We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Capability_Brown
Bristol, United Kingdom

Superb Sandpiper

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
What a gem of a motel -! Superbly well equipped, cosy & homely with a fantastically modern bathroom (& excellent shower). The breakfast voucher for a local cafe was also very helpful, given the weather was so bad (!?) it delayed our start back on the Gt (Underwater) O Rd. Free laundry facilities were fantastic, especially as we had run out of dry/warm clothing!! Highly recommend.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$155
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$144
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$110
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$110
  • Lol.travel
0.8 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our Beach Tents are ideal for glamping and holidaying in along the Great Ocean Road.
AU$243
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$243
  • eDreams
    AU$243
1.3 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$137
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$123
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$163
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$147
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Motel Double and Single
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$112
  • Agoda.com
    AU$102
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance Apollo Bay Motel & Apartments, BW Signature Collection
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$121
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$121
0.6 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
3 bedroom house with ocean view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$110
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$98
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$119
  • Hotels.com
    AU$131
1.1 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Hot Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$95
  • Agoda.com
    AU$85
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Apollo Bay
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveller rating
416
253
68
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
416
253
68
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the great ocean road one night free laundry facilities room was clean guest laundry would stay again sea view motel toaster fridge shops melbourne accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife and I recently stayed one night at the Sandpiper Motel, Apollo Bay in a King Room with Hill View (and you could glimpse the ocean from the verandah). I would classify the motel as a typical Australian rural motel. The room was on the first floor and was very spacious and included a microwave, plates and cutlery. The bed was comfortable. There is a free guest laundry with a washing machine and dryer which can be used by guests from 08:00 to 22:00. The hotel still uses individual soaps and shampoos (rather than dispensers) and includes a smart bathroom mirror. An interesting touch is that all the linen is monogrammed with the hotel's name.

Prior to check in you are sent a text advising of your room number and the room key is collected from an envelope (with your name on it) placed outside the reception area, so we had no interaction with reception staff.

At $122 for the night we thought the Sandpiper Motel was good value and would be happy to return.

TC

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThinController
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2024

It was my first visit to Apollo Bay, and I would wholeheartedly recommend staying here. I felt completely at home, with a sense of safety and coziness that was unmatched. The room was impeccably clean and fresh, equipped with all the basic facilities. Plus, it was enjoyable to watch the highway view from the room! Thank you for hosting us!

Room tip: do not need be rush, as self check in was very smooth. I came late, but no issue at all
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

Booked this place based on reviews here and Booking.com - it did not disappoint. Booked a double room and got upgraded to a double with ocean view (from the balcony). Totally worth it! The place was very clean and very well appointed with a nice fridge freezer combo and excellent wifi. It is very quiet and a short 10 stroll into the heart of town and a 3 min walk to the beach. Ample parking, great internet and a shared laundry facility. I canulent believe that the bedding and linen all had the motel’s name and logo on them…nice touch! We can’t recommend this place highly enough…great for all family compositions as there are large family rooms available.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PDMM_Gourmands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2023 via mobile

This is an amazing motel I’m in a two bedroom apartment it’s a fantastic apartment it got a kitchen and living room great bathroom mine has a bath don’t know if all have a bath has a shower it’s walking distance to shops in Apollo bay has great restaurants too I would stay here again the staff are really good and helpful

Room tip: If you get breakfast in the morning you have to walk or drive to fusion space cafe to get your breakfast you will get vouchers
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank bullc990
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2023 via mobile

This place does what it says on the tin. It’s handy for anyone travelling the GOR and is just on the outskirts of town. It’s basic but very clean. Couldn’t fault it for delivering us a good nights sleep and a good shower before heading off on our travels. We didn’t meet anyone from the motel at all - check in was done by simply collecting an envelope outside reception. Not a problem for us at all but maybe some people may like the face to face contact. We arrived around 4pm so not late.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Passport11360658111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews