We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Susan B
Hendersonville, North Carolina

Incredible accommodations and food

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Apr 2024
Stranraer Homestead is a beautifully restored and kept historic home, and Lyn, the host, is a truly extraordinary chef. Every dish was both delicious and beautifully presented. Very comfortable, interesting and scenic place to stay when visiting Kangaroo Island. Highly recommended!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Dolphin and Seal Spotting from the Balcony
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$156
  • Hotels.com
22.9 km from Stranraer Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
23.4 km from Stranraer Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
aurora ozone hotel kangaroo island External Flinders
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$222
  • Hotels.com
23.7 km from Stranraer Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
23.4 km from Stranraer Homestead
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
24.1 km from Stranraer Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kangaroo Island Accommodation - Reggie's Cottage, external
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
23.1 km from Stranraer Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
    23.8 km from Stranraer Homestead
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$122
    • Hotels.com
    67.4 km from Stranraer Homestead
    Free parking
    eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    24.4 km from Stranraer Homestead
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Algotels
    • Trip.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$204
    • StayForLong
    23.7 km from Stranraer Homestead
    View more hotels in Kingscote
    Reviews (176)
    Filter reviews
    176 results
    Traveller rating
    175
    1
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    175
    1
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews working sheep farm gracious hosts wonderful accommodations wonderful stay tour
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 176 reviews
    Reviewed 20 November 2023 via mobile

    Owners, Lyn and Graham, and their son Derek, made us feel right at home. Stranraer is a special place, made special by these three people. Lyn’s breakfasts and dinners were gourmet wonders. Cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our three days there!!

    Date of stay: November 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank jcharlesp2
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 November 2023 via mobile

    This was such a wonderful place to be on Kangaroo Island! Such a beautiful family and their home is so warm and welcoming. Lyn is a great cook and went above and beyond to meet our dietary needs. She has a very nice garden. I wish we could have spent more time on their farm and seen their sheep. Love their dogs too!

    Date of stay: November 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Connie F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 February 2023 via mobile

    We had an absolutely amazing stay at Stranraer. The most gracious hosts you will ever find, wonderful accommodations and AMAZING food! We could not have asked for more. Our bucket list trip was made even better! We finished our stay with a tour of Stranraer working sheep farm…surrounded by hundreds and hundreds of sheep!

    Date of stay: February 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank markmH4677GS
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 April 2020

    We visited Stranraer just after the wildfires of winter 2020, and amidst the early parts of the coronavirus pandemic. Our long planned vacation in Australia and NZ was cut short due to NZ closing its borders, and our need to bring our study abroad student home from Sydney. Suffice it to say, this was a very stressful time for what was supposed to be a dream family vacation. Lyn and Graham were AMAZING!!! Not only do they run a 1st class Homestead, with unbelievable gourmet breakfasts and dinners, they were also wonderful companions- with interesting history and stories to tell. Graham took us on an early morning tour of the sheep farm for some beautiful sunrise photos. Lyn helped us navigate the emotional aspects of getting our travel abroad daughter back to Sydney early to pack- providing both calming words of wisdom, arranging transportation and taking her to the airport herself. After 3 days they felt like family, and we hope someday to return. They are closed now for the season and due to the virus, but please we encourage anyone to GO VISIT KANGEROO ISLAND AND STRANRAER- an incredible experience!!! (i will add, there was plenty of wildlife to see as well including some kangaroos in the Homestead backyard)

    Date of stay: March 2020
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank jenniferg192
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 March 2020

    Cannot fault this place . Food was exceptional ,home cooked, breakfast and evening meal . All done by the owner. We were even taken out after dark to spot the kangaroos on the farm . Beautiful house, typical of Australian homes of a certain age, very interesting. Would love to return one day if it were possible.

    Date of stay: March 2020
    Thank Angjane
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews