We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovering Port Campbell”
Review of Portside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portside Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Discovering Port Campbell”
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Our booking at the Portside Motel was to provide a two day stopover between holidays in Melbourne and visiting friends near Robe on the way back to Adelaide. We had never visited Port Campbell before and having spent twenty minutes finding a car park for lunch in Lorne earlier that day the relative tranquility of Port Campbell was welcomed. When we arrived at the Portside Motel we found it welcoming and the suite we had was modern, spacious, comfortable and clean with good amenities including for basic in house cooking. There is also a cute little private outdoor area to catch the breeze.The owners were very helpful as well as providing some great advice on local dining.

Room Tip: The room says welcome and relax when you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterbD6645WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    264
    34
    8
    1
See reviews for
176
337
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duisburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Portside Motel offered an excellent stay during our trip on the GOR. Good location, a little off of the center gives you a quite surrounding while you walk to the restaurants in less than 5 minutes. Room has been spacious and tidy, bathroom comes with shampoo and so. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars-Vegas2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2016

This place is at the beginning of Port Campbell, there are others closer to the township. The owners are very friendly, welcoming and helpful - nothing was a problem - so it's a shame not to be able to give this a higher rating but the rooms let it down - dated, tho clean enough. Bathroom was a problem for us with insufficient room to place all our toiletries that we travel with. At this time of year everywhere is very expensive so you have to pay what they charge and at $200 it was certainly up there! No luggage racks nor indoor table, we had to pull the outdoor one inside - not ideal. All that said, it was probably one of the most comfortable beds we slept in while on our trip. However, we'd choose somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineDawn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2016

The cleanest place we stayed at while in Victoria out of 4 different places (including the Mantra-disappointing!). The staff were very happy and helpful, room very spacious and extremely clean. Lots of nearby places to eat. Would stay there again. Thank you Josie

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyap47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Very very basic and dated room. Found the room a little dusty.

The bathroom was small. No place to keep toileries.
No shower cubicle.

Wasn't happy with the comfort level of the bed / pillow either.

Sorry... but would not stay here again!!!

Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Himani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsidemotel, Owner at Portside Motel, responded to this review, 31 December 2015
Thank you Himani for taking the time to comment on your stay at Portside Motel.
We are sorry to hear that you did not like staying at Portside Motel. It has to be reminded that we are an equivalent of a 3 1/2 star motel and all our photos of our motel on any of our web listings a true representations of the rooms and motel surrounds. We are very surprised to hear that you thought our rooms were dated and disappointed that you described the room as dusty. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms. We would love to hear from you with regards to your concerns with the room and of what you thought we could have provided to have made your stay more enjoyable. Hopefully you were happy with the laundry service that we provided for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
0.2 km away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Campbell
220 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn
9.9 km away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
0.4 km away
Loch Ard Motor Inn
Loch Ard Motor Inn
#2 of 11 in Port Campbell
250 reviews
0.5 km away
Sea Foam Villas
Sea Foam Villas
#8 of 11 in Port Campbell
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Motel

Property: Portside Motel
Address: 62 Great Ocean Road (Lord St), Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Price range (per night): $133 - $220
Hotel Class:3 star — Portside Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Motel offers 10 modern motel units and 1 two bedroom family apartment and is located only 250m from the centre of the Port Campbell township and only a short 8 min drive to the famous 12 Apostles. The well-appointed units have everything you need including comfortable queen size beds, TV, video/DVD player, A/C, private en-suite, and private verandas overlooking tranquil gardens. All units are ground floor with parking at the door. Laundry & wireless broadband internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Portside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Motel Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing