We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rolling Surf Resort
Nearby Hotels
Moffat Beach Motel(Caloundra)(Great Value!)
USD 101*
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Oasis(Caloundra)
USD 161*
USD 130*
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 151*
USD 118*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 186*
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 273*
USD 251*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
City Centre Motel(Caloundra)(Great Value!)
USD 89*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Watermark Resort(Caloundra)(Great Value!)
USD 113*
USD 104*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Views Resort(Caloundra)(Great Value!)
USD 120*
USD 100*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gemini Resort(Caloundra)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
93
98
40
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
98
40
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings beachspa bathbedroom oceanfrontcoffee catbeachfront locationocean frontrooftop balconyhuge poolfish and chipstop floorpatrolled beachsmall gymgames roompool sidesmall balconyspent a weekbed unit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We spent a very relaxing holiday at Rolling Surf and rate the location as superb, very suitable for families to visit the resort, cafes, walkways, park, and of course the surf, metres from the resort all within walking distance safe from cars and heavy traffic. Our children loved the pool (half the length heated) which is close to the apartments. Well appointed, comfortable clean rooms and the staff were friendly and courteous and I appreciated the reception girls helping me out with driving directions. We also enjoyed a fun day out at nearby Aussie World!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia04_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have just spent a week at Rolling Surf in a balcony access to the pool room....perfect for the kids and perfect for us to watch them without them being too far away. Great access to Kings Beach and eateries. Chloe at reception was always there to offer her assistance and friendly smile whenever we passed through the office or had an enquiry. All the Staff in general were very friendly and very helpful. Apartment was very clean and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The Rolling Surf is an awesome spot, right on King's Beach. There's nothing better than relaxing by the ocean with no sounds except the wind and the ocean.

Having grown up in Caloundra and remembering the old Rolling Surf Hotel (we used to go there for Buffet lunches on special occasions), I was very keen to check out the reincarnation of this iconic resort.

The resort is literally metres from the beach and has a fantastic pool if the ocean is a bit rough. However, the architect needs to be shot. If you need pram access (it's a family resort so the likelihood is quite high), it's a real nightmare. Even to get to the lifts you have to negotiate multiple sets of steps and awkward doors. It's almost impossible if you're by yourself with a child in a pram. If you need a wheelchair, forget it!

The unit we stayed in was reasonably clean (although I had to scrub a few pans before using), had a comfortable bed (but it was on wheels and kept moving) and had great views. Be aware that not all the apartments have good views. They provided a port-a-cot for our baby. We also had use of a roof top area but it was unusable do to lack of shade.

The weird thing was that despite paying a lot of money for our rental during peak season, they were very tight about things like towels and soaps. We were provided with small thin towels for the bathroom. No beachtowels were provided. Additional towels cost extra. For some reason they were also rationing those little soaps that you get.

Overall, we had a good holiday but I'll probably stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: There are 3 buildings. One of them is behind the other two and therefore has worse views. Some apartments have good views looking between the buildings in front.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben_of_Christchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thanks for your review ben_of_christchurch. We always appreciate guests feedback of the resort.

Reception isn’t the only way out of the resort; we do also have access to the street from the ground level which is great for prams, bikes and wheelchairs.

In the poolside building, we do not advertise full ocean views. However they have partial views of varying degrees.

Like most resorts, we have set quantities of linen and consumables that go into our apartments. Any extras are at a reasonable cost to guests.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The location is great with regards to the proximity to the beach but it is remote from shopping and you will need a car. Overall the facilities were fine. Having three kids we spent a lot of time in the pool. It was a fantastic size and having half of it heated was great. The only problem is it was dirty. For example for 7 days some toilet paper floated round in the deep pool. I also didn't enjoy the beds. So the two things I spent most time in I felt could be improved. Overall I was satisfied but can't rate my stay any higher than "average".

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Madmaso1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Thank you for your review Madmass1234. We always appreciate guest’s feedback about their stay and the resort. We are glad to hear you had a great a time using the facilities at the resort.

Here at the Rolling Surf we have one of the largest swimming pools for accommodation establishments on the Sunshine Coast and due to its size, falls under the stringent Queensland Health’s swimming and spa pool water quality and operational guidelines.

The day before guests depart a notice is placed under apartment doors. On this notice there is an allocated place where we encourage guest feedback. We do not have record of your departure notice on file therefore we did not know your thoughts on the beds; which is a shame as without such feedback we cannot rectify any issues.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Absolutley loved the rolling surf,lovely location,wonderful welcome by Chloe at reception.
From the moment we walked into our two bedroom apartment we were blown away.
It was very clean and trendy,the spa bath is perfectly located off the lounge so you can actually see the water views when the shutters are open.(the kids loved it soo much we hardly got to use it..)We were pleasantly Surprised with the rooftop amenities which included a sauna,spa and barbecue area also with rooftop ocean views.We spent much of our time up there.You really didn't have to leave or want to,What a bonus...
At night we were treated to an amazing view of kings beach it was magical.
My husband and I take our hat off to John Bourke and Anne Fredericks the resident managers they were very accommodating,warm, welcoming and genuinely nice people who love what they do.They were very informative of any questions regarding 'what to do and see'.
The resort is very well maintained at the highest level. One of the maintenance gentle men we got to chat with 'Miles' was very pleasant and done everything with a smile in fact it was that infectious it seemed every staff member had a smile on their face which is a clear indication of great management.
We had booked the apartment online for three nights as we had to attend a 21st But we loved the place sooo much we extended our stay for two more nights our children were exstatic.
The children (teenagers) loved the games room and pool downstairs with the portals that if you dove down deep enough you could see through to the gym and reception the lights changing at night in the pool gave it a warm and exciting feeling..
The fish and chips were a clear favourite after a swim at the pool or beach each evening from the take away at the front of the resort entry.
We have stayed at many family resorts the last 15 years and the rolling surf is at the top of our list.I don't write reviews about where we have stayed because there is always something that goes wrong ie the pictures in the brochure are nicer than the actaul place,staff are snobbs,location is dreadful or its just not family friendly well the rolling surf is none of any of them.
Also this being a non smoking resort is perfect there is nothing worse than waking up and smelling some one elses smoke what more could you ask for.the beach is a 100 metres away plenty of open air for those that do smoke.
We have already suggested to many family and friends from Australia and New Zealand to stay here in fact our eldest daughter and partner are already planning their next stay here and so are we.
Keep up the good work John and Anne we look forward to spending more time at our favourite holiday spot..
Lucille and Stuart

Room Tip: Rooftop apartments have a lovely open barbecue area you'll love it...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucille b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews