We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rossco90
Melbourne, Australia

Lovely comfotable stay in Goondiwindi.

Review of Bronte House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Sept 2022via mobile
Bronte house is a lovely Edwardian house and has been carefully renovated. Marg gave us a very warm welcome and was happy to talk about the house and town with a few recommendations, she advised us to pop into the local Art deco cinema which was beautiful, we were given a quick tour by the manager. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the ensuite excellent. Marg made us an excellent breakfast the next morning. Wished we had stayed longer. Highly recommended.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$152
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$165
  • Priceline
    AU$165
  • Vio.com
    AU$165
0.6 km from Bronte House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$145
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$145
  • Hotels.com
    AU$145
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$144
0.8 km from Bronte House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family Room
eDreams
AU$145
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Lol.travel
0.6 km from Bronte House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
AU$178
  • Expedia.com
    AU$192
  • Hotels.com
    AU$200
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$199
1.2 km from Bronte House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$134
  • Agoda.com
    AU$123
  • Expedia.com
    AU$120
  • Hotels.com
    AU$126
1.0 km from Bronte House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$167
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$167
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$165
  • Hotels.com
    AU$167
0.6 km from Bronte House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mineral spa heated 36 degrees and swimming pool
Booking.com
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$175
  • Agoda.com
    AU$175
  • eDreams
    AU$175
2.3 km from Bronte House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$145
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$145
  • Hotels.com
    AU$145
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$144
0.4 km from Bronte House
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$150
  • Priceline
    AU$150
  • Agoda.com
    AU$150
  • Vio.com
    AU$150
1.5 km from Bronte House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$137
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$141
  • Priceline
    AU$149
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$148
3.8 km from Bronte House
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Goondiwindi
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
16
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
11
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2022 via mobile

Well, this is one of the best experiences my wife and I have ever had. First time in a B&B and boy, did we hit the jackpot. Firstly the host Margaret, the most lovely lady you could wish to meet. We were made so welcome from the moment we drove in! The room was fantastic, lovely bed, beautiful on suite, everything you would want! A lovely breakfast (mainly all fresh from the garden or home made, was a treat, as was the delightful conversations we had with Margaret. You can walk along the Macintyre River to town for a lovely pub meal. We went to the Victoria Hotel, lovely. Thank you Margaret for a lovely stay, we will be back if ever coming this way!!

Room tip: Parking on site.
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MalBates58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2021

Much as I like driving, ten hours and more on the road is too much. We needed a meal, a place to sleep, a power outlet to recharge our batteries, and something for the soul. Marg's B&B provided all but dinner, and she had good advice on our options in that direction. Everything else, it was just a matter of relaxing and letting our own inner batteries recharge.

The house is an old Queenslander, beautifully restored, full of charm and delight. For the accommodation, this is something no cookie-cutter motel can provide. High ceilings, generous rooms, Persian rugs, photographs of sweet grandchildren - and their artwork - on the walls.

And something you'll find in no hotel: the lounge room and the kitchen are one. Marge can prepare meals and chat with her guests, slice the morning fruit and watch the television. This is her house, she enjoys the company, she finds the buttons to help the tension of the day's drive drain away.

I'm sorry we didn't have more time to relax over a cup of something nice. There are table and chairs outside under cover to enjoy the stars, take in the evening air, enjoy the feeling of being in a peaceful part of Qieensland.

Breakfast was a delight. Generous, tasty, balanced, much of it home made, such as the freshly-squeezed orange juice. Served with elegance and charm.

I grew up in an old Queenslander house but it was never so tranquil, tidy, or clean in my family as this treasure.

Thank you, Margaret, for all your care and effort in providing far more than just a room for the night. Even out in the well-tended garden there was more to delight. I paused to watch a family of wrens enjoy the plants, bouncing amongst the leaves and flowers.

And we took to the road again in the morning, fully refreshed and glad to have been the guests of a happy and gracious host.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyring
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2021 via mobile

This was THE best,Marg is such a welcoming, warm host, we struck gold finding Bronte House. The room and ensuite was fabulous, the decor classic. We loved the comfy king bed, and the homemade breakfast served in the dining room was amazing. We loved every minute and wouldn't hesitate to go again, if not just to say hi to Marg! ♥️

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 556garrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2021

Stayed with Margaret just for a single night but we will definitely return for a longer stay. The house is delightful. We had the twin room - a comfortable room with lovely period decor, air conditioning, crisp bed linen and a small but beautiful ensuite bathroom. Margaret is a friendly and relaxed host and we enjoyed an evening chatting like old friends over a glass of wine on the verandah. Breakfast at the huge table also on the verandah was delicious and even a last minute notification of dietary needs didn’t phase Margaret. Thank you for a lovely stay

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2020 via mobile

The hotels and motels were all booked out when we arrived in Goondiwindi, but then we noticed a sign for Bronte House B & B. We rang and initially were told there was no room there. Thank heavens for caller ID, as a few minutes later Margaret rang back to say she had a cancellation and we had somewhere to stay! It took me back to when we were first married, over 4o years ago, and we used to stop in B&B’s on the drive from Canberra to Adelaide. Margaret is a very hospitable and thoughtful host. Our room was comfortable and spacious. Fortunately the en-suite bathroom was not a reminder of the old days! It is very modern and stylish. The breakfast spread and offerings were generous and the apricots were fresh off the tree in the backyard. Altogether a wonderful find.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews