We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
b.hpenney@bigpond.com
Adelaide, Australia

disappointing meal

Review of Bentleys Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Aug 2021
This is a great pub, with lovely furnishings and fit-out and a great atmosphere. The food let it down though. I always enjoy a great seafood platter and have had some very good ones at country pubs, but this was not one of them. The chips were lukewarm, the two small prawns under-cooked, the two small calamari rings good but the small fillet of fish over-cooked. A miserly serve compared with others I've had. Others had the Caesar salad and the marinated lamb salads, both of which were very good.
Date of stay: August 2021
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$179
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Bentleys Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
clare exterior sunset hi res
AU$220
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Bentleys Hotel
Free parking
Pool
General
AU$123
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Bentleys Hotel
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Bentleys Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Bentleys Hotel
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
6.1 km from Bentleys Hotel
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from Bentleys Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
2.3 km from Bentleys Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$480
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Bentleys Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
11.0 km from Bentleys Hotel
Free parking
View more hotels in Clare
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
15
30
16
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
30
16
5
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2020

This is one to pass by for pub lunches. Disinterested service all round coupled with tasteless battered Garfish that's more batter than fish. Forgetfulness and delays blamed on being busy in a dining room only a third full.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ratfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2020 via mobile

Just going to say when you book in two seperate large tables at the same time, you are setting the kitchen up to fail. We waited two hours for our meal. The bread rolls come out with the meal, they were an hour too late. They missed a meal in the group. There was a certain waitress that was rude and very sarcastic which was not appropriate, had to asked for more rolls as they did not bring enough for the number of people. I presume great for take away.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank D3259XBlindaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2020 via mobile

We went on a Wednesday night for the schnitzel special $12.90. The restaurant was packed and we were lucky to get a table.

We knew there would be a wait for our meal to arrive so selected a local wine from the very good wine list and sat back and enjoyed the outdoor deck and watched the world go by.

It did take 1hr and 15mins to get our dinner but we knew there would be a wait and the quality of the chicken schnitty was very good.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fairythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2020 via mobile

Average dinner spoilt by stale salad and cold chips. Good prices and range. Children’s meals $7 - good variety. Disappointing overall. Recommend you don’t have table water - it’s disgusting! Friendly staff.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Mizza17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2020 via mobile

Quick bite in the restaurant for dinner. Very affordable meals. We arrived during rush hour so had an hour wait until our meals were served. We ordered chicken schnitzel with chips and salad (yes, a breast!), lamb roast with vegetables and salt and pepper squid with rocket and pear salad. Meals costs <$15 per person. Good for those on a budget.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank gypsy_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews