We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated at five stars”
Review of Rumba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rumba Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

We decided to splash out the extra $ for an overnight stay at Rumba having had its location & facilities recommended to us. There's no doubt the location is superb right on inlet water front - ideal for families to paddle etc & also a string of nice eateries along the boulevard. However that's where our recommendation ends. Whilst the room with kitchen & dining area was roomy & nicely appointed, (mind you we felt bed was way too soft!) from lounge area the room was noisy so much so we couldn't sit on balcony & admire view between units in front of us. Our back unit faced the front block of Rumba unita & so we had to contend with the noise of all the air con units on the roof line & the noise of kids & people in pool area below. So we closed the balcony door & sat inside - making a mockery of the outdoor appeal/ views. If price & rating were 3 star I could accept the unexpected noise but not on grounds of this being a 5 star resort at $300 a night. I'm sure there's other places that offer better deals & value for $ in Caloundra.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear Lea C, I'm sorry that we were unable to please you on this occasion. Please feel free to let us know your preference for views in advance, and we'll do whatever we can to oblige. Regards, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 180 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed at rumba for the weekend and surprised our birthday friend. We were impressed with the hotels information. Our two bedroom apartment was spacious and well layer out. With the beach across the road it was a fantastic location. The staff were very friendly and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.. we are already planning our next holiday there..

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank mrmmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear mrmmcdonald, thank you for posting such a great review. Hope to see you soon. Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016

The Rumba resort is easily the best spot in Caloundra! I have stayed at 5 other hotels/appartments and can confidently say that this is the best maintained property and the rooms are super generous and well appointed. The location opposite the beach is a positive as are their two pools and Jacuzzi that can be easily accessed outside of school holidays. I have stayed during school holidays as i did last week and there is still room to enjoy the pool & spa

Room Tip: Levels 4 & 5 give you the best views of the water and enjoy plenty of natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear Rik R, a very helpful review, we really appreciate it. Cheers, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Right on the water we had amazing views.the rooms are modern clean and large they have everything you would need full kitchen.laundry.downstairs is coffee clud and many other good eateries and shopping street is 500mtrs away.highly recommend this place.advise to contact direct to get best deals.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rjbAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear rjbAustralia, thank you for posting a really helpful review. Really appreciated. Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

We had an excellent stay here and wish we had stayed longer. Very clean and well looked after with mostly friendly and helpful staff. Beds are very comfortable and it has a good set up in all apartments, even the cheaper ones. Pools are great and the jacuzzi is a nice treat. Better than anything else in the area by far. We will return again without hesitation.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Big G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Hi Big G, what a great review. We really appreciate that you've taken the time. Cheers, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.2 km away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
2 km away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
545 reviews
14.2 km away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
260 reviews
14.3 km away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#2 of 16 in Mooloolaba
388 reviews
5.3 km away
The Sebel Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumba Beach Resort

Address: Bulcock Beach Esplanade | Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range: $190 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumba Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumba Beach Resort brings to Caloundra the finest boutique hotel facilities. With arguably the most well-appointed guest suites on the Sunshine Coast, Rumba Resort integrates the relaxing atmosphere of a tropical resort with the convenience of being right in the heart of town. Cafes and fine dining restaurants pepper the beachfront esplanade and a network of boardwalks and coastal pathways link the main shopping precinct to the locale’s famous surf beaches and beyond.Stunning 1, 2 and 3 bedroom guest apartments offer spa ensuites, espresso coffee machines and home theatre systems, all as standard. Rumba's pool bar known as 26degrees is a relaxing and enjoyable place to unwind. Drinks are served on Rumba's pool deck by friendly and professional wait staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rumba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumba Beach Hotel Caloundra
Rumba Beach Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing