We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit on great ocean road”

Chris's Beacon Point Restaurant & Villas
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

We visited this restaurant and stayed at one of the villas travelling from Sydney to the great ocean road. The accommodation was spacious with a wonderful view of the great ocean road. The dinner was delicious as was the local wine. Breakfast in the morning was fabulous as well. Thanks we loved seeing the GOR from above and the excellent accommodation and food.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 743allisond
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 347 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2016

Have been wanting to go here for years, have seen postcards episode and was impressed with seafood. Arrived there, service excellent. Offered menu and told the fish of the day was fish caught between Victoria and New Zealand, a fish which I have not heard of before. That was the only fish on the menu, how disappointing when the Apollo Bay fishing co op is their neighbour! I ordered slow roasted lamb shoulder @$42 and it came out poorly presented in a bowl, no flavour, it was stringy lamb and well below what you would expect at this top class restaurant. My wife had chicken with pomegranate and other spices which was delicious.
We were not charged for the lamb however disappointed as you are let down on expectations.
There are better alternatives in this area. Chef needs to get his mojo or Chris needs to get down in the kitchen and crack the whip.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank petergilmour3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2016

It is many many years since my husband and I have visited this restaurant, but we have never forgotten the wonderful meal we enjoyed on that occasion. We were revisiting with my husband's elderly parents. It was great to be able to stay together in one of the two bedroom apartments and to be able to walk across the carpark to the welcoming warm restaurant. The log heater was blazing as we were shown to our table. The restaurant was rebuilt following a fire, and the result is an architectural wonder. From our table we looked out to beautifully lit trees and we could see the full moon which was casting a silvery path across the ocean. The service was impeccable and the meal once again very memorable and of a very high standard, with surprise and delight features.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tempsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Dreadfully over rated. Sure the view is breathtaking but the food and service are lousy. Buy a cup of coffee instead - enjoy the view and leave

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

For $295 (discounted from $330) per night we were very disappointed with the King Room villa. It was tired, furniture run down, very basic features, no sound system, it was cold on arrival, and would not return.

The view is great but you get the same view elsewhere.

The restaurant was much better. Eat there but find somewhere else to stay.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Chris's Beacon Point Restaurant & Villas also viewed

 

Been to Chris's Beacon Point Restaurant & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.