We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ZenHotels.com
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
144
132
31
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
144
132
31
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom bungalow blow hole washing machine the kitchen great for families a great stay quiet location stayed here for one night canoe blowhole frame playground accommodation penguins motel chalet lookout
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2018

The cottages were as pretty/unique looking as the photos on this site had depicted - each of the cottages were decently spaced apart so it's never too noisy but visiting other cottages weren't such a long walk. We had 6 travelers in our group, sharing 3 cottages. Each were well furbished and very tidy. The facilities were also great - aircon, big TV, fridge, kitchen utensils and equipment. What exceeded our expectation was the location - it's only a 6-10 min walk to the main streets where there are some restaurants, and only a 5 min walk down to the coast / 10 min walk to the Bicheno Blowhole. It's a really nice view, especially at sunrise/sunset. The red/yellow rocks against the blue coastline make for some really nice photos.

Room tip: All the cottages are decently spaced apart from each other, and about the same distance from the road so it's never too noisy.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cartographie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ro S, Manager at Bicheno by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Dear Cartographie,

Thank you for your amazing review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that you will visit us again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2018 via mobile

Nicely located near the beach. Accommodation was peculiar - old and in need of maintenance. The stairs were very difficult to navigate as they were narrow and very steep. Short walk down to the ocean was the highlight

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Oscarsmith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ro S, Manager at Bicheno by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2019

Dear Oscarsmith7,

Thank you for your review and feedback. Yes our property is different, but this is what a lot of people love about it. I would love to know which bungalow you stayed in so that we can have a look at the stairs to make sure there are no further issues, if you could kindly contact me directly at info@bichenobythebay.com.au.

We do hope that you will visit us again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018

I've been here before but this was the 1st time with the current owners. The room was comfortable, everything worked and it overlooked a little pond with ducks (and a passing chicken). Wallabies wonder through the grounds and, yes, the penguins are close by. It's a short walk into town, and Bicheno is close to the road to Freycinet National Park. I'd be happy to come back soon.

Room tip: The cabins are really nice for larger groups but the motel rooms by the pond were fine for a single traveller.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank label2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ro S, Manager at Bicheno by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Dear Label2018,

Wow thank you so much for your amazing review. We have been working hard to make sure all of our guests have an enjoyable stay. We are happy that you got to see our ducks and random chicken who makes an interesting friend for the ducks, and all the other wildlife that visits our property. We hope that you have a lovely Christmas and that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018

We stayed in a standalone two storey villa named "Castaway" but "Wilson" was nowhere to be seen though. The car space was right outside the front door. One bedroom, shower and toilet on the ground floor with the other two bedrooms, living room and kitchen upstairs. Carrying bags to the two bedrooms upstairs was slightly inconvenient. With additional bathroom and separate toilet upstairs, it was perfect for our party of 5 adults. Located on high ground close to the coastline we had a good view of the ocean from the upstairs balcony. It was cold and windy outside but the air conditioning indoors kept us comfortable indoors. The property had the convenience of a washer but no dryer. Kitchen facilities were good. TV reception and complimentary WiFi was good. Conveniently located near the town for food supplies and the Bicheno blowhole attraction.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank philiplo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ro S, Manager at Bicheno by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Dear philiplo2016,

Thank you for your amazing review. The team and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in Castaway, sorry that Wilson was absent on this day ;). We are delighted that the bungalow had everything that you needed for your stay with us and hope that you will visit us again.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2018

Room was quite nice, bed was very comfortable, had everything we needed for our 1 night stay. Not a whole lot to do around there when the weather is no good, as others have mentioned town is pretty shut up by 8PM.
The rain seemed to make more noise than normal falling on the roof, possibly due to little insulation in the roof.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank danielmL3881HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ro S, Manager at Bicheno by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Dear danielmL3881HH,

Thank you for your lovely review, the team and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed your visit to Tasmania, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews