We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
B1RD1EMelbourne
Melbourne, Australia

A World Traveller Finds Another Home

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 May 2019
I travel for business and have lots of favourite places that I prefer. Launceston was nearly fully booked due to the annual Agfest Farm field days so I looked a little further away and found this gem.
First I read many reviews, all were great, I emailed Maureen and asked if there was room for my Landcruiser with large trailer, the "yes" was the first step.
Reviews mentioned comfortable beds, that was the second step with a big tick.
The arrival was as expected but more, there is so much to offer , Raj guided me through all of the features one by one.
The free items: many bottles of water, ample pods for the coffee maker and more.
The fully equipped kitchen has oven, induction hotplate, microwave, washing machine and a huge amount of cutlery .
This apartment was named the Phoenix and had two recliner lounges, small dining table, all in a large room with the kitchen. It has quality Panasonic split systems in both rooms.
The bathroom has all of the great features such as fluffy towels and quality everywhere. Then there is also an infrared Sauna, complete with radio.
Wine is low priced as per bottle shops and even a flask of Port, complete with an invitation to sample it gratis.
The location is just off the main street and a very quiet location.
I appreciate that Raj and Maureen have placed lots of detail into the Five Suites and believe that this wonderful place will have me return as soon as my business travels allow.
Date of stay: May 2019
Room Tip: All good, choose from Spa or Sauna suites
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaureenG490, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review
Responded 8 May 2019
Many thanks John for your comprehensive review - perhaps the most comprehensive in the 15 years since we established our business.It's much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
39.7 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
45.5 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
46.2 km from The Charles Robbins
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
42.6 km from The Charles Robbins
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
45.0 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
44.9 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
39.2 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
79
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
79
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect hosts across the road home away from home comfortable bed great facilities enjoyed our stay raj maureen robins tasmania accommodation woolies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2019

We stayed in the Tom Thumb King Spa Suite and it was lovely. Fully equipped kitchen with lots of little extras like the coffee machine and mini-bar (at supermarket prices, not over-priced). Beautiful bathroom with lots of devine extras. BBQ and outdoor setting on the patio and inside two super comfy recliner rockers to sit, relax watch TV or just chill. And the bed, huge king with beautiful sheets and it was so super comfortable we slept in the first day. Good location around from the main street and hotels, shops restaurants and a supermarket directly over the road if you want to just cook in the room. River on the other side. We thoroughly enjoyed it and George Town was a nice spot to base ourselves to explore the area. Maureen and Raj are lovely hosts. Thank you.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaureenG490, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2019

Many thanks. We agree, George Town is a great base for further exploration - especially of the Tamar region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Wonderful clean, modern self contained units with friendly hosts. Beautiful views to the river/cove with a walking track out the front. Quiet place with a super comfy mattress. Very well priced. All the mod cons. Supermarket and bottle shop across the road. Go fishing go for a walk and use this as your base you won’t be disappointed. Very highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tillari
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2018

It was a pleasure to stay at The Charles Robbins, beautiful apartment I highly recommend it and will certainly put it on my list to stay again when in the North of the state. The rooms are very comfortable with attention to detail.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpendlebury2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2018

How good is this!
As you settle into your luxurious suite at The Charles Robbins Hotel in George Town Tasmania you will find yourself smiling and saying ”How good is this!”
The exquisite attention to detail dedicated to every suite by your on site hosts Maureen and Raj will leave you with nothing to do but relax. Your home away from home! Such is the attention to detail that you will want for nothing; it’s all at your finger tips! From the fully equipped kitchen to the beautifully appointed bathroom all with a myriad of personal touches.
For the corporate traveller like myself, The Charles Robbins is a gem I so look forward to for my return visits, nothing to organise when I arrive, just relax in a comfortable armchair and plan the next day’s work activities.
For peace of mind, The Charles Robbins is a fully gated complex combined with a state of the art surveillance system for your security. Relax in your immaculately maintained spa bath and de-stress for a little while.
If you’re touring Tasmania, The Charles Robbins is the perfect location to base yourself to go exploring the spectacular Northeast Tasmania and Tamar Valley areas.
Do yourself a relaxing favour and go visit The Charles Robbins! But oh, make sure you book in well in advance as you wouldn’t want to miss out. Now that would not be relaxing!
The Charles Robbins Hotel in George Town Tasmania.
How good is this!
Warren B.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WarrenB2018Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2018

We have traveled to George Town on business many times without previously discovering The Charles Robbins boutique self-contained, fully appointed apartments.
Located in the center of town, The Charles Robbins offers a choice of exquisitely furnished apartments and amenities that we considered were second to none, having previously stayed in a number of accommodation options in George Town over the years.Our stay was a delightful and rewarding experience that we have no hesitation in highly recommending to any discerning traveler
We take this opportunity to thank our friendly hosts, Raj and Maureen, for their attention to detail to ensure our stay and experience was first class.
Ian and Regina

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 787ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews