We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Barry T
Brisbane, Australia

Very Special, Luxury Accommodation when Visiting the Tamar Valley.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Jan 2019
We stayed in the Tom Thumb King Spa Suite and it was lovely. Fully equipped kitchen with lots of little extras like the coffee machine and mini-bar (at supermarket prices, not over-priced). Beautiful bathroom with lots of devine extras. BBQ and outdoor setting on the patio and inside two super comfy recliner rockers to sit, relax watch TV or just chill. And the bed, huge king with beautiful sheets and it was so super comfortable we slept in the first day. Good location around from the main street and hotels, shops restaurants and a supermarket directly over the road if you want to just cook in the room. River on the other side. We thoroughly enjoyed it and George Town was a nice spot to base ourselves to explore the area. Maureen and Raj are lovely hosts. Thank you.
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaureenG490, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review
Responded 8 May 2019
Many thanks. We agree, George Town is a great base for further exploration - especially of the Tamar region.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    AU$130
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$117
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
0.1 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private fire pits next to the water for each encampment at Wingtons Glamping
Booking.com
AU$250
  • Priceline
    AU$250
  • eDreams
    AU$250
  • Agoda.com
    AU$250
2.6 km from The Charles Robbins
Free parking
Priceline
AU$245
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    AU$245
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
10.2 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$189
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$191
  • Priceline
    AU$189
  • Expedia.com
    AU$191
24.0 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$165
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$172
  • Agoda.com
    AU$151
  • Expedia.com
    AU$171
25.6 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
39.7 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
45.5 km from The Charles Robbins
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
46.2 km from The Charles Robbins
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
42.6 km from The Charles Robbins
Free parking
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
79
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
79
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect hosts across the road home away from home comfortable bed great facilities enjoyed our stay raj maureen robins tasmania accommodation woolies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Wonderful clean, modern self contained units with friendly hosts. Beautiful views to the river/cove with a walking track out the front. Quiet place with a super comfy mattress. Very well priced. All the mod cons. Supermarket and bottle shop across the road. Go fishing go for a walk and use this as your base you won’t be disappointed. Very highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tillari
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2018

It was a pleasure to stay at The Charles Robbins, beautiful apartment I highly recommend it and will certainly put it on my list to stay again when in the North of the state. The rooms are very comfortable with attention to detail.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpendlebury2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2018

How good is this!
As you settle into your luxurious suite at The Charles Robbins Hotel in George Town Tasmania you will find yourself smiling and saying ”How good is this!”
The exquisite attention to detail dedicated to every suite by your on site hosts Maureen and Raj will leave you with nothing to do but relax. Your home away from home! Such is the attention to detail that you will want for nothing; it’s all at your finger tips! From the fully equipped kitchen to the beautifully appointed bathroom all with a myriad of personal touches.
For the corporate traveller like myself, The Charles Robbins is a gem I so look forward to for my return visits, nothing to organise when I arrive, just relax in a comfortable armchair and plan the next day’s work activities.
For peace of mind, The Charles Robbins is a fully gated complex combined with a state of the art surveillance system for your security. Relax in your immaculately maintained spa bath and de-stress for a little while.
If you’re touring Tasmania, The Charles Robbins is the perfect location to base yourself to go exploring the spectacular Northeast Tasmania and Tamar Valley areas.
Do yourself a relaxing favour and go visit The Charles Robbins! But oh, make sure you book in well in advance as you wouldn’t want to miss out. Now that would not be relaxing!
The Charles Robbins Hotel in George Town Tasmania.
How good is this!
Warren B.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WarrenB2018Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2018

We have traveled to George Town on business many times without previously discovering The Charles Robbins boutique self-contained, fully appointed apartments.
Located in the center of town, The Charles Robbins offers a choice of exquisitely furnished apartments and amenities that we considered were second to none, having previously stayed in a number of accommodation options in George Town over the years.Our stay was a delightful and rewarding experience that we have no hesitation in highly recommending to any discerning traveler
We take this opportunity to thank our friendly hosts, Raj and Maureen, for their attention to detail to ensure our stay and experience was first class.
Ian and Regina

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 787ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2018

We booked this accomodation through a tourist information centre. We wanted to stay in Launceston but as it was a long weekend and the AFL was on this was the closest they could get us for 2 couples. It was also the most expensive that we stayed at, $165 and $170 a night for 4 nights. We had 2 adjoining suites which were big and comfortable. The extra $5 a night seem to be for the fancy color-changing lights as we could see no other differences. While this was not a B&B some breakfast provisions were provided. As I said it was very comfortable and had lots of gadgets and things but there were some little things that let it down. For instance the small packets of cereal provided and the coffee satchels were out of use-by date ( the coffee over 12 months). I went to use the music system, it would not work and when I went to check the battery in the remote the battery was corroded to the extent that I doubt that the remote would work even with a new battery. Our friend went to use the Iron and it splatted rusty water, fortunately, on to the ironing board. Obviously water had been left in the iron for some time. When you are providing luxury accommodation these things should be checked.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trevor-Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews