We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jill N
Burnie, Australia
Actual comfort and quiet, in central George Town
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Mar 2020
The Phoenix Room made my visit to George Town so much more enjoyable, by providing a safe, quiet, very comfortable retreat overnight.

Gated accommodation with all of the comforts of home - Netflix, air con/heat pump, recliners, full kitchen, and all exceptionally clean. Everything you could need, just bring your suitcase and food.

Lovely hosts in Maureen & Raj. Definitely recommend, and will return again.
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
AU$142
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$118
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
0.1 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family 3 double and single beds
Booking.com
AU$145
  • Priceline
    AU$145
  • Agoda.com
    AU$145
  • Vio.com
    AU$145
0.1 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$172
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$172
  • Expedia.com
    AU$174
  • Hotels.com
    AU$183
2.9 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private fire pits next to the water for each encampment at Wingtons Glamping
Booking.com
AU$250
  • Priceline
    AU$250
  • Agoda.com
    AU$250
  • eDreams
    AU$250
2.6 km from The Charles Robbins
Free parking
This is the most amazingly beautiful picture of mum & baby wombat outside their burrow
Booking.com
AU$185
  • Agoda.com
    AU$185
  • eDreams
    AU$185
  • Expedia.com
3.8 km from The Charles Robbins
Pool
Beauty Point Tourist Park
Booking.com
AU$159
  • Priceline
    AU$159
  • Expedia.com
    AU$145
  • Hotels.com
    AU$159
4.3 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
view over pilot station
Booking.com
AU$216
  • Priceline
    AU$216
  • Agoda.com
    AU$216
  • eDreams
    AU$216
5.3 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$142
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
  • Vio.com
    AU$130
  • ZenHotels.com
5.6 km from The Charles Robbins
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
AU$245
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$245
  • Expedia.com
    AU$226
  • Hotels.com
    AU$238
10.2 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$474
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$474
16.6 km from The Charles Robbins
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
79
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
79
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect hosts across the road home away from home comfortable bed great facilities enjoyed our stay raj maureen robins tasmania accommodation woolies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2020

Great apartment with everything that you could need ( even has a sauna), Raj is a fantastic host who goes above and beyond to make you comfortable. Everything you need in one apartment we were very comfortable and able to relax.

Room tip: Can be a little difficult to find but across from the Woolies.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaureenG490, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2020

Thanks very much. Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2019

Wonderful attention to every need of the traveller. Spacious luxury for a reasonable cost. We loved being in the town, yet on the bay and close to the area highlights. Can highly recommend for a relaxing stay.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brianrf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2019 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at The Charles Robbins.Very central,great facilities,spotlessly clean and Maureen and Raj great very caring hosts.
Recommend the nearby penguin tour as a great thing to see too.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank X7788YBgarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaureenG490, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2019

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay.Thank you for your review. Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2019

My wife and I stayed at The Charles Robbins from the 14.07.19 to 21.07.19 and once again had a wonderful time. Previously we had stayed in the Tom Thumb suite which we love but this time we were offered the Integrity suite which we thought we would give a try. Integrity is a great suite with plenty of space and first class accessories.
We travelled from England and had a really welcoming reception from our hosts Maureen and Raj when we arrived. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We had food and drink in our suite, which came as standard and extra gifts. This suite has a large amount of space , with a sitting room, kitchen and dining room in one, a double bedroom with extra bed, a bathroom with a large spa bath, shower and toilet and a pamper room! The pamper room has a massage chair with foot spa and mood lighting. I loved this feature and certainly made use of it. There is a toilet and walk in shower in this room. There are fitted bars to help if balance is a problem and a seat in the shower. The accommodation is really clean. The spa bath and plug are sterilised between each guest. There is a washing machine plus tumble drier just outside the room in the hall which was very useful and the site offers secure, gated parking.
We can highly recommend the Integrity suite and The Charles Robbins as it is the perfect place to unwind after spending the day exploring Tasmania and once again Maureen and Raj were the perfect hosts making us feel so welcome. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaureenG490, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2019

What a pleasure it is for us to have such wonderful guests return to The Charles Robbins. Maureen & Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2019

I travel for business and have lots of favourite places that I prefer. Launceston was nearly fully booked due to the annual Agfest Farm field days so I looked a little further away and found this gem.
First I read many reviews, all were great, I emailed Maureen and asked if there was room for my Landcruiser with large trailer, the "yes" was the first step.
Reviews mentioned comfortable beds, that was the second step with a big tick.
The arrival was as expected but more, there is so much to offer , Raj guided me through all of the features one by one.
The free items: many bottles of water, ample pods for the coffee maker and more.
The fully equipped kitchen has oven, induction hotplate, microwave, washing machine and a huge amount of cutlery .
This apartment was named the Phoenix and had two recliner lounges, small dining table, all in a large room with the kitchen. It has quality Panasonic split systems in both rooms.
The bathroom has all of the great features such as fluffy towels and quality everywhere. Then there is also an infrared Sauna, complete with radio.
Wine is low priced as per bottle shops and even a flask of Port, complete with an invitation to sample it gratis.
The location is just off the main street and a very quiet location.
I appreciate that Raj and Maureen have placed lots of detail into the Five Suites and believe that this wonderful place will have me return as soon as my business travels allow.

Room tip: All good, choose from Spa or Sauna suites
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B1RD1EMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaureenG490, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2019

Many thanks John for your comprehensive review - perhaps the most comprehensive in the 15 years since we established our business.It's much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews