We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location!, location!, location!”
Review of Coastal Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coastal Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“location!, location!, location!”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I was really apprehensive about booking a night here because of the other reviews that I had read on tripadvisor. In one way it may of helped because it was the only motel not fully booked out for such short notice for a public holiday extra long weekend being Easter Monday and Anzac Tuesday. The room was exactly as decribed, very clean and very spacious but still very cosy. I did pay the highest premium price but the gamble paid off. Had a wonderful time being able to walk to the beach and shops so easily and the view of the mountains is pure magic just from the doorway alone. Look forward to going back with fond memories, especially of my young six year old being so excited to sleep in the top bunk upstairs!

Room Tip: bring your own pillow and toilet spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mynd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    85
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
48
104
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

For many years I have booked into this motel to attend the Apollo Bay Music Festival. I have done so because it is close to town, relatively cheap and has cooking facilities - I could tolerate the musty smelling room, a leaky bathroom tap and tired & dated finishes because of these benefits. My last visit was very unpleasant and ruined my weekend because of the owners arrogant attitude. My daughter and her friend were staying with me, both 20 years old light-weights. One night, we stayed up talking into the early hours and whilst we were sitting on the upstairs single bed, it collapsed. The next morning the owner approached my daughter and said there had been complaints about noise from our room (never mind that I was woken at 7.30am by a crying baby next door), clearly, the walls are paper-thin. He demanded to know how many people were sleeping in the room and challenged her when she said there were 3 as he didn't believe her. She told him about the broken bed. As I was driving to park my car in the back street (as part of vacating the room), he demanded to know why I was leaving and accused me of doing a runner. I explained I was parking the car and was returning. The owner then confronted me with an excessively angry manner, insisted that I should have told him about the bed earlier than departure time and questioned my honesty and integrity. He demanded payment to fix the bed which he said should only have had one person in it! We had already determined it was poorly made, old and that a few screws would fix the problem. This attitude was very insulting as I hold a senior role within the Victorian education sector and am not a dishonest or sneaky person as accused. I was in shock by the approach this man took with a long term customer. The cleaning staff on the other hand were lovely, genuine country hospitality and put a lot of effort into cleaning up the ant plague that arrived to devour the Coke and liqueur drops left on the bench overnight. Think twice before you stay at this venue, you cannot be sure what you will experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeenieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesinclairs24
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We werent sure what to expect and were pleasantly surprised. It is a basic motel room but the rooms are spacious, there is a little kitchenette in the room and BBQ outside, making self catering possible. Ron the guy who runs it is lovely - we had forgotten to book a bed for our 2 year old and it wasnt an issue for him to sort it out. Great location along the main street in Apollo Bay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesinclairs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

We picked this motel off the net.Other reviews were noted. On arrival we found the gentleman in reception to be very efficient and helpful in all aspects
Our stay of 4 nights was just relaxation ,including the breakfast package delivered each evening. The room was large for a motel,including a kitchenette with all utensils and a microwave,Electric jug & toaster. If more than overnight stay is envisaged we suggest you carry an electric fry pan. The shopping centre and hotels are a 10 minute casual walk. Excellent large meals at reasonable costs are available. The beach is across the road , with an info building close by. An excellent family holiday area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Motel owner from a horror movie, the most obnoxious, rude host I have ever come across.

Did no favours to the image of the Australian hospitality. Shame on him.

  • Disliked — The owner's manner.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod K, Manager at Coastal Motel, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
We are disappointed with this person's experience. They have been non specific. No complaints were made to reception. A check of our records shows we have not had any guests from Kuwait City or that country in December 2008 or January 2009 and it would appear that they were not guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.2 km away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
615 reviews
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn The International
0.4 km away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.6 km away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
2.8 km away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Motel

Property: Coastal Motel
Address: 171 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price range (per night): $102 - $273
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastal Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coastal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastal Motel Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing