We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
181
96
34
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
96
34
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue marlin top floor across the road one bedroom apartment minute walk the kitchen self catering ocean view apartment was clean a stones throw living area comfortable stay bbq area longer stay great apartments the managers convenience store
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2015

On The Beach is a beachfront mid-priced three storey apartment building comprising twenty self-contained units, all one bedroomed, all with balcony or patio, and covered parking. There is a small but pleasant pool with loungers and a couple of umbrellas but no shade sail, and nearby is a covered outdoor eating area with barbecue. The tropical gardens are beautifully maintained and nicely illuminated at night. The reception area is more than adequate and the on-site management team were helpful with our requests.

Across the busy promenade is the immaculate but steeply shelving Trinity Beach which is patrolled by life guards and has a stinger net in season. There are a number of eating establishments within a two minute walk and a comprehensive shopping centre is five minutes in the car. Trinity Beach is on the flight path to Cairns Airport so there is a constant procession of aircraft, varying from modest two seaters to lumbering passenger jets, flying low and slow on final approach. I don’t recall hearing any aircraft during the night.

We had booked a one- bedroom seafront apartment and on arrival were offered a choice of ground floor or third floor, we opted for the top floor although there is no lift. ”Our” apartment was spotlessly clean, well equipped, had obviously been well maintained and was generally as described on the website brochure. We were delighted to note our apartment was non smoking and moreover offered a “smoke free environment”, but were disappointed to find an ashtray on the balcony indicating smoking was okay in that area. Our worst fears were realised when after a short while cigarette smoke from a neighbour started to drift across our balcony and into our apartment. A discussion with the management confirmed that guests could smoke on the balconies and in fact our neighbour was an owner/resident so any house rules would not apply. They say they are working towards a totally smoke free establishment but it is difficult to see how that can be achieved with residents properties in the mix plus a further two apartments are for sale. In view of this we had no alternative but to spend the entire week without being able to use the balcony and had to keep all doors and windows closed. If you feel strongly about smoking then maybe On The Beach is not for you.

Room tip: There is no lift access so if stairs are a problem would advise to select a lower floor
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 44edmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Thank you for your lovely detailed review.

In regard to the smoking on balconies, unfortunately law doesn't permit us to prevent this in QLD (yet) however it is currently being reviewed in State legislation. I believe NSW has just passed this law so it can't be too long in the future.

In saying that, if the smoking was too much an issue for you, you really should have asked to be moved. As we always say... if you are not happy, then it is our role to turn that around.

Thank you again for taking the time to let others know about our Property. We would love to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Melissa - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

My family and I had a great relaxing week where we could unwind after visiting the hustle and bustle of Melbourne/Sydney. Great welcome from the owners, staff are very pleasant and accommodating. Thanks.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Relax. Unwind. Enjoy...that is our motto and it looks like we have lived up to that for you. Thank you for letting us know.

Kind regards
Melissa - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Right across the road from the swimming enclosure and the gorgeous beach, a very tidy property with good parking onsite. Lovely gardens. Nice comfortable apartment although the bathroom is a little dated. Great wardrobe space in the bedroom and a washing machine and dryer in the apartment. Quiet. Only negative comment was that the bathroom walls needed a good clean: management appreciated our comment and passed it onto housekeeping. Slow Wifi, but it was free!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808cojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Thank you for this Review.

I am glad we got onto your feedback whilst you were here and really appreciate being told these things during a visit. As we don't live in the apartments ourselves, small things can get missed, but easily resolved. We always welcome feedback and try to get it right on every occasion.

Kind regards
Melissa - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Have stayed here 4 times now. Love the location right across the road from the beach and close to the cafes and shops. Stayed in the Blue Marlin section of the property this time as required a 2 bedroom property. Only 6 apartments in this part of the property. Had free wifi and parking. Lovely balcony and ocean view. Would definitely stay there again.

Room tip: Blue Marlin property for 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartments.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cafeboy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have stayed here before. This is what we strive for and although we may not get it right on every occasion, we are constantly looking at ways we can improve not only our service, but the Product we offer.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Safe travels,
Melissa Speer - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

The apartaments have very good location, right on the beach. Also a specious parking for the car.

The place was worn down. Also we were suprised that they wanted us to throw away the garbage, otherwise they would charge us $50. I understand these are self contained apartments and washing the dishes is acceptable, but the I don't think the garbage should be our responsibility.
Furthermore, our room was not ready when we arrived, which was also fine, since we were early. But when my girlfriend asked to use the toilet, we were sent to a public toilet down the street to use! Later they told us the room was ready, but when we took our four(4!) suitcases on the third floor the door was open and there was some cleaning stuff there. We had to search for somebody to finish our room. We waited 15 more minutes!

Overall the place has a good location. The thing that it is worn down can be accepted, but the management and attitude to guest I think is quite poor.

Room tip: Ask for upper floor room.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PetrinK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

It is Reviews such as this which really confuse me. We go from the previous commenting..."The staff are super friendly and cannot do enough to make sure you enjoy your stay" to someone saying they were not able to use the onsite toilet, which is anything but 'super friendly'.

As the Manager, I can categorically say that had I have known you were a Guest, you would not have been sent to use the public toilet 200m along the beach. We have a toilet on site for Guests who are waiting and the only thing I can put this down to is that you came off the beach or from across the road and I didn't know you were staying with us. In any case, you have stated how you felt and I apologise for this, and for the way you say you were treated.

During what is our busiest time of year, we still do try to get Guests in early if they arrive early. The fact you were allowed to enter prior to the room being 100% completed - we will review this practice given it made you unhappy.

As for the apartment being 'worn down' I welcome further feedback from you. All of our apartments are AAA Tourism 4 Star Rated with the majority having been refurnished in the past 4 years. Again, this is really against the majority of our Reviews in the past 12 months - if you can let me know which apartment you stayed in and I can personally review it and contact the owner with some details.

Despite this being a 100% favorable Review, we still thank you for taking the time to submit the Review our Property. I am sorry we let you down and welcome the chance to discuss this further with you via email.

Regards
Melissa Speer - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews