We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
9
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic place, just outside of town on a hill, in a small National Park. So it seemed. We had a very warm welcome and saw our new friends, Sam the shetland pony and Oscar the dog but later on we came to meet a couple of Koala's on the premise. We had a fantastic stay, so quiet and peacefull that we hope to come back one day.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AlexMeester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights on our drive along the Great Ocean Road. The owners, Pete and Roz are very friendly and helpful. The accommodation is a few kilometers out of Apollo Bay, and is set on 40 acres of gum trees and bush, with koalas, wallabies, and heaps of colorful bird life on your doorstep. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the seat in the grounds, soaking up the peace and quiet, and watching the wildlife.There is a choice of a self contained studio, or cottage. We stayed in the studio (Toddle Inn), which consisted of small lounge/dining area, a compact bedroom, and ensuite, which also contained the fridge. Breakfast for both days was in basket in the lounge when we arrived, and consisted of a selection of small cereal packets, a loaf of bread, and various spreads for toast. Tea, coffee, milk etc were provided, as was china and cutlery. While the accommodation suited our purposes, as we were basically only there for 2 evenings, it would have been a bit cramped if we'd intended to have our whole holiday there - the cottage would have given more room. There is no internet access there, which we were aware of when we booked.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brighteyes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Barham hill is a very nice place close to Apollo Bay and the Great Ocean Road. The hosts Roz and Peter are very nice people and very helpful, we had forgotten an item when we left the house and they were nice enough to mail it back to us.
The accommodation is nice and cosy, in a very calm and relaxing environment, surrounded by a forest of gum trees where you can observe a few koalas. There is also plenty of birds around, including red and green parrots. They sometimes come as close as the balcony.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barham65, Owner at Barham Hill Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2016

Thank you Jean for your kind review. Pete and I are so please that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Roz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Beautiful spot just a few minutes drive from Apollo Bay. It was lovely to go into town for coffee or lunch and then return to the cottage and relax while watching the koalas and birdlife in the trees.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vickifP8984BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barham65, Owner at Barham Hill Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2016

Thankyou Vicki for your lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Roz & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Roz and Peter have done a great job in setting up the cosiest place to stay around the Ottways. The friendly welcome, the blazing fire, the views, the quiet, the space, the wildlife - honestly - there's no need to even leave the property to have a memorable holiday experience. We've stayed in several places in the area but we won't be looking elsewhere from here on whenever we come to holiday in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews