We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MartinBlackDuck
Hunter Valley, Australia

Pipe us aboard!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Nov 2022
A very comfortable motel and our room was upgraded. Perhaps the (relatively new and lovely) owners thought we were part of a Probus group who arrived the same afternoon! Only one night here but could easily have stayed longer. Unfortunately some of the restaurants were not open, including the fish co-op. However we had a pretty good meal at ChopstX that included a very nice seafood Pad Thai.
Date of stay: November 2022
Room Tip: Views are from upstairs.
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Motel Double and Single
AU$126
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance Apollo Bay Motel & Apartments, BW Signature Collection
AU$138
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Hot Spa
AU$102
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$153
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Frontal review of our motel.
AU$127
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$299
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$299
3.6 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$140
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$197
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
3 bedroom house with ocean view
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$148
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apollo Bay Eco YHA - Downstairs Lounge Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$94
  • Algotels
0.8 km from Sandpiper Motel Apollo Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Apollo Bay
Reviews (766)
Filter reviews
766 results
Traveller rating
417
253
68
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
417
253
68
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the great ocean road one night free laundry facilities room was clean guest laundry would stay again sea view motel toaster fridge shops melbourne accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 766 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2022

Only stayed the one night but great to be somewhere to recharge our batteries. Staff were lovely, pointed out the sleeping koala in the tree, gave us a lovely fluffy blanket for the cold weather, and really appreciated the flexibility of using their free laundry facilities out with the designated hours. Loved the spacious bathroom, good quality hairdryer, usb charger within the bedside lamp and tea facilities including fresh milk! All within a good price.

Room tip: They upgraded us to the delux room because it was quiet. Bigger bathroom
Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AliceA1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2022 via mobile

Quite place, spacious room and super clean. If you are lucky you can see wild Koala walking beside the hotel. Hotel located perfectly and walking distance to restaurant and beach. They have washer and dryer room in downstair. Check in and out was perfect

Room tip: Parking available
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shuvro_salahuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2022 via mobile

We received a message from them before we arrived asking if we are checking in outside their reception hours (1.30pm to 6pm). A contactless check-in could be done. We didn't need it but it was good that they communicated the option in advance.

We had a comfortable stay at Sandpiper. Had the best sleep here in a week of travel as it had a proper mattress, not the springy type. The staff was kind to offer us an upgrade to a king room. The room was spacious and clean. Toilet was spacious and good shower. We loved that it had a free self- service guest laundry. Parking available on- site or on the street. Property is walking distance to restaurants, supermarkets and the beach.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vthc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2022 via mobile

I've driven down from Sydney to check the Great Ocean Road-experience and photography off my bucket list.

Driving to Apollo Bay for my first overnight, I took the TripAdvisor recommendation, and reviews, and booked the Sandpiper.

The self check-in experience was a little challenging, as the room I had was in a separate complex to the main building, and the SMS directions were confusing because there were vehicles obstructing the view to the landmark guest laundry and path to the separate block.

The room itself is nice, fresh and clean. I could not access the WiFi on a Windows laptop, an iPad and a Samsung phone, so no WiFi for room 2.

As per my title: You Get What You Pay For, I suppose. I'd be lying if I said I am not disappointed.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank SJTL08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2022

Staying with friends in Melbourne, we decided to give them a break and go an overnight trip to Apollo Bay down the Great Ocean Road and chose to stay at the Sandpiper. On checking in, we were given a local map and recommendations on places to eat and visit, which was very helpful.

Our room was spacious, comfortable, equipped with a fridge, toaster, kettle, glasses, bowls and utensils so we could easily take care of our own breakfast in the morning. Most importantly the room had a large and comfortable bed. There was also a decent sized balcony with table and chairs, which we didn't make use of as the weather wasn't exactly ideal.

We checked out in the morning, more than happy with the choice we had made. Later that day, I had a missed call from the Sandpiper and could not access my voicemail until late in the evening,so rang back the next day, curious as to what the issue was. Spoke to Bowden (hope spelling is correct) who had checked us in and he told me that we had managed to leave behind a Nikon camera battery charger and a small box of jewelry. As we were leaving Melbourne the next day for Sydney for 5 nights before heading back to the UK, I didn't know what to do. Thankfully, Bowden volunteered to send the items by express post to our accommodation address in Sydney, which duly arrived two days later. He even sent me a photo of the package along with the tracking number. I cannot thank him enough for his kind consideration.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews