We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
144
132
31
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
144
132
31
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom bungalow blow hole washing machine the kitchen great for families a great stay quiet location stayed here for one night canoe blowhole frame playground accommodation penguins motel chalet lookout
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2019

We stayed one night in an A frame in Bicheno by the Bay. The unit was beautiful, well equipped, tastefully decorated and large. The bed was very comfortable . The location is very close to the sea. Quiet location helpful staff. We wished we had stayed longer and used Bicheno and Bicheno by the bay as our base for a few days.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciliaB349
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ro S, Manager at Bicheno by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2019

The deposit taken from my credit card on booking was greater than that advised by my booking site. We were a party of four older people, one couple and two women all from different countries. As such, I deliberately only looked at accommodation with one queen and either two singles or an additional two bedrooms. Here, I chose a two bedroom chalet with two singles in the second room - all that showed available on the booking site I chose. On arrival we were given a chalet (with steep narrow internal stairs) with two queen beds. Back at reception I was told the booking site had not notified them of our requirements (despite my pointing out that was all they had available) and that adults only want queen beds and the singles are required for children. If we had wanted single beds we should have booked directly with them and requested that. She said it would have been cheaper, but I had checked that prior to booking and found it not to be the case because of the discount I received. Nevertheless we had fortunately arrived early enough to be able to swap our chalet for another where the tenants, who had not yet arrived, had only one child. This site was actually better with a flat entrance and no stairs. The chalet had a kitchen with a full sized fridge and cook top and plenty of utensils. It also had a balcony with table and chairs and was set in the bush. The decor was old and basic (not as pictured in the advertising with Scandinavian style wood panels) The toilet was separate from the bathroom but had a wonky door. The heating for the unit was set on 28 degrees which I felt was too high so turned it down to 22. However this was insufficient so I kept turning it up until it reached 28 and even then it was still far too cold in the evening, heating only one small corner of the lounge. We just used our coats until we went to bed (which was comfortable and warm) In the morning we discovered that the refrigerator had been set on medium. All our food and drink had frozen solid. We had to throw out our salad ingredients and fruit - then keep our bread and chicken to thaw as we travelled and make sandwiches when we were ready for lunch. I told the receptionist when I handed in the key - she said it was surprising as the fridge had been defrosted just prior to our arrival (there was a build up of ice in the freezer section when we were there) There was no apology. If you have children there was a swimming pool which would be good for them.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Adrianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 April 2019

Nice quirky accommodation with fabulous views of the blowhole. Proximity to town was excellent so we could walk in for dinner and back easily. Beach and the rocks were all close by and facilities were excellent. Will come back here for longer than one night next time.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank V3226AUcindyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ro S, Manager at Bicheno by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2019

Stayed for 1 night very basic chalet.Would have been nice years ago but need to be updated. The good thing was it was nice and quiet. Over priced for what you get.My advice would be drive a bit further to St Helens much nicer and better accommodation.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milly1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ro S, Manager at Bicheno by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2019

Dear Milly1224,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are in the process of renovating some of the bungalows, this unfortunately is a timely process and cant all be done at once. We do hope that you will consider visiting again to see what improvements we have made.

Kind Regards,
Bicheno By The Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2019 via mobile

This is really good to see. Probably best seen at high tide. Easy to get to also. Was popular when we were there. You were able to get close to the blow hole to take good photos which was really helpful. Recommend going to see.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 284debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ro S, Manager at Bicheno by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2019

Dear Deb S,
Thank you for your review. The blow hole is definitely a must see whilst in Bicheno, I would agree that you can get some amazing images from here.

Kind Regards,
Bicheno By The Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews