We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay on the Great Ocean Road”
Review of Portside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portside Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2015

as part of a hiking trip along the Great Ocean walk arranged for us by Ausalks we stayed at the Portside Motel. Our hosts were Josie and John McInerney. John is the former Chief Ranger at the 12 Apostles Visitors Center. He took us on a tour of the Loch Ard Gorge, a spectacular area. John was a wonderful guide, knowledgeable, clear and entertaining. As a former chief ranger he was one of the planners of the Great Ocean Walk which runs from Apollo Bay to the 12 Apostles Visitors center. If you get to Port Campbell a guided tour by John is mandatory. The Portside Motel is very comfortable, an easy stroll into the center of town.

Room Tip: all the rooms looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 148 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

Very friendly staff and the room was nice and clean and spacious. In a great location - just a block to the main strip, nice short walk to food and beach. Would definitely recommend it and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

Stopped over at port Campbell during our great ocean drive and enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was clean and fuss free. Slightly away from all the shops but as the town is small, it is a walking distance. They were very thoughtful as they knew that we were traveling with a baby, they gave us a bigger room with a tub which made things easier for us especially showering our little one.

For a minimal fee, we also managed to get a playpen from them which they placed in our room. Loved the place and highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Icecreamegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

My partner & I have been staying at the Portside Motel for the same weekend for a number of years now.

Each time we have found the rooms comfortable, clean and well equipped.

The hosts, Josie & John, go out of their way to add value & service where they can (in our case arranging some food & drink as we were arriving late of an evening).

We will certainly be returning.

Mark F

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Ok - my first big complaint with this place was the wi-fi. It's part of the 'Golden Chain' group and, as I sit here at a Golden Chain in Robe with my laptop tethered to my cell phone I think it may have something to do with the internet provider that Golden Chain uses. The wifi is ab-so-lutely useless. Smoke signals would be more effective.

The second complaint I had was the toilet paper. No rolls - as are common - but individual kleenex style squares. That's too weird.

The next complaint relates specifically to our room and that was that one side had a window with traffic adjoining the other motel units - the other side adjoined the road. So - there was activity on both sides meaning you pretty much kept the drapes and blinds closed on both sides. This made for a claustrophobic stay.

On the plus side it was clean and the bed was comfy. It's a short walk into town but farther out than a lot of other choices.

To be honest I'm surprised this is a TA #1.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkfromtheIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsidemotel, Owner at Portside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.
All motels within the Golden Chain group operate independently so we arrange our own wifi networks and internet providers. If you were having problems connecting as well to another Golden Chain motel's wifi it may have possibly been an issue with your laptop's connectivity . We would certainly have assisted you with troubleshooting to connect you to our free wifi.
We understand that every guest has their own personal preference for bathroom facilities.
We have lots of positive feedback with regards to our light and airy rooms provided by the large area of glass that overlooks the rooms verandas but we understand that all our guests have a level of privacy that is preferred. We would love to hear from you as to which room you stayed in so we can better understand your privacy concern.
We are pleased that you found our rooms clean and our beds comfortable. We pride ourselves on our motel's cleanliness and the choice of bedding so we can provide a very comfortable and enjoyable stay for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Campbell hotels
0.2 km away
Port Campbell Motor Inn
Port Campbell Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Port Campbell
236 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn
9.9 km away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Waves
Waves
#9 of 11 in Port Campbell
60 reviews
0.1 km away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
0.5 km away
Loch Ard Motor Inn
Loch Ard Motor Inn
#2 of 11 in Port Campbell
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Motel

Address: 62 Great Ocean Road, Port Campbell, Victoria 3269, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Port Campbell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Campbell
Price Range: $145 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portside Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portside Motel offers 10 modern motel units and 1 two bedroom family apartment and is located only 250m from the centre of the Port Campbell township and only a short 8 min drive to the famous 12 Apostles. The well-appointed units have everything you need including comfortable queen size beds, TV, video/DVD player, A/C, private en-suite, and private verandas overlooking tranquil gardens. All units are ground floor with parking at the door. Laundry & wireless broadband internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Motel Port Campbell/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing