We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
433
183
49
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
183
49
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hogs breath across the road coffee machine pool bar coffee club bedroom ocean apartment pools are great heated lap pool bulcock beach spa bath sunshine coast text message ocean view king bed restaurants and cafes perfect location down stairs
Filter
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it! We requested water views but were given a room that was looking at the back of the other rooms that were facing the water so our view wasn't great.

Under the resort there are several restaurants, a pub and a coffee club, then a very short walk away are more restaurants, cafes, take away shops, ice cream shops. There is a waveless beach across the road and a boardwalk perfect for fishing. Lots of tables to sit along the water edge on the boardwalk and two streets back is the main shopping street with lots of shops to browse.

Nice room, king size bed, decent size in room spa, coffee machine (only 2 coffee pods provided and u have to pay for more pods). The staff on check in weren't overly inviting however on checkout the lady was friendly.

Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KT-Lee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thanks for posting an honest and balanced review. We get great comments about our front desk team. It reminds us that we all need to keep smiling, even if things sometimes might not be going to plan. We hope to see you back soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed with our two children (2 and 4 years) and we found the variety of pools to be great for them. It is directly accross the road from Bulcock Beach which is calm and beautiful for young children. We received excellent service from the front desk staff and housekeeping. We would definately return. Worth noting that La Dolce Vita underneath the hotel does half price pizzas on Tuesday nights as well as a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Connie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thanks for the great review. It's feedback for promos like Half Price Pizza and Movie Tuesdays that let us know we're on the right track appealing to guests with our specials. Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My husband and I love spending weekends away and Caloundra is one of our favourite destinations. We tend to try different places each time we go and I must admit we loved the location if this one - right in a new development in front of Bulcock beach and the lifesaver shed, it certainly was in the heart of it all. Perfect for those wishing to just walk ten metres across the road to the beach and then accessing the beautiful stretch of board walks which takes you on and along up to Kings beach. Also perfect for sitting out on the balcony and just soaking up the atmosphere!

We booked a 2 BR apartment with ocean views (312) so we had water views front and centre! The complex is only 4 stories high, is quite close to the street and the restaurants below, which although handy for for dining out (Coffee club, hogs breath, La Dolci Vita and the Sand Bar) are also possibly a bit noisy - especially on a Friday night! but other than that it was pretty darn perfect!
The apartment had two bedrooms and two utterly magnificent bathrooms - new, high spec tiles fixtures and fittings - (although bits around the shower frames already slightly showing some signs of rust - I do feel sorry for them with the upkeep - being at the beach with all the salt air!) This certainly didn't inhibit my enjoyment of the bathrooms however! the size of the shower stalls were brilliant, Water pressure was divine. There was a round tiled spa bath in the master bedroom suite which wasn't particularly practical for two but great for one to soak in.

The mod cons in the apartment included, push button controlled lighting with dimming functions - handy. and the kitchen was brilliant - full sized, with Miele appliances and kitchen Island, A Nespresso coffee machine was also provided with 2 starter pods only - with the ability to purchase more at reception. We thought most people would enjoy the novelty of the inclusion of this but for us we didn't want to purchase more pods and couldn't produce coffee we liked so we strolled on down to the coffee club just under the apartment complex!

I must say the leather couch was large and very comfortable, The large king bed was also very comfortable and not too firm which I find is a problem in most hotel apartments! Heaps of storage available for clothes etc. Internet connection a little problematic but we made it work.

Overall had a lovely stay here and would consider revisiting this place rather than looking for somewhere new to stay!

Room Tip: Only 4 floors high so request a top floor to minimise street and restaurant noise and consider going mid week for the same reasons.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

A big thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed report. We all appreciate it very much and we look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The resort is only still very new and the rooms and fittings in the rooms are a very high standard. We had a top floor front room overlooking the beach and main strip with a very large balcony with table and 4 chairs and was great to have a meal overlooking the activity below. The rooms were faultless 5 star all of the way, the kitchen was great everything you needed to make a 5 star meal, the bathrooms very high standard. The parking was easy and lots of it all secure and right next to the lifts, the retail under the resort had a Hogs Breath and Coffee Club shop. The price was a little high when you look at it with the other ones in the area but the overall package with the heated pool and very large spa was well worth the money. We had the best time over the 3 days and will make it our number 1 spot to stay again. Do your research on their website to the room that you need and the number, we had room 413 and it was just brilliant.

Room Tip: The front room overlooking the beach would be the best, not much of a view to the pool from there. Pick you room number and ask them in advance we did and they were great to help us with it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kezzbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Just a quick thank you for penning such a great review. We will pass your comments onto our room attendants. Many thanks again. Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Great location, well appointed rooms and friendly staff. Kids loved the pools. Rooms were clean but there were a few things that didn't seem five star - Nespresso wouldn't froth milk, dirty hand prints on walls/ceiling and fist marks in freezer door! We would stay again, but probably in off-peak season - not particularly good value in school holidays. I was awake when the rubbish trucks came in morning, they are loud but but my family slept through it OK.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room to avoid looking out over roof and air conditioining units.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBecKidults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide honest and valuable feedback. Hopefully you'll see from past reviews that we pride ourselves on cleanliness. It sounds like we've let you down a bit there so I will investigate. We would like to make it up to you on your next stay, so please contact me personally to discuss. We really value the feedback, so thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews