We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Glenda M
Lovely place to stay
Review of Portside Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Feb 2024via mobile
Highly recommend this delightful accomadation. So clean and well set out with lots of extra bits and pieces. Chocolates and biscuits. You can go to the office and have a compliment coffee or cappachino etc. Tastefully set out and a lovely private outside table. Close to the shops for meals or groceries etc. Very quiet area
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$158
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$158
0.4 km from Portside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$186
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Portside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our room
Tripadvisor
AU$136
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Portside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$146
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Portside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$187
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Portside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$245
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Portside Motel
Free parking
Queen Room
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$147
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Portside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$153
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Portside Motel
Free parking
Outside
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$269
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Portside Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$954
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$954
  • Trip.com
0.4 km from Portside Motel
View more hotels in Port Campbell
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveller rating
352
303
46
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
352
303
46
9
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 714 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2023

Could not recommend the Portside Motel enough! We were greeted by our lovely host who gave us great recommendations for our time in Port Campbell. The accommodation was beautiful, equipped with all facilities needed, along with very comfortable beds. The location is beautiful with Port Campbell being our favourite stop on the Great Ocean Road!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roisin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2023

Portside motel was recommended to us for our stay in Port Campbell. It is in a great location. A short walk into the town to restaurants and cafe’s.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable. And the managers were very friendly and helpful. And Port Campbell is central to the 12 Apostles and other natural wonders on the coast.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2023

I was put off at first as there was a sign on the door on arrival indicating no one was there to offer check-in assistance. While I did not like lack of security with my name and room number posted on the office door, I did at least appreciate that the key was in the door and I was able to quickly get to my room. I was thrilled to have a tub in the room and took full advantage of that amenity but the jets did not work. The room is quaint and has good amenities although I did find the bed a little bit firm for my personal taste. There is a fridge, microwave and kettle, which I appreciated. It’s a close walk to the very small town, which is nice. On arrival, I learned that it was a holiday so most of the town was closed and I only found one option for dinner, which was a big disappointment. On the flip side, I did appreciate the fact that this tiny little town was quiet and away from so much of the crowds of the Great Ocean Road. After a day of stopping all along the route, I was done with crowds. I could recommend this town and this hotel as long as the traveler is aware that it is literally a town of one street with only a few establishments and the hotel is quite basic, just a safe, clean enough place for a budget stay.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Des Shannon, Owner at Portside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2024

Hi Wendy,
Did you stay 2 nights?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2023 via mobile

We stayed in many places during our travels through Australia including some top rated hotels and this was by far the best. We received the friendliest of welcomes to this small motel. The owners gave us so much useful advice on where to eat and when to visit the local attractions to avoid the crowds. The room was large and comfortable with coffee, tea and biscuits and plentiful toiletries. The bed was the best I’ve ever slept in - so comfortable and had the highest quality sheets. The office was staffed all day and guests were always welcome to pop in for a chat and some great proper coffee. I totally recommend this as the place to stay in Port Campbell whilst driving the Great Ocean Road. It is high quality and great value too.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank guennie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Des Shannon, Owner at Portside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2023

Thank you for taking time and reviewing . We are glad we could accommodate :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2023

We stayed in Room 1 and it was a truly relaxing experience. Firstly, the room was spacious and so very clean. Tea, coffee and biscuits were available (love it when there are biscuits in the room 🙂), a small table to eat at and another pair of comfy chairs to relax in. Most impressive was the bed - so comfortable. We had the best night’s sleep in a long time. Overall, really impressed and would definitely come back / recommend.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EpsomEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Des Shannon, Owner at Portside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2023

:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews