We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Gary S
Brisbane, Australia

Best place in town

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Nov 2019via mobile
Really enjoyed our stay at The Charles Robbins.Very central,great facilities,spotlessly clean and Maureen and Raj great very caring hosts.
Recommend the nearby penguin tour as a great thing to see too.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaureenG490, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review
Responded 24 Nov 2019
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay.Thank you for your review. Maureen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
AU$130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$118
  • Priceline
    AU$130
0.1 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$161
  • Hotels.com
2.9 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$160
  • eDreams
    AU$160
23.7 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$189
  • Expedia.com
    AU$208
  • Hotels.com
    AU$191
  • Priceline
24.0 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$172
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$161
  • Trip.com
25.6 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$200
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    AU$200
  • Vio.com
26.3 km from The Charles Robbins
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
39.7 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
45.5 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
46.2 km from The Charles Robbins
Free parking
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
79
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
79
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect hosts across the road home away from home comfortable bed great facilities enjoyed our stay raj maureen robins tasmania accommodation woolies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2019

My wife and I stayed at The Charles Robbins from the 14.07.19 to 21.07.19 and once again had a wonderful time. Previously we had stayed in the Tom Thumb suite which we love but this time we were offered the Integrity suite which we thought we would give a try. Integrity is a great suite with plenty of space and first class accessories.
We travelled from England and had a really welcoming reception from our hosts Maureen and Raj when we arrived. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We had food and drink in our suite, which came as standard and extra gifts. This suite has a large amount of space , with a sitting room, kitchen and dining room in one, a double bedroom with extra bed, a bathroom with a large spa bath, shower and toilet and a pamper room! The pamper room has a massage chair with foot spa and mood lighting. I loved this feature and certainly made use of it. There is a toilet and walk in shower in this room. There are fitted bars to help if balance is a problem and a seat in the shower. The accommodation is really clean. The spa bath and plug are sterilised between each guest. There is a washing machine plus tumble drier just outside the room in the hall which was very useful and the site offers secure, gated parking.
We can highly recommend the Integrity suite and The Charles Robbins as it is the perfect place to unwind after spending the day exploring Tasmania and once again Maureen and Raj were the perfect hosts making us feel so welcome. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaureenG490, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2019

What a pleasure it is for us to have such wonderful guests return to The Charles Robbins. Maureen & Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2019

I travel for business and have lots of favourite places that I prefer. Launceston was nearly fully booked due to the annual Agfest Farm field days so I looked a little further away and found this gem.
First I read many reviews, all were great, I emailed Maureen and asked if there was room for my Landcruiser with large trailer, the "yes" was the first step.
Reviews mentioned comfortable beds, that was the second step with a big tick.
The arrival was as expected but more, there is so much to offer , Raj guided me through all of the features one by one.
The free items: many bottles of water, ample pods for the coffee maker and more.
The fully equipped kitchen has oven, induction hotplate, microwave, washing machine and a huge amount of cutlery .
This apartment was named the Phoenix and had two recliner lounges, small dining table, all in a large room with the kitchen. It has quality Panasonic split systems in both rooms.
The bathroom has all of the great features such as fluffy towels and quality everywhere. Then there is also an infrared Sauna, complete with radio.
Wine is low priced as per bottle shops and even a flask of Port, complete with an invitation to sample it gratis.
The location is just off the main street and a very quiet location.
I appreciate that Raj and Maureen have placed lots of detail into the Five Suites and believe that this wonderful place will have me return as soon as my business travels allow.

Room tip: All good, choose from Spa or Sauna suites
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B1RD1EMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaureenG490, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2019

Many thanks John for your comprehensive review - perhaps the most comprehensive in the 15 years since we established our business.It's much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2019

We stayed in the Tom Thumb King Spa Suite and it was lovely. Fully equipped kitchen with lots of little extras like the coffee machine and mini-bar (at supermarket prices, not over-priced). Beautiful bathroom with lots of devine extras. BBQ and outdoor setting on the patio and inside two super comfy recliner rockers to sit, relax watch TV or just chill. And the bed, huge king with beautiful sheets and it was so super comfortable we slept in the first day. Good location around from the main street and hotels, shops restaurants and a supermarket directly over the road if you want to just cook in the room. River on the other side. We thoroughly enjoyed it and George Town was a nice spot to base ourselves to explore the area. Maureen and Raj are lovely hosts. Thank you.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaureenG490, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2019

Many thanks. We agree, George Town is a great base for further exploration - especially of the Tamar region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Wonderful clean, modern self contained units with friendly hosts. Beautiful views to the river/cove with a walking track out the front. Quiet place with a super comfy mattress. Very well priced. All the mod cons. Supermarket and bottle shop across the road. Go fishing go for a walk and use this as your base you won’t be disappointed. Very highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tillari
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2018

It was a pleasure to stay at The Charles Robbins, beautiful apartment I highly recommend it and will certainly put it on my list to stay again when in the North of the state. The rooms are very comfortable with attention to detail.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpendlebury2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews