We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun in the sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chapel

The Chapel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lorne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chapel
Ranked #4 of 8 Lorne B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun in the sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Overall, had a great stay in Lorne in this lovely accommodation. Short drive to the main strip. Can walk to the beach but it is a bit hilly.

Only things to consider when staying here (and not in the owners control) is (a) the wild life - whilst it was fantastic getting up close and personal with koalas and other natives, they are very loud creatures, particularly at 5am in the morning when the sun is rising, and (b) the chapel could have been cleaner (mainly kitchen utensils, pots and pans probably left by a previous occupant) but it didn't impact our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

After reading the first review I was a bit nervous about staying, but can I say what a magical place. How a Peeping Tom could have got to there is beyond me. A great relaxing time was had and would recommend to anyone. Great host and hostess.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devil2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Big windows, no curtains and beautiful views,
Then when night time came we were surprised to catch a person looking in the window back at us, my husband yelled out and they ran away.
We wont be returning for obvious reasons.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank debb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

I am not sure why more reviews haven't been written on TripAdvisor about this gem. I initially found the recommendation in the Lonely Planet Magazine and I am delighted that I did. The Chapel is hidden away at the end of quite a steep drive in Lorne; however, the drive is more than worth it for the fantastic views from the bedroom and living quarter. You actually feel like you are living in the rainforest.

Unfortunately, we didn't get to meet Annie. She didn't want to disturb us in the morning so requested that we leave our money on the coffee table. It's wonderful that there are still people like that in this day and age. The Chapel is built over two floors - bedroom and bathroom above and living room and kitchen below. There is an excellent selection of DVDs and CDs, with a fabulous sound system. The furnishings are eclectic and show great taste. I could have happily curled up in the cushions on the large window seat and spent hours watching the birds and nature outside.

We were only sad that we hadn't booked longer. I hope we will be able to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

Wonderful open design, full of unique character. The stand-alone building backs onto forest, and is almost completely out of the view of any neighbouring house. The owners clearly love the facility and took great care in selecting furniture and curios that help it feel special. Loads of natural light, plenty of space, a comprehensive kitchen area and a huge rack of DVDs. There are no curtains, so if you're a late riser you'll be disappointed; we didn't care at all about that. We rarely plan to visit the same B&B twice, but we'll return to this one on a regular basis.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lorne hotels
2.2 km away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
1.0 km away
The Sandridge
The Sandridge
#4 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.2 km away
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Lorne Coachman Inn
Lorne Coachman Inn
#8 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.9 km away
La Perouse Lorne
La Perouse Lorne
#1 of 8 in Lorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.8 km away
Mantra Lorne
Mantra Lorne
#2 of 9 in Lorne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapel

Property: The Chapel
Address: 45 Richardson Bvd, Lorne, Victoria 3232, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Lorne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lorne
Price range (per night): $150 - $250
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
The Chapel Hotel Lorne
The Chapel Lorne, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing