We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Algotels
Vio.com
AU$167
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Michelle M

Disappointed.

Review of Mantra Lorne
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jan 2024
Lift not working, our room was on the 3rd floor, the air conditioner was leaking down the wall, which stained the wall. Bed was lumpy, pillows uncomfortable, decor was dated. Staff were friendly, but the room was not serviced daily, I had to request fresh towels, milk and tea. Breakfast was mediocre at best, and we had to pay extra for barrista coffee. I would not recommend this hotel and would not stay again. The standard of the hotel room did not reflect the price. Poor form. However, the view was spectacular.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwin Erftemeyer, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this review
Responded 25 Jan 2024
Thanks for reviewing the Mantra Lorne, your comments are much valued as it helps us to focus on improvements into the future. I did wish to apologise that there was a lift breakdown during your stay, and the apartment and breakfast did not meet your expectations.
We are working on improvements to these areas and we will continue to respond to the priorities as requested by our guests.

Kind Regards
Edwin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Chatby 2 Deluxe Studio
Agoda.com
AU$157
Easy and fast booking
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    AU$157
  • ZenHotels.com
0.9 km from Mantra Lorne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$58
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$123
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$123
0.3 km from Mantra Lorne
Free parking
Yabby Bank Cottage
Booking.com
AU$181
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$155
  • Hotels.com
    AU$181
2.5 km from Mantra Lorne
Free parking
Amazing Beach
Booking.com
AU$180
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$180
4.8 km from Mantra Lorne
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$619
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
    AU$619
0.6 km from Mantra Lorne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior 1 BR Apartment - Living area
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$158
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
0.1 km from Mantra Lorne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Very comfy bed
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$177
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
0.4 km from Mantra Lorne
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Room
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$228
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Mantra Lorne
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
    AU$90
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Mantra Lorne
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lorne
Reviews (5,042)
Filter reviews
5,042 results
Traveller rating
1,346
1,831
1,008
493
364
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,346
1,831
1,008
493
364
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts endota spa lawn bowls great location putting green the great ocean road buffet breakfast indoor pool steam room one bedroom apartment great facilities across the road larder croquet cafes melbourne
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 5,042 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2024 via mobile

This hotel is not cheap and we would expect a lot more for $400+ per night for a one bedroom .

Room was dirty when we arrived , holes in towels and cooktop was broken.

The mantra simply have to do better.

Bring your own cutlery, pots and pans as the ones provided are not sufficient and dirty

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank marinela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwin Erftemeyer, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Hi Marinela, thank-you for sharing your experience at Mantra Lorne. It is disappointing to hear you had some negative housekeeping issues. We have passed these onto our team to investigate and resolve.
Regards
Edwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2024

Decided to stay in a Heritage room, was given room 307. Where to begin?
The bathroom was a joke, the toilet seat was almost up against the glass shower door so unless you’re very short and super thin the only way to sit on the toilet is sideways. The shower tiles were mouldy, window sills dusty and dirty. The washbasin is inside the bedroom. Sheets and doona cover were clean but the doona was stained. House keeping was supposed to be daily, we complained the room wasn’t serviced and in all fairness reception did apologise and offered a bottle of wine. Breakfast was included and a good selection offered. The only reason we gave this 3 stars is the exceptional service from reception and breakfast staff who were polite and obliging and the location. All in all a very disappointing 3 day visit.

Room tip: Don’t stay in the ‘Heritage’ rooms.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LengraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwin Erftemeyer, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2024

Lengra, Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience. I do apologise that the room standard did not meet your expectation on this occasion. Your comments will be used to address with our housekeeping team. I however glad to hear our team did extend a great service.
Regards
Edwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2024

Mantra needs to change their out dated furniture and when paying a handsome amount of money for a night I think a king size bed is not a whole lot to ask for, 10 nights in a double bed, not ideal. Cleaning has become quite slack over the years too.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler09323235068
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwin Erftemeyer, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2024

Hi Traveler, thank-you for sharing your feedback about your experience at Mantra Lorne. We are currently in the process of working with owners to deliver some partially refurbishments in 2024. I do apologise that the condition of your apartment was a negative on this occasion. I hope we can rectify and address the cleanliness prior to your next stay.
Regards
Edwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2024

Exceptional faultless stay. My favourite place to stay in Victoria. Guaranteed easy holiday. Great facilities and amazing location. Customer service is warm, friendly and personal. The ability to continue to use facilities and the front lounge area post check out makes the holiday extend over the last day. We love Lorne Mantra and can't wait to return.

Room tip: Join the rewards program, call the hotel directly to book your stay. Use the hotel facilities after check out.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTrotting5142
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwin Erftemeyer, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Dear GlobeTrotting,
Thank-you for your lovely review of the Mantra Lorne. We a happy to hear you were able to make use of all the facilities the property has to offer, our location on the beach is unrivalled here in Victoria.
We hope you can make it back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2023 via mobile

Don’t expect the price you pay to match the experience. This is a typical Mantra property, although starting to age. The price is simply in response to high demand in Lorne. Staff seemed overwhelmed on check in which meant having to trek back a wait at end of line when key cards weren’t coded properly. Not a big deal, but really annoying!

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank goodfoodau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edwin Erftemeyer, General Manager at Mantra Lorne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2024

Dear Goodfoodau,
Thank-you for posting your review of the Mantra Lorne. We understand the property is starting to show it's age, we are undertaking some steps to improve the standards within the Accommodation and we hope to deliver some of these projects in 2024.
I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews