We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off to a rocky start”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holmwood Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 10 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Echuca, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Off to a rocky start”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Was so excited to come across this beautiful property when trying to decide where to spend our second wedding anniversary. After checking the reviews I was sold that this was the place.
Upon arrival I went to reception to check in and was greeted by a lady who seemed less than impressed that I was here early, (even though I had requested a 1pm check in on my booking) I was told I was too early and check in wasn't until 2pm but it would be fine to go to the room now.
The 'Driftwood' was stunning, set back in a quiet courtyard, beautiful white louvres, hardwood floors, beautifully decorated, bright and open.
We had an amazing weekend and had came down to Cowes when the night market was on at the pier which was only a 2 minute walk away.
Would definitely recommend to anyone for a relaxing weekend away, just don't check in early!

Stayed March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 March 2017
I am the lady who greeted you and I must apologise for the impression I gave! We pride ourselves on being warm and friendly and also make every endeavour to accommodate people wanting to check in early. Your comments are a reminder that sometimes we don't come across as we intend to. I am so pleased that despite your "rocky start" you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you come back - and by all means check in early! Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
90
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shetland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Like many of the others we had a very pleasant stay in a very comfortable room, brightly decorated and well thought out with quality furnishings.
On arrival there was no one around as we were after the 16.00 check in time, however there was an envelope with our name on it which gave the details of how to check in, simple. After a good nights sleep we met out host Jill, helpful and chatty, she helped us refine our travel plans and we left after a serious breakfast, the type that you won't be needing to think about lunch !

After taking Jill's advice we were fortunate enough to see penguins and Wallabies on our walks.
Much later I discovered that I had left something behind, Jill had already tried to contact us and kindly forwarded it to our next hotel. Thanks Jill much appreciated.

Stayed February 2017
Helpful?
Thank sgstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 March 2017
Thanks for your lovely review and I am glad you caught up with your Ipad - not a good thing to leave behind when you are holidaying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

After a warm welcome by the owner, we had a beautiful cottage.
Everything look nice and was very clean. We got very good advice about what to do and where to eat.
The nicest was that we got a beach plaid and towels in a beach bag. Very nice and handy. Also the beach , just a view minutes walk away was very nice and quiet.

Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 March 2017
Hi Jan - you certainly struck it lucky with the weather. March has been a beautiful month for swimming on our beach. Both weather and water have been warm. Thanks for taking the time to review Holmwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, a lovely B&B with everything you need, the hostess was both welcoming and informative. Really clean and tidy rooms with all requirements catered for.
Breakfast was spot on with a gourmet touch.
We would definitely return and recommend to all. A great and friendly service that helps make a stay memorable.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 March 2017
Thank you for your kind review Steven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Everything about Holmwood is of the highest quality, and it is one of the best guesthouses we have ever stayed at. Tastefully furnished with good facilities and a superb breakfast. The service is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinchesterExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.2 km away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 10 in Cowes
228 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.1 km away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#2 of 10 in Cowes
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
5.5 km away
Oak Tree Lodge Luxury B&B
0.8 km away
Tropicana Motor Inn
Tropicana Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Cowes
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmwood Guesthouse

Property: Holmwood Guesthouse
Address: 37 Chapel St | (cnr Steele St), Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price range (per night): $218 - $269
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holmwood Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a cottage garden in a quiet tree lined street, Holmwood Guesthouse is the perfect place to pause and explore the natural attractions of Phillip Island, offering a choice of Bed & Breakfast accommodation or self-contained Spa Cottages, less than two hours drive from Melbourne.Holmwood Guesthouse is a stylish boutique retreat with three elegantly appointed rooms and two luxurious self-contained Spa Cottages, all just a five minute stroll from the Cowes main swimming beach, cafes and shops and just a fifteen minute drive to the Penguin Parade, Moto Grand Prix Circuit, spectacular coastal walks and wineries. All accommodation options have ensuite bathrooms, television, heating/cooling, complimentary wi-fi and the Spa Cottages also have private courtyard gardens, verandahs, barbeques and wood fires in winter. Depending on the season, breakfast (included in the Guesthouse rooms tariff, or as an extra for our Spa Cottage guests) is served in the dining room near the open fire or on the sun deck. We are licensed, so drinks and local wines are available and for group bookings a special dinner menu can be arranged for a private dining experience. The menu is prepared fresh daily according to availability of produce and guests' preferences.Holmwood Guesthouse is suitable for couples, small families and groups up to 10-14. For travellers on a self paced, round-Australia driving holiday, Holmwood is an ideal place to stay a while, unwind, be pampered or left alone, catch up with the washing and take time to truly experience the unique attractions of Phillip Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holmwood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmwood Guesthouse Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing