We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Resort Kaloha(Cowes)(Great Value!)
USD 110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arthur Phillip Motor Inn(Cowes)(Great Value!)
USD 104
USD 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phillip Island Cottages(Cowes)(Great Value!)
USD 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Seahorse Motel(Cowes)(Great Value!)
USD 85
USD 77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cowes Foreshore Tourist Park(Cowes)(Great Value!)
USD 70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Phillip Island Apartments(Cowes)(Great Value!)
USD 179
USD 163
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 110
USD 52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 58/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Waves Apartments(Cowes)(Great Value!)
USD 187
USD 139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Tropicana Motor Inn(Cowes)(Great Value!)
USD 82
USD 78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Castle Villa by the Sea(Cowes)(Great Value!)
USD 145
USD 123
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
136
17
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
17
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main househomemade biscuitsbeautiful cottageself contained cottagephillip islandbreakfasts were excellentbrown toiletrieshome from homepenguin parademodern facilitiesother guestshighest qualityvery comfortable roomtwo night staylittle touchesnext morningon arrival
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Easy check in even though we were late, room was lovely, well made up and a good size with a king sized bed. Small bathroom but very user friendly with a nice shower and floor. Toiletries were provided and I thought were just what was needed when here for a night out.
Jill was really nice we met her the next morning and breakfast was great. Cooked and continental type breakfast with real coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms include breakfast but cottages have a spa and are a little bigger/self contained.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bridie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Hi Bridie
Thanks for your lovely review and I'm glad you liked the coffee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights here. Wonderful sleek design, large comfy bed, fabulous shower. Excellent service: great recommendation for dinner (and made the reservation for us), provided beach towels, advice as to places to shop, eat etc.
Excellent location for the key activities: 10 minutes to the Koala conservation center and 15 minutes to Nobbies and Penguin Parade.
We did not partake of the breakfast option-however we saw the breakfast and it looked lovely.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidSta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We spent three nights at Hollywood and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had the garden room which was lovely and bright. The bed was really comfortable. When we checked in we were made to feel welcome and given useful information about the Island. Breakfast was really good and we particularly enjoyed the fruit salad. The guest house is far enough away from the centre to be really quiet but near enough so that you can walk to everything . A really relaxing and lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Birdman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Stayed here for the second time as we had relatives from England to see the penguins, so we booked two rooms in the main part of the house.

As before, the rooms were spotless, the breakfast excellent and the hosts, Jill and Jude were an absolute delight. Will stay here again and would recommend this place to everybody.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

HI Alan it was great to welcome you back to Holmwood and I am glad your relatives enjoyed the Penguins. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Not much I can say about this guesthouse but outstanding. This boutique guesthouse is beautifully furnished and luxurious. The host apologised for not being there when we checked in. The breakfast was of the highest quality and professionally presented. Our only issue - we didn't spend long enough there.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jumpcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Thanks for reviewing Holmwood. Even though I live on site I cannot always be here to welcome guests but I always leave explicit instructions on how to check in together with my phone number if there is a problem. I am never more than 5 minutes away so it usually works! Come back for longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews