We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Interesting food in a relaxed setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maple Tree Lorne Seafood Restaurant

Maple Tree Lorne Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Lorne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 29
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: "We are a collection of passionate food loving, wine drinking, flavour fanatics. We source the freshest Seafood from the region.We love and use local, fresh, seasonal & sustainable produce.Come in and share our obsession."
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Interesting food in a relaxed setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Maple Tree offers a great dining experience. The menu has a number of small dishes, as well as mains. We ordered 4 smalll dishes between two of us and this was enough - although we weren't overly hungry. We ordered Tempura soft shell crab with a wasabi/avocado puree and it was so delicious we immediately ordered another one. The tempura was light and not oily and the crab very tasty. We also ordered bbq prawns with deep fried capers, which were stunning. Another asparagus dish was also lovely. Plenty of choice on the menu. The service was relaxed, friendly and efficient. We sat outside as it was a lovely evening, but it would have been good if the tables were bigger. Good well-priced wine list. A little expensive for food considering the serving sizes. 4 small dishes and a $40 bottle of sparkling wine cost $140. But the quality and experience overall was very good, and the rent must be pretty high in such a stunning location on the main drag opposite the beach.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    82
    41
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“10 out of 10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I organised a large conference dinner with Maple Tree Restaurant with over 80 guests and I couldn't have asked for a better restaurant! On entry to Maple Tree we were welcomed by the most friendly, hospitable staff. They were extremely friendly, obliging and had great knowledge of the menu. The ambience of the restaurant relaxed, with full view of the beautiful Lorne beach. The food was amazing, the service fantastic and the atmosphere, perfect. The 5 star service made the experience most enjoyable. I will definitely be returning to Maple Tree Restaurant, whether it be for another conference dinner or for an intimate evening with family and friends.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great service. Amazing drinks.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We only intended to come in for drinks before heading down the road for a pizza at the ovenhouse. We sat at the bar and the Bartender made us a few drinks. I ordered a Wet Gin Martini which was perfect, one of the best I've ever tasted, he talked knowledgeably about the gin he was using and why it worked so well in a Martini. My other 2 friends ordered an Ameretto sour and a Maple syrup old fashioned that was on special that day - amazing drinks and great service. He managed to keep us entertained while performing all other duties.

Eventually we agreed to stay for a bite to eat which, while pricey was delicious, the table staff were very attentive and very friendly. Had another round of cocktails to finish the night and left it up to the bartender. I had a tropical cocktail the other 2 had a cucumber based cocktail, the bartender again came up to the table and asked us what our preferences were.

In terms of a drinking experience in a restaurant it was one of the best we've ever experienced. We'll be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

5 star prices but service only average. Firstly there is no children memu. At time of ordering, the waiter was told the kids will be sharing their meals but we had to keep asking for extra plates. The king prawns special is purely a boiled affair with no culinary input what so ever.
However, the linguine was just right, as is the bland of floral flavor and spice for the lamb backstrip.
If the prices weren't so dear or the services actually matched the fine dinning prices asked, Maple Tree would have scored a higher rating.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank funholiday70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best meal in Lorne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Having spent many summers in Lorne, this place would be number one on my list. And while it may have moved up in the size, it has lost none of the elements which have made it one of my favourites. I dined here with my husband and newborn baby and the staff could not have been more accommodating, making us feel completely at home. The food was fantastic. Calamari and the duck were delicious and the desserts of Creme Brulee and Mousse were to die for. The night we dined here there was such a variety of people, families with young children, couples and a large group of women, making it appeal to anyone. Looking forward to returning to see Josh and his team

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maple Tree Lorne Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maple Tree Lorne Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing