We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Save
Private Tour - Great Ocean Road Express Tour - 9 Hour Duration
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
AU$529.34
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Great Ocean Road Auto Tours - Private Day Tours
from AU$566.00
More Info
from AU$708.00
More Info
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
116
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
116
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great ocean road guide james amazing tour bus tour personal experience interests company melbourne apostles honesty coastline stretch accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2022

I came on a bus tour about 10 years ago. I was blown away (quite literally on some occasions!) on a windy winters day. Thankfully this time around it was October, and we enjoyed a much calmer sunnier day. Beautiful for photography.

We also choose to step it up a gear and opt for a private tour. This turned out to be a great call. Michael was our guide and driver for the day. He was a real local. Knew his history. Knew the little inside knowledge that we may have missed out on. We also opted for the 13 hour tour, which meant we got away early - 6:30am - so we had all the stops to ourselves, except the 12 Apostles, but even then there was only a few people. The extra hour on the road was totally worth it.

I know most tours leave at around 8 or 9am but why would you want to join the crush of tourists at each venue? Going early was a great idea, and we slept on the way back (arduous 3 hour journey back to Melbourne in the late afternoon).

Date of experience: October 2022
Thank 143missyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AutoTours, Tour Guide at Great Ocean Road Auto Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2023

Thanks Missyt,

Yes, Michael really knows his stuff. I'm glad to hear you had a sunny calm day. In fact, October was one of our worst months on record in terms of weather, so you must have caught the road on a good day!!

I'm happy you thought the early pick up works better. We think so too!!

Thanks, James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2022

What a great few days travelling the Great Ocean Road. Our guide Michael was superb throughout. Funny, reliable and safety conscious.

Overnight stay in Apollo Bay was definitely worth it, particularly the sunrise in the morning.

Date of experience: August 2022
Thank Getvaccinated
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AutoTours, Tour Guide at Great Ocean Road Auto Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2022

Well we really appreciate you taking time to review us.

I will certainly pass on your thanks and praise to Michael. I'm glad you liked his 'Dad' jokes haha

Warm Regards, James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2022

I am NOT big on writing reviews. I tend to be a bit lazy and read them instead. But for the effort that this company put into our experience, i felt i must at least say a few words. Our previous tour pre-covid was cancelled due to travel restrictions. They were ever so kind and accommodating about refunding our tour in full when these restrictions were imposed, whilst many others were trying to keep our money or trying to offer credit notes instead. So we knew that when we finally did make it to Australia, we would re-pay this kindness and honesty with our custom.

The tour was really great, and matched the overall kind and warm service that we experienced whilst stuck at home during covid - lots of correspondence back and forth during this period.

So not only would i like to thank Michael and James for providing an amazing tour, i also want to thank them for their honesty and sincerity during that difficult period.

You deserve every future success.

Date of experience: June 2022
Thank wassman j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2022

Wow, what a way to see this stretch of coastline. The tour was just what we had hoped for, and was tailored to our (slow) speed. Wehad been in discussion with James before booking, who suggested a 2 day tour, which we hadn't even considered. It was absolutely the right choice for us. We stayed the night in Apollo Bay. We sourced our own accommodation with a little help from James. The town is a little gem but its true beauty comes about once the hordes of big bus tours have left the area, and you essentially have the area alone with locals. Beautiful sunrise if you are game enough to get up the early.

Date of experience: July 2022
Thank drd397
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AutoTours, Tour Guide at Great Ocean Road Auto Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2022

Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience. The sunrise is only enjoyed by a handful of people (it is early as you say), so glad you got to enjoy that special experience.

thank for choosing us, James :0

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2022

I'm not one to write reviews but thought i would just share my positive experience of this tour company. Excellent from start to finish. Our guide James was very friendly and a very safe driver. Thanks from Jen & the boys x

Date of experience: June 2022
Thank Q4205DKjennyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Explorer339, Guest Relations Manager at Great Ocean Road Auto Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2022

Thanks Jenny. I really appreciate you taking the extra time to write us a review. As a small Private tour operator we only have a handful of guests each week, so competing against the big bus tours with 60+ passengers, it can be hard to compete with their sheer number of reviews! So each review we receive really is appreciated.

It was a pleasure to show you and your two sons the road

James :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews