We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It'll do breakfast”

Waves Cafe Bar and Restaurant
Price range: AU$22 - AU$28
Cuisines: Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 February 2024 via mobile

We arrived at the end of the breakfast service & were told it would be fine if we order straight away which we did.
The breakfasts were very poor - I was served the smallest, driest crumpled up grilled tomato with my meal, poached eggs like bullets. What annoys me is that the chef would have been well aware of this & just thought if ok to put into the plate, it tells you all you need to know about standards. He/she obviously couldn't be bothered with cooking another tomato, or taking care with the eggs, thinking it will do! They weren't even busy, the staff who were all very pleasant I have to say, but standing around talking - our coffee eventually arrived mid way through breakfast.

Very expensive for a very poor meal - I wouldn't return or recommend obviously.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Fairalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

We visited on the long weekend so Port Campbell was extremely busy.
They have a slimmed down lunch menu and a larger menu for evening service.
The evening menu has plenty of variety including vegetarian options. The wine list and cocktail drinks list also has some very good choices.
The vegetarian curry was really lovely , great spices with a little bit of kick.
Salad was fresh
The lamb ribs melted in my mouth, very tasty and tender.
Chicken ribs were also tasty
We had a cocktail at the end that packed a punch, so yummy.
The service can not be faulted, the only negative was it was very noisy.
Definitely will be back.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2024

Best coffee in town made by Aaron. The ‘Green Reviver Smoothie’ was amazing. The staff were very friendly and inviting.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ginnelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2024

Exceptional food and service.
Incredible value for money.
Highly recommended.
Facilities flawless. Staff were friendly.
One of my favourite lunch visits in Victoria.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Voyage25251570104
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2023

What a magnificent tasting meal!!
Barramundi was exquisite. My wife had fried fish with salad, vegetables, tartare sauce.?Amazing
We were here for our 35th Anniversary. Was placed beautifully with a window seat by Heidi.
Lovely service and amazing food.
Dessert was Rhubarb crumble….enough said. They are also well regarded for Sticky date pudding

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wanderer41911276819
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Waves Cafe Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Campbell, Victoria
Port Campbell, Victoria
 

Been to Waves Cafe Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.