We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
47
14
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
47
14
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river cafes and restaurants large lounge great place to stay jane loaf ensuite bedroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2023 via mobile

After many hrs on the road, we arrived to find a welcoming smile from Jane who took time to show us the Beautiful ppty, we were lucky enough to have booked the river front unit, beautifully presented and all the things you need for that memorable holiday, it’s not a motel unit it’s much more, once you settle in it’s so relaxing and peaceful, having a glass of wine looking at the river. Short walk to Main Street and plenty of shops for the girls and pubs for the boys, we’ll definitely be back.

Room tip: You will need to book restaurants and pubs if planning that special night
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank NickJan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2022 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Douglas Riverside for two nights in February 2022.

It is ideally located along the river and close to all the shops, cafes and restaurants.

We stayed in the garden house and this was absolutely wonderful. The large lounge, living and dining area is bathed in glorious light and has the most spectacular views out over lush gardens and the river. The only problem is: you won’t want to leave the house!

Jane was an excellent hostess and left a well-stocked fridge and even a loaf of her delicious home-made bread.

The garden house was perfect for us as one couple but, having three ensuite queen size rooms, it would be great for small groups or families as well.

The bedroom was a great size and the bed linens and towels were a luxury quality, as were the appointment in the bathroom.

I would highly recommend you choose Douglas Riverside as your base if ever visiting Port Fairy.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2021 via mobile

Very comfortable and welcoming, everything from home made bread, coffee machine and extra goodies.
Great to sit in the garden looking over the river to enjoy the view and the sunshine.
Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Morkie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2021 via mobile

This lovely house on the river has wonderful views and plenty of serenity. We stayed during COVID-19 late September and were very fortunate to have the kitchen lounge area to ourselves. The ammenities were spot on and the extra home made bread and biscuits by Jane were very much enjoyed! Not to mention the local port wine!
Would recommend this 3 bedroom house for a family or group of friends. Close to town and East beach. We walked everywhere! And the area outside the house has rambling lawn and lovely well kept gardens. Just lovely!

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 937margied
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2020

We spent seven nights at Douglas Riverside with family (4 adults, 2 teenagers) and had a magnificent time. On arrival we found the property impeccably clean, tidy and fitted with all the necessities for a very comfortable, self catering holiday. Proprietor Jane clearly goes to considerable effort to add a range of thoughtful and caring welcome touches such as fresh flowers, a loaf of home baked bread, bowl of fresh fruit, milk and chocolates in the fridge and mini Tim Tams in each room. We were able to change linen and towels as often as needed during our stay. The lounge area has delightful, soothing views up and down the Moyne River which is literally just outside the windows. The surrounding gardens and lawn are maintained to a very high standard. This is an ideal property to rent with family or a group of friends. Bedroom 3 has a separate room with single bed and shared en-suite which is ideal for adults with a child or teenagers of different gender. An easy walk along the waterfront and into town for shopping, cafes and restaurants. A thoroughly enjoyable week with special thanks to Jane and Rod.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joh_poh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews