We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gill
Cheshire, United Kingdom

Does the job.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Nov 2023via mobile
This place does what it says on the tin. It’s handy for anyone travelling the GOR and is just on the outskirts of town. It’s basic but very clean. Couldn’t fault it for delivering us a good nights sleep and a good shower before heading off on our travels. We didn’t meet anyone from the motel at all - check in was done by simply collecting an envelope outside reception. Not a problem for us at all but maybe some people may like the face to face contact. We arrived around 4pm so not late.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$235
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Motel Double and Single
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$252
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
  • ZenHotels.com
1.3 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$255
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Hot Spa
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$257
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rayville Boat Houses
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$390
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
11.0 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$436
  • Priceline
5.7 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Apollo Bay
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveller rating
416
253
68
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
416
253
68
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the great ocean road one night free laundry facilities room was clean guest laundry would stay again sea view motel toaster fridge shops melbourne accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2023 via mobile

We just love Apollo Bay and our room at the Sandpiper. The communication was simple, clear and precise on check in etc. Our room was on the second floor, nice balcony with side view of the ocean and morning sun. The room is spacious and we'll equipped with a fridge, microwave and even toaster. Wishing we could stay longer. The beach is 2 minutes walk down the street.

Only note to those arriving late, most Apollo Bay shops, cafes, supermarket etc close at 8pm. We arrived just after so didn't have much dining choice.

However dinner at the Apollo Bay Hotel dining room was very nice, we managed to catch the last order of 8.30pm. So beware your time.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Seaside52233303398
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2023

Sandpiper is a hidden gem along the Great Ocean Road. The sunrise view from our room was breathtaking, and the overall cleanliness and tidiness were impeccable. The breakfast was not only delicious but also a great value for money. The self-check-in process was seamless, which we particularly appreciated as we arrived late.

Room tip: BOOK Ocean view room
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Small s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2023 via mobile

I do have positives - the room was comfortable and the location and price were all good.

However, my rating is short a star because the housekeeping needs improvement - there was ground coffee left on one of the surfaces, some of the furniture wasn't straightened up and the toilet and cutlery/bowls and cups weren't cleaned when I requested the room be serviced.

As a former housekeeper these flaws were really sticking out to me.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank BrianS815
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 June 2023

The room is comfortable and good for a rest after a full day driving. The air conditioner is warm enough. Near to restaurant and the beach. Free parking. Clean room. Late check in is also available. Highly recommended.

Room tip: You will need to grab the envelop on the shelf after reception closed.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank joshuayuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2023 via mobile

Spent a night here whilst on our Great Ocean Road journey. Apollo Bay made a decent halfway point between Melbourne and Warrnambool and the Sandpiper seemed a reasonable price. We were very pleasantly surprised on arrival as our expectations were low with the “Motel” moniker. Large open rooms with balconies including a (albeit partial) sea view. Very clean and perfectly located. I would recommend to anyone stopping in Apollo Bay to stay here for a night.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews