We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Contemporary Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holmwood Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 10 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mussoorie, India
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Contemporary Accomodation”
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Holmwood is upscale homestay cum B&B sort of accommodation which is run very professionally. Its situated in close proximity to the Esplanade, but away enough to cut you off from the activity and noise. For a one day stay I strongly recommend putting up in the Guest House. Breakfast would be served to the guests, which is comparable to any 5 star in Melbourne. As for the tariifs, Phillip Island is expensive all across and hence its naïve to compare it to tariffs with that of Melbourne or other places for a home stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the main Guest Room for short stay (1-2 days) and in the cottages for a longer stay (3 days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 October 2016
Thanks for your lovely review. We agree with you that the house is the place for a one night stay. But any longer and many people prefer our Spa Cottages. Although brekky is not included in the tariff guests are welcome to book breakfast with us. Alternatively with a full kitchen at their disposal in the cottages, many prefer to self cater or take advantage of the cafe strip, a 5 minute walk away.

Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
90
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We arrived to find Inglenook Cottage warm with everything we need supplied. We had a great few days here in Cowes, and the homely fire in the cottage was a welcome gift to us on the cold days. Helped bring some rest, and the opportunity to catch up on some needed reading. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Beautiful... Very clean and modern with everything included for comfortable stay.. We got a self-contained cottage with spa inside, Netflix, BBQ and heater with flames. Will definitely come back, 100% recommend.

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Holmwood Guesthouse far exceeded our expectations. We were pleasantly surprised to arrive at the house, in a prime location and with picturesque gardens. The rooms were tastefully furnished and stoked with all the amenities you could desire. Judith was an excellent host and made us feel very comfortable and welcome the whole time. The cooked breakfast was delicious, complete with freshly squeezed juice and barista-quality coffee. Such a tranquil setting yet so close to restaurants, shops and the beach. I would definitely stay again and highly recommend. Faultless.

Room Tip: There is a family cottage. We stayed ion the garden room which was devine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanelle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 October 2016
Thank you for your complimentary review. I have passed it on to Judith who is the Holmwood Breakfast Queen!

Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

We were really really pleased we booked here. We loved every minute we stayed here and wanted to stay for longer. Had been beautifully redone had a bath seperate shower motion sensor lights fireplace and air con. Outdoors had our own bbq and private courtyard. Seriously just book here you won't regret it :-) wish we could have stayed for longer!!!!

Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 October 2016
Glad you enjoyed our spa cottage. Come back in summer and enjoy our beautiful beaches when its swimming weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.2 km away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 10 in Cowes
228 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.1 km away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#2 of 10 in Cowes
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
5.5 km away
Oak Tree Lodge Luxury B&B
0.8 km away
Tropicana Motor Inn
Tropicana Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Cowes
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmwood Guesthouse

Property: Holmwood Guesthouse
Address: 37 Chapel St | (cnr Steele St), Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price range (per night): $218 - $269
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holmwood Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a cottage garden in a quiet tree lined street, Holmwood Guesthouse is the perfect place to pause and explore the natural attractions of Phillip Island, offering a choice of Bed & Breakfast accommodation or self-contained Spa Cottages, less than two hours drive from Melbourne.Holmwood Guesthouse is a stylish boutique retreat with three elegantly appointed rooms and two luxurious self-contained Spa Cottages, all just a five minute stroll from the Cowes main swimming beach, cafes and shops and just a fifteen minute drive to the Penguin Parade, Moto Grand Prix Circuit, spectacular coastal walks and wineries. All accommodation options have ensuite bathrooms, television, heating/cooling, complimentary wi-fi and the Spa Cottages also have private courtyard gardens, verandahs, barbeques and wood fires in winter. Depending on the season, breakfast (included in the Guesthouse rooms tariff, or as an extra for our Spa Cottage guests) is served in the dining room near the open fire or on the sun deck. We are licensed, so drinks and local wines are available and for group bookings a special dinner menu can be arranged for a private dining experience. The menu is prepared fresh daily according to availability of produce and guests' preferences.Holmwood Guesthouse is suitable for couples, small families and groups up to 10-14. For travellers on a self paced, round-Australia driving holiday, Holmwood is an ideal place to stay a while, unwind, be pampered or left alone, catch up with the washing and take time to truly experience the unique attractions of Phillip Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holmwood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmwood Guesthouse Phillip Island/Cowes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing