We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but poor design and layout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cumberland Lorne Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed 2 nights in a 2 bedroom Ocean View Apt with my family. We have a 2.5 yo and a 1 yo. First impression was ok - but then i noticed 3 steps half way down the hallway - anyone with a 1 year old knows - this was going to be trouble, we had to barricade ourselves so she couldn't keep going to them :( I asked reception about moving - they said all Apts have steps except for 1 disabled access room. We are booked in again and they suggested i bring a gate next time. The weather was ok, not too hot, but the split system was only in the lounge - no air con in any other rooms, so on a hot summer day -not sure how kids would cope.
Kitchen was good, furniture was well appointed, but our room was not clean, we had many spiderwebs, bugs on the walls - had to kill 2 spiders, though i can tolerate a bit, it was too much - so 1 negative point for housekeeping. The spa bath had a cover broken and they shoved the bin next to it to keep it up - again, why don't they just fix it - so obvious.
Mattress in kids rooms were good, cot was great - mattress in main bedroom was awful.
We booked a great rate on www.hotels.com.au - so overall 3 stars this time, but don't think it it can get more then 4 stars - location was fantastic. car parking was good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelguru1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 429 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

(If you have mobility issues, definitely make these known when booking; our apartment had 3 steps between bathroom and kitchen, an a very deep step down into the shower/tub.)

This spacious and spotlessly clean apartment was more than we hoped for: living room, djning area, balcony, kitchen w/ dishwasher and stovetop, no oven). Our apartment - a one bedroom garden view - had a great ocean view. (Don't know if we were upgraded.) The layout was done so that while standing in the shower, you could see straight out to the ocean. The staff was happy to help with any need.

I can't praise this place enough. I hope to stay there again and fir longer!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coloradobc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stayed here in April this year (11) and was impressed with the presentation of the two bedroom apartment in which I stayed. It was clean, modern very spacious & well appointed. The hotel amenities were reasonable although I did not take full advantage of the them.

The restaurant was pleasant enough and food was good but not outstanding. Very convenient though. Breakfast could have been a little more varied, but was plentiful, fresh and tasty. If you've got the time and inclination visit some of the other food options within an easy stroll to get some variety. Remember though, it is a small town.

The position was fantastic, directly opposite the beach. My apartment was not on the side that faces the beach, that would have made it magical - definitely ask for one of these.

The Cockies are very friendly (Cockatoos) but please don't feed them, they will get aggressive to people who don't offer them treats. They are wild native birds - nothing you can offer them is good for them!

Definitely worth staying here. Will be back if I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Get a beach side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We have stayed here before on our 'girls weekend', but this year had originally booked in to the Mantra. We arrived at our room in the Mantra and it was disgusting... it took us 3 minutes to grab our belongings and call Cumberland to see if they had a room. They did, and we were back there and settled in minutes.

We have always stayed in a 2 bedroom ocan view apartment and they are great. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom and kitchen are large. The lounge area is comfortable, and the balcony with view is fantastic! We spent all afternoon in the room lounging around and catching up with eachother. When we go next year we won't bother looking around at anything else, we'll just book directly with Cumberland.

We had secure underground carparking, there is a nice pool and spa area, the gardens are cute and you're right above the main street.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean View room - it's worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom unit on the second storey, in a block behind the one facing the beach. We had a partial oceanview over the roof of the front buildling (also part of the resort) which was unexpected as the room was described as a garden view. There was one bedroom with a TV, a laundry in the bathroom which was quite spacious with jetted bath tub / shower combination and separate toilet.

The unit had a full kitchen with dishwasher, lounge with flat screen tv and Austar channels and a small balcony with two chairs and a table.

The resort has a heated indoor pool & hot tub as well and parking is complimentary underneath the building.

The lift was a bit old and dated, but apart from that the resort is in a good condition and close to the action with heaps of restaurants and shops mere steps away, as is the beach. The unit was fitted out with good quality furnishings and felt spacious and upmarket.

The location can't be beaten and I will most definitely stay again if visiting Lorne again.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, be sure to book an ocean view room as the resort consists of several towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Expl0rergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorne
1.1 km away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.1 km away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
171 reviews
0.1 km away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lorne
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
201 reviews
0.1 km away
Lorne Bay View
Lorne Bay View
#9 of 9 in Lorne
151 reviews
39.4 km away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#3 of 5 in Torquay
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Lorne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Lorne Resort

Address: 150 Mountjoy Pde, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lorne
Price Range: $178 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cumberland Lorne Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cumberland Lorne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Lorne Hotel Lorne
Cumberland Resort Lorne
Cumberland Hotel Lorne
Cumberland Lorne Resort South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing