We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Xmas 2011 - great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rolling Surf Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Kings Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Xmas 2011 - great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

My partner and I, and my 86 year old mother stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 5 nites and we were very pleased with the accommodation, facilities & location. The unit was very spacious, clean and well priced for the Xmas period. The main bedroom had an ensuite, plus a spa bath in the room. My mother stayed in the sunroom on a double sofa bed and she had a lovely view of the ocean with lots of windows and sunlite during the day. Kitchen was well appointed and main bathroom included laundry facilities. Our unit was on ground floor and we had a courtyard with easy access to the street on the southern end of the resort. Kings Beach was quite rough during our stay because of the weather conditions. Enjoyed our walks to Kings Beach headland and south to Bulcock Beach. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Best to see reception and have a look at a room before you book to check which outlook you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheenabribieisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    86
    35
    18
    12
See reviews for
142
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elanora
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We spent a very relaxing holiday at Rolling Surf and rate the location as superb, very suitable for families to visit the resort, cafes, walkways, park, and of course the surf, metres from the resort all within walking distance safe from cars and heavy traffic. Our children loved the pool (half the length heated) which is close to the apartments. Well appointed, comfortable clean rooms and the staff were friendly and courteous and I appreciated the reception girls helping me out with driving directions. We also enjoyed a fun day out at nearby Aussie World!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia04_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have just spent a week at Rolling Surf in a balcony access to the pool room....perfect for the kids and perfect for us to watch them without them being too far away. Great access to Kings Beach and eateries. Chloe at reception was always there to offer her assistance and friendly smile whenever we passed through the office or had an enquiry. All the Staff in general were very friendly and very helpful. Apartment was very clean and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

The Rolling Surf is an awesome spot, right on King's Beach. There's nothing better than relaxing by the ocean with no sounds except the wind and the ocean.

Having grown up in Caloundra and remembering the old Rolling Surf Hotel (we used to go there for Buffet lunches on special occasions), I was very keen to check out the reincarnation of this iconic resort.

The resort is literally metres from the beach and has a fantastic pool if the ocean is a bit rough. However, the architect needs to be shot. If you need pram access (it's a family resort so the likelihood is quite high), it's a real nightmare. Even to get to the lifts you have to negotiate multiple sets of steps and awkward doors. It's almost impossible if you're by yourself with a child in a pram. If you need a wheelchair, forget it!

The unit we stayed in was reasonably clean (although I had to scrub a few pans before using), had a comfortable bed (but it was on wheels and kept moving) and had great views. Be aware that not all the apartments have good views. They provided a port-a-cot for our baby. We also had use of a roof top area but it was unusable do to lack of shade.

The weird thing was that despite paying a lot of money for our rental during peak season, they were very tight about things like towels and soaps. We were provided with small thin towels for the bathroom. No beachtowels were provided. Additional towels cost extra. For some reason they were also rationing those little soaps that you get.

Overall, we had a good holiday but I'll probably stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: There are 3 buildings. One of them is behind the other two and therefore has worse views. Some apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben_of_Christchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thanks for your review ben_of_christchurch. We always appreciate guests feedback of the resort.

Reception isn’t the only way out of the resort; we do also have access to the street from the ground level which is great for prams, bikes and wheelchairs.

In the poolside building, we do not advertise full ocean views. However they have partial views of varying degrees.

Like most resorts, we have set quantities of linen and consumables that go into our apartments. Any extras are at a reasonable cost to guests.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

The location is great with regards to the proximity to the beach but it is remote from shopping and you will need a car. Overall the facilities were fine. Having three kids we spent a lot of time in the pool. It was a fantastic size and having half of it heated was great. The only problem is it was dirty. For example for 7 days some toilet paper floated round in the deep pool. I also didn't enjoy the beds. So the two things I spent most time in I felt could be improved. Overall I was satisfied but can't rate my stay any higher than "average".

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Madmaso1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Thank you for your review Madmass1234. We always appreciate guest’s feedback about their stay and the resort. We are glad to hear you had a great a time using the facilities at the resort.

Here at the Rolling Surf we have one of the largest swimming pools for accommodation establishments on the Sunshine Coast and due to its size, falls under the stringent Queensland Health’s swimming and spa pool water quality and operational guidelines.

The day before guests depart a notice is placed under apartment doors. On this notice there is an allocated place where we encourage guest feedback. We do not have record of your departure notice on file therefore we did not know your thoughts on the beds; which is a shame as without such feedback we cannot rectify any issues.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
1.0 km away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
2.6 km away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 km away
Salt on Kings Apartments
Salt on Kings Apartments
#1 of 1 in Kings Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.8 km away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.6 km away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolling Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Surf Resort

Property: Rolling Surf Resort
Address: 10 Levuka Avenue, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price range (per night): $122 - $320
Hotel Class:4 star — Rolling Surf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolling Surf Resort takes pride as being the closest resort to the ocean. The resort has a 4 star AAA rating and has no roads to cross to the beach. Our spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments are fully self contained and comfortably furnished, our apartments offer varied views including the resorts pool, the ocean or private courtyard apartments. Enjoy relaxing on your balcony or exclusive rooftop area or why not stay in a pool entry apartment, you can swim right up to the balcony gate! When you're not enjoying Kings Beach, visiting the local attractions or touring the hinterland, take advantage of the following facilities; a spectacular resort pool that spans the entire length of the resort, sauna, fitness room, games room and BBQ entertainment area and free wireless internet access, you will find something to indulge every mood. The resort also features a beachfront restaurant, coffee shop & take away shop (external management). A short stroll away is Caloundra Town Centre with numerous restaurants, cafes and shops. Within easy access to all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer and an unbeatable location right on Kings Beach, Rolling Surf Resort is the ideal choice for your next Sunshine Coast holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rolling Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolling Surf Hotel Caloundra
Rolling Surf Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing