We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour bus visit to Port Campbell”

Waves Cafe Bar and Restaurant
Price range: AU$22 - AU$28
Cuisines: Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 21 December 2019 via mobile

Great location- was recommended by tour bus driver and glad he did. Service was fast! Great food and wonderful staff!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank G6019CCrussellw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 97 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2019

The waitress was very nice but the food was average and pricey. Surprised that Malt Vinegar was not available for traditional "Fish and Chips"..... chairs were very noisy every time someone sat down and the mens loo's were not working and quite disgusting!!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RossR992
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2019

I went here for dinner last night and the food was disgusting. The fish was just rotten, I had the softshell crab, which I sent back after two bites. Instead I ordered the pasta with salmon. I took one bite and spit it out. I’ve never had such a disgusting meal in my entire life (I’m fifty).

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank MSProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2019

We had lunch here, mid-week. There weren’t many people in the restaurant, but the food was very good, and the service was very friendly. I had roasted vegetable soup, and it was excellent. I would definitely go back again.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2019

Just awful! My mother and I came here for lunch, she ordered the barramundi and I order the mussels (on the specials board). My mother noted immediately after tasting her fish that it was obviously frozen fish and not fresh as advertised and that it was rubbery, although she didn't really like it she did eat it. The mussels on the other hand were inedible. They too were clearly frozen, with some not having been thawed properly, they all still had the beards on them and the sauce was just cream.

The meal was taken back to the kitchen, with no offer of a replacement or an apology after I informed the waiter of the issue.

After receiving the bill I questioned why the cost of the mussels was still on there, the waiter told me he nor anyone else in the restaurant knew how to or was authorized to remove an item off of a bill. After much debate I had no choice but to pay the whole bill (mussels included) as I did not have the time nor energy to push a point that was going nowhere.

The whole experience just put a real damper on the day when my mum and I were supposed to be enjoying a holiday. Worst restaurant experience I have ever encountered.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bec R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Waves Cafe Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Campbell, Victoria
Port Campbell, Victoria
 

Been to Waves Cafe Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.