We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holmwood Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 10 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Booked this place through Luxury Escapes. It is a beautiful house. We had the East Room it was really nice. The room is well laid out and very clean. The king bed was very comfortable. Really clean and well laid out bathroom. The breakfasts were excellent, lots of choice and served with a smile.
It is a very quiet and restful home.
The location is central to everything in Cowes. Loved the place and we hope to return.

Room Tip: Very quiet place any room would be excellent. I
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Captainsunshine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Holmwood Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2016

Hy husband and I stayed in one of the guestrooms here and it was absolutely beautiful. The room was very cosy and well equipted and had a gorgeous view of the cottage garden from our window. The hostess was lovely and couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. Hope to visit again, thank-you!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nicole4444471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Fantastic! Unquestionably the best guesthouse we stayed in on our Australian trip. Faultless!

Having stayed in New Zealand guesthouses on a previous trip, we were advised not to expect anything similar in Australia - however this guesthouse easily and unquestionably matched anything we experienced in NZ!

The guesthouse is very tastefully decorated with matching fixtures, fittings, furniture and decorations. We had a very comfortable en suite room and both our room and common areas were warm. On arrival, we mentioned that we had experienced some very cold accommodations en route. When we returned from a restaurant the log fire in the main lounge had been lit for us! It was also laid for use the next day and again lit!

Nothing was too much for the owner and the 2 ladies who looked after us. The breakfast was excellent, with freshly squeezed orange and freshly ground coffee.

Top marks for a wonderful guesthouse which we would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJA0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

It was lovely to meet you both. The fire is always appreciated on a cold night, particularly after a trip to the Penguins! Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed at Holmwood and what a lovely & relaxing place. The house is wonderfully kept and the rooms have everything you need. The beds are super comfy! The breakfast was delightful. The only problem, we didn't stay long enough.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sanjeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

You are welcome back anytime. If you book direct we will even give you a discount as a thank you for your repeat business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Holmwood is upscale homestay cum B&B sort of accommodation which is run very professionally. Its situated in close proximity to the Esplanade, but away enough to cut you off from the activity and noise. For a one day stay I strongly recommend putting up in the Guest House. Breakfast would be served to the guests, which is comparable to any 5 star in Melbourne. As for the tariifs, Phillip Island is expensive all across and hence its naïve to compare it to tariffs with that of Melbourne or other places for a home stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the main Guest Room for short stay (1-2 days) and in the cottages for a longer stay (3 days...
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dhvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Thanks for your lovely review. We agree with you that the house is the place for a one night stay. But any longer and many people prefer our Spa Cottages. Although brekky is not included in the tariff guests are welcome to book breakfast with us. Alternatively with a full kitchen at their disposal in the cottages, many prefer to self cater or take advantage of the cafe strip, a 5 minute walk away.

Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.2 km away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 11 in Cowes
229 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.1 km away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#2 of 11 in Cowes
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
5.5 km away
Oak Tree Lodge Luxury B&B
1.9 km away
Glen Isla House
Glen Isla House
#1 of 10 in Cowes
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmwood Guesthouse

Address: 37 Chapel St | (cnr Steele St), Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range: $218 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holmwood Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a cottage garden in a quiet tree lined street, Holmwood Guesthouse is the perfect place to pause and explore the natural attractions of Phillip Island, offering a choice of Bed & Breakfast accommodation or self-contained Spa Cottages, less than two hours drive from Melbourne.Holmwood Guesthouse is a stylish boutique retreat with three elegantly appointed rooms and two luxurious self-contained Spa Cottages, all just a five minute stroll from the Cowes main swimming beach, cafes and shops and just a fifteen minute drive to the Penguin Parade, Moto Grand Prix Circuit, spectacular coastal walks and wineries. All accommodation options have ensuite bathrooms, television, heating/cooling, complimentary wi-fi and the Spa Cottages also have private courtyard gardens, verandahs, barbeques and wood fires in winter. Depending on the season, breakfast (included in the Guesthouse rooms tariff, or as an extra for our Spa Cottage guests) is served in the dining room near the open fire or on the sun deck. We are licensed, so drinks and local wines are available and for group bookings a special dinner menu can be arranged for a private dining experience. The menu is prepared fresh daily according to availability of produce and guests' preferences.Holmwood Guesthouse is suitable for couples, small families and groups up to 10-14. For travellers on a self paced, round-Australia driving holiday, Holmwood is an ideal place to stay a while, unwind, be pampered or left alone, catch up with the washing and take time to truly experience the unique attractions of Phillip Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Holmwood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmwood Guesthouse Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing