We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
196
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee machine romantic getaway gas log fire spa bath floor to ceiling windows one night the great ocean road breakfast hamper the kitchen no hesitation in returning rain shower absolutely everything stayed longer self contained apartment local info gourmet food farm animals
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

I’ve been very fortunate to travel a lot and The Great Ocean Rd is stunning. We are driving Melbourne to Adelaide and if it’s the jewels in the crown on this drive you are after (12 Apostles, London Bridge etc,) you need to stay at Anchors in Port Campbell?
Why?
Firstly the 3 cottages are outstanding, just gorgeous with no stone unturned on detail and the exceptionally friendly welcome (thanks Tanya)

Secondly Anchors is a mere 10 minute drive from the classic iconic sights of the Great Ocean Road.
Grab a sunrise view of the 12 Apostles just down the road

Thirdly, avoid the masses in Apollo Bay.

Stay at least 2 nights at Anchors, enjoy Timboon aswell.

Anchors is as perfect a place to stay that I’ve ever stayed in.

A real hidden gem.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hawkeye006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya_Anchors, Manager at Anchors, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate your time to help visitors with their trip planning.
You have some great points listed, there are many wonderful places to visit within the Apostles Coast region.
The magical "big nature" and the delights of the 12 Artisans Food Trail in the surrounding area of Timboon.
An overnight stay in Port Campbell ensures you can visit the main attractions during off-peak visitation.
Be the first to arrive and the last to leave!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

This place is clean, well-appointed, secluded, comfortable, and an all-around first class place pretty much anywhere you might go--and to find it in a small town along the Great Ocean Road, is simply a marvel and an oasis among the everyday lodging you might expect on a road trip. We were running late for the 2:00pm-6:00pm arrival window so we called to let them know and they were completely cool with it and told us what to expect when we got to the property. Olivia met us there and showed us around, had the fire going in the fireplace, gave us the dinner recommendations, and even brought us a bottle of wine! We were so impressed with the truly first class service that we were sorry we were not spending more than one night there. Highly recommend!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TRJ330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya_Anchors, Manager at Anchors, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Ah! That is a good question... we are classified as "other" on TripAdvisor not a Hotel although we do offer a range of services I have considered changing our listing, as it is much easier to find a "Hotel". Thanks for the encouragement.
We are pleased you were happy with our service and appreciate the time taken to review us. We offer a range of 2 and 3 night packages to suit your needs and would welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

The location is very quiet and it is simply perfect. The cottage is luxurious, spacious, spotless clean and the landscape is fabulous with a bit of ocean view. It was a perfect planned Great Ocean Road trip. We arrived at 14 30 in this wonderful place, directly from Melbourne via Colac.
It was much better idea to visit all the attractions near Port Campbell in the afternoon and the next day to drive all along the Great Ocean Road till Torquay.
You will not regret anything staying here!!!

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Dragos43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya_Anchors, Manager at Anchors, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for your review, there are some great tips. The drive inland is an easy 3 hours along The Princes Highway from Melbourne through Colac. This allows you a good amount of time touring the region in the afternoon. There are so many places to see along the Apostles Coast all within a 20km radius of Port Campbell. Sight seeing West of Port Campbell to The Arch, London Bridge, The Grotto and through to Bay of Islands is great in the afternoon to avoid the crowds at The 12 Apostles. An overnight stay ensures a sunrise in this magical place only 10 minutes drive from Anchors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

This place deserves a special review... quite simply an awesome location, with a high standard of accommodation, spotless, modern and a friendly welcome from Tanya with lots of local tips.
The sunset from the accommodation is a wonder to behold. My only complaint is we booked one night and really should have stayed longer!
If you’re looking to do the Ocean Road and/or create a special memory... I would encourage you to stay here, you won’t regret it. Wonderful.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Worldtraveller1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya_Anchors, Manager at Anchors, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for your special review, we really appreciate it.
It seems we get this complaint all to often... I have to agree one night is not enough. There are so many wonderful places amongst the big nature to enjoy a sunset, not only from the comforts of your villa.
We welcome you back anytime to enjoy a longer stay. Don't forget to check out our 2 and 3 night packages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Spent 3 nights at Anchors for the Christmas long weekend. We had a very relaxing time, away from the hustle and bustle. Tanya and her family were very friendly, spent a day with us fruit picking and then whiskey tasting. The accomodation is very modern and super clean. It is also in a very quite and relaxing spot.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ernestle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya_Anchors, Manager at Anchors, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

By far the best Christmas yet! Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was such a treat for us to enjoy this special time with you and your beautiful family. I will always remember your Eiffel Tower story it will have a special place in my heart. Keep up your fabulous work and we hope to cross paths again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews