams
    AU$165
0.3 km from Caledonian Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
1 Bedroom Suite
AU$217
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$217
  • Hotels.com
    AU$217
  • Priceline
    AU$217
0.1 km from Caledonian Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Room
AU$180
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
  • Priceline
    AU$180
  • Hotels.com
    AU$180
0.2 km from Caledonian Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
suite
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$175
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$176
  • Agoda.com
    AU$175
0.3 km from Caledonian Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Bed Room - Standard Room
AU$165
  • Priceline
    AU$165
  • Trip.com
    AU$189
  • Agoda.com
    AU$165
0.1 km from Caledonian Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$452
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$474
  • Hotels.com
    AU$409
  • Priceline
    AU$452
0.5 km from Caledonian Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bed
AU$275
  • Expedia.com
    AU$275
  • Agoda.com
    AU$240
  • Priceline
    AU$275
0.9 km from Caledonian Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$360
  • Priceline
    AU$360
  • Agoda.com
    AU$360
0.4 km from Caledonian Inn Motel
Restaurant
Back view of garden and hostel from car park
AU$129
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$129
  • Agoda.com
    AU$129
0.5 km from Caledonian Inn Motel
Free parking
AU$114
  • Expedia.com
    AU$118
  • Agoda.com
    AU$100
  • Priceline
    AU$106
1.1 km from Caledonian Inn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Fairy
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
24
32
17
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
24
32
17
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country pub great meal beds were comfortable the great ocean road open fire good size licensed stump victoria fairy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2019 via mobile

This place is an enjoyable little pub with great meals.
Rooms are plain with no frills but they are clean.
However there was no milk in the fridge for coffee. That was annoying.
Overall though it has always been a good overnight stay.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2019

No frills affordable accommodation. Clean room and a good shower in a good location close to the town centre. But you do get what you pay for - no free wi fi and soap dispenser toiletries. This is the go for budget accommodation these days but you should supply a face washer when using dispensers also no hair dryer supplied the remote for the tv was missing. Having said that I would stay here again but only for an over nighter and just bring my own stuff. Friendly staff but the court yard of the motel could use a clean up. We stayed on a Thursday night so it was quiet but I think would be different on the weekend.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2019 via mobile

Called in the Caledonian for an evening dinner on our one night stay in Port Fairy...we both had the slow cooked lamb casserole pie which was very nice...the pub side was quiet with more people in the bistro side...

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TonySouthfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2019 via mobile

We should have realised when the Inn was totally empty in this busy little seaside village. There were two people outside having a drink but that was all. It's the oldest licenced Inn in Victoria we thought we'd give it a go. Lovely woman took our order and made drinks for us. But then ..Oh dear .. lamb shank for me and roast beef for my husband. My lamb shank was reheated and whilst it was well cooked it was swamped in some kind of packet gravy with half cooked pumpkin and potato pieces under it. The mashed potato under all of that was pretty good. The roast beef was also swamped in the same gravy as my lamb and the pumkin on my husband's plate wad so raw he could not cut it. It went downhill from there. The beef was chewy and full of gristle .. half the meat was inedible. We sat at an outside table so we had our dogs there with us. They were grateful for the poor food we were given but neither dog would touch the raw pumpkin. Won't be coming back.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jenniferhR6728LV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2019

Basic budget accommodation very close to centre of town . Ideal base to walk the town and even over to Griffith Island. Clean and compact. Two night stay . First night was very noisy as it was a Saturday with a function on at the Pub. Rooms not serviced daily. Need to empty your own bin and chase up anything you may need, eg teabags,milk etc for the second night. Don't expect extras as tissues, hair dryer as they are not supplied. Meal at Pub standard pub fare, nothing extraordinary.

Room tip: Don't stay on a weekend or ask if there is a function in the back area of the pub.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews