We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$179
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
AU$167
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
0XLuisa0X
Melbourne, Australia

Ordinary

Review of Mantra Lorne
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Mar 2024
Staff were always friendly and helpful, the location was awesome, and the breakfast was plentiful.
The rooms are dated and clean, although not to the Accor standard. Common areas and pool were unclean with rubbish left for days. Stairways, lifts and pool area had loads of crickets jumping around and some not!
for the price and reputation, i don't feel we got our money worth. I would look for other options next time
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwin Erftemeyer, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review
Responded 12 Mar 2024
Thanks for your review, it is great to receive positive feedback regarding our staff, they do work hard and sometimes without recognition from guests. Currently due to the hot and dry conditions there has been an influx of crickets in the region. These are very difficult to clear as they hide under anything during the days and seem to come out at night.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$265
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$263
  • Expedia.com
    AU$292
0.6 km from Mantra Lorne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior 1 BR Apartment - Living area
Booking.com
AU$158
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
  • Hotels.com
    AU$176
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Mantra Lorne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Very comfy bed
Booking.com
AU$180
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$177
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Mantra Lorne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Chatby 2 Deluxe Studio
Agoda.com
AU$157
Easy and fast booking
  • Vio.com
    AU$157
  • eDreams
    AU$157
  • ZenHotels.com
0.9 km from Mantra Lorne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$58
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$123
  • Priceline
    AU$58
  • Expedia.com
    AU$123
0.3 km from Mantra Lorne
Free parking
Queen Room
Booking.com
AU$228
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$228
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Mantra Lorne
Free parking
Restaurant
Yabby Bank Cottage
Booking.com
AU$181
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$181
  • Agoda.com
    AU$155
  • Priceline
    AU$181
2.5 km from Mantra Lorne
Free parking
Great Ocean Road Coastline North of Lorne
Booking.com
AU$100
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$100
  • Hotels.com
    AU$94
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Mantra Lorne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Amazing Beach
Booking.com
AU$180
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$180
  • Agoda.com
    AU$180
4.8 km from Mantra Lorne
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$619
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$619
  • Agoda.com
    AU$619
  • Vio.com
    AU$619
0.6 km from Mantra Lorne
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lorne
Reviews (5,042)
Filter reviews
5,042 results
Traveller rating
1,346
1,831
1,008
493
364
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,346
1,831
1,008
493
364
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts endota spa lawn bowls great location putting green the great ocean road buffet breakfast indoor pool steam room one bedroom apartment great facilities across the road larder croquet cafes melbourne
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 5,042 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2024

Husband and I stayed for a short 4 night celebration getaway in a heritage hotel room breadkfast package and we were not disappointed. We stay at Mantra Lorne a couple of times a year and are always impressed with the location, facilities, staff and restaurant. We have stayed in the winter and summer this time were blessed with lovely weather and enjoyed a couple of beach days too which is literally right at your doorstep. We usually stay in a one bedroom self contained apartment but this time chose a hotel getaway for convenience of availability . We were pleasantly surpirsed with the accommodation and had not issues at all. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast at the Larder every morning which is extremely well catered. We also dined at the restaurant and enjoyed the chefs choice selection which didnt disappoint. Quality of food and service is exceptional. Always enjoy our stay at Mantra Lorne and would not stay anywhere else in Lorne.

Room tip: Be prepared for busy times ie long weekends school holidays etc.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank happyholidays4us1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwin Erftemeyer, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Thanks for the lovely comments, it is great to hear of your loyalty and return business all year round. We can't wait to welcome you back again on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2024

Really enjoyed our stay at the Mantra Lorne with well appointed rooms, generous breakfast buffet and conference catering with one of the highlights being the BBQ dinner provided on the first day.

The hotel is right on the beach and also very convenient to the town of Lorne itself with everything within walking distance.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank michaelsH6886WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwin Erftemeyer, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Hi Michaels, thanks for the great review, I am very happy to here you enjoyed the onsite conference. I hope we can welcome the group back again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2024

Fantastic venue best scenery plenty of places to walk play tennis enjoy the peace and quiet had a very relaxing time 10 out of 10 Plenty of scenic drives or go swimming in the sea or at one of the water falls in the area.You can also take in a relaxing day at the beach which is just there.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwin Erftemeyer, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Hi MTP, thanks for your comments. It great to hear you had a very enjoyable stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2024 via mobile

The hotel is extremely large with many apartments which are available as a hotel room or a one bedroom apartment or you can have them as two rooms joined together. The only issue as always is that the appartments are individually owned so that the rooms are furnished to different standards even though they are meant to be of good quality but not always in the best condition.
The property overall looks a bit in need of some attention.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PeterMailman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwin Erftemeyer, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Hi Peter, thanks for your review. As you know apartments are privately owned and we are working with all parties to better improve the standard and quality. Due to the size of the property this can be a timely challenge and one we are focused on addressing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2024 via mobile

Fortunately we only stayed here for one night. Check in was ok, just perfunctory we were told where we could park but couldn’t park in any of the allocated spaces , ended up parking by the entrance, miles from our room.
No view at all but a good location in Lorne.
What was really disappointing was the neglected state of the building and the state of the bathroom, chipped bath, mouldy sealant and filthy grout

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ARJ2529
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwin Erftemeyer, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Hi ARJ, thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay here at Mantra Lorne. I do wish to apologise that the condition of your room was not satisfactory to your expectations. We are working through all rooms and addressing such issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews