We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Haitchtee
Mordialloc, Australia

Short but sweet stay in Port Douglas

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jan 2021via mobile
We have stayed in Port Douglas a number of times and have always booked ahead, but an unexpected free day between destinations on our recent road trip allowed us one night in Port Douglas. We were most fortunate that Ashmont Motor Inn had a
very comfortable Queen apartment available. It’s Bank Street location meant we could walk to everything we wanted to see. Along the river, back along the beach front and through the many quaint shops in the main streets. Highly recommended.
Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashmont Motorinn, Owner at Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this review
Responded 14 Jan 2021
Hi - Thank you for the lovely review and for choosing to stay with us in Port Fairy..... not to be confused with Port Douglas !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Bed
Tripadvisor
AU$263
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Room
Tripadvisor
AU$180
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
External Cabin Shot
Tripadvisor
AU$153
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Norfolk Suite Bedroom
Tripadvisor
AU$404
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$404
0.3 km from Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$134
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$425
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$425
0.9 km from Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contactless 24 hour self check-in
eDreams
AU$317
No prepayment needed
  • Lol.travel
1.5 km from Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$121
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$681
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$682
  • Expedia.com
    AU$714
  • Priceline
    AU$681
0.6 km from Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$217
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Fairy
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
98
94
38
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
98
94
38
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night room was clean in town upstairs room shops and restaurants washing machine walking distance motel microwave apartment bedroom ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2021 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed in the motel section of Ashmont for three nights. Room was very clean and large for a motel. Nice sitting area to watch TV or read a book. Excellent location in the centre of Port Fairy. If you are looking for somewhere reasonably priced and comfortable I would recommend.

Date of stay: January 2021
1  Thank daryljohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashmont Motorinn, Owner at Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2021

Thank you for the very good recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2020

We stayed in the loft apartment it was modern clean and fresh. Lovely white cotton sheets and comfortable bed, large shower and nice towels with toiletries. Unfortunately we had a dog in the next property that persisted on barking at odd hours. There is also work going on at the bowls club directly behind, that started at 7am weekdays. The design of the unit was odd with the bathroom down stairs and the bedroom upstairs. Not great for a night visit.
The unit was serviced daily.

Room tip: Check room design to suit
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Caz781
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashmont Motorinn, Owner at Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2020

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Loft Apartment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2020 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times. The rooms are always lovely and warm, good sized fridge with a microwave.
Great self contained units
Walking distance to many shops and food outlets.
Staff are lovely
Lots of parking available

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank andrearob2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashmont Motorinn, Owner at Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2020

Thank you for the excellent review and we are pleased that you experienced another enjoyable stay with us in Port Fairy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2020

The apartment is made by joining 2 ground floor rooms at the rear with kitchen, living and courtyard. Each room spacious and the apartment had everything we needed for short stay. Just as well, as winter, covid and a Monday had just about every restaurant and take away closed, so we ended up cooking! Everything we needed was to hand including extra pillows and blankets. Bed is firm. Good linen, carpet as new. One bedroom did not have its own heating so the heat did not really reach well into that bedroom from living area.
Was woken by a starting truck or bus in the morning but otherwise quiet. Hosts are lovely people, although they thought more dining options would be open than actually were. Would definitely stay again if price is ok. Not a fan of the glass front doors as you needed to lower the blind for privacy.( washing machine but no dishwasher but that's ok for a night)

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MargaretPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashmont Motorinn, Owner at Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2020

Hi Margaret - thank you for staying with us in our 2 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom Apartment. We appreciate the review and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2020

A really family friendly motel owned by most hospitable hosts. Excellent facilities and well situated to main business street. Easy walk to riverside moorings. Hosts shared knowledge of best fish meal takeaway. Rooms airy, bright with all mod cons.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _allottron
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashmont Motorinn, Owner at Ashmont Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2020

Thank you for the terrific review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us in Port Fairy and we would love to have you stay again when next in the region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews