We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the lap pool & spa”
Review of Rumba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rumba Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Family of 4 stayed during the flooding rains from 14/1 for a week in a 2 bed apartment on 3rd floor. We chose to pay extra for a beach view & our room was just lovely. I absolutely loved our balcony which looked out onto the esplanade & beach. The board walk was a family favourite on the few mornings we were not being drenched with the driving flooding rains. The beach in front of the resort is quite calm & great for smaller children interested in sand castle building perhaps & a paddle in the water although it does have a strong rip so watch that. A 12 minute walk along the wonderful esplanade & board walk sees you at Kings beach which is patrolled & full of families enjoying the waves & clean surrounds. This is an excellent spot for some body boarding or playing in the large waves. Rumba was luxiouriously appointed with 2 plasma screens, thank god for this on the 4 wet days out of our 7 there! We sat back & enjoyed the Tennis in comfort. The beds were good, the room was clean & the airconditioning was a must & worked well. This was only used over night when it proved impossible to sleep with the huge balcony doors opened for several reasons. 1 being that as we were right on the beach front (not complaining as loving the views) & that meant it was very windy & the curtains would get sucked out & not provide any window coverage. The sun rises at 4.38am there! 2nd the council who do a wonderful job of keeping the esplanade & beach areas spotless start work around 6-30am with their loud blower vacs cleaning up the side walks. However we discoved closing up & using the air at night gave you a really peacefull nights sleep. I loved the fact that it was easy to walk to many wonderful eateries either in the building or nearby. Great fish & chip shop just a 2 minute walk away heading towards the grand pacific. A 5 minute walk found us at Jow Noodles, this has to be the best Chinese take away I have had ever! Very cheap & low fat & tasted wonderful. Also just next door to them was Stacks pancakes. Great prices, friendly service & wonderful food! Back to the resort, the pools were lovely. Our son loved the lap pool, it has port holes in the bottom that let you look into the Hoggs Breath cafe located below the pool. This provides endless entertainment for both dinners & swimmers alike. The pool has a few problems with its lining however & the resort has indicated it is negotiating it repair, it is still fully operational until they start the repairs. Next to the heated lap pool is a warm toasty spa, very large & very popular but room for many. Their large swimming pool is also in this area, it doesn't feel heated but was great for a swim anyway. Due to it being so chilly & rainy we were glad that the lap pool & spa were heated. We loved our stay & will return again. Only negative was like others have said re the handy coffee maker. This is a great appliance & really appreciated. Works so easily & produces a lovely cup of coffee. I had no problem paying $1 per pod at reception but when I asked the staff member who popped in to make our beds if I could get a couple of sugar sachets from her she replied I would have to purchase these from reception! For $1.40 at Woolies I could have bought a 500gm pack of sugar but only needed a couple of extra sachets that would cost them next to nothing & this was not a cheap place to stay so in the name of customer service I would offer these freely.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trellios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed blog. I felt sick reading your comment that one of our housekeepers said you would have to buy your own sugar sachets. That is so not our policy. Your comments have triggered a revised staff training procedure to ensure something as simple as that doesn't happen again. Please contact me (Bill) when you book your next stay. We want to make it up to you. It's the little things that matter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 561 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

There is nothing 5 star about this resort. Granted it is not a hotel but an apartment complex which they are at pains to spell out when you check-in. Reception hours are short. The apartments are OK but not spectacular in any way. The kitchen is poorly laid out and cramped.
The apartments have mediocre beds (Sealy with a 5 year warranty as opposed to 10) which are only 2 years old but if you are unlucky and get one which has had heavier use as we had, it sagged in the middle on my side and made my back condition worse. I told reception but the rude woman said it was not her fault and because they were completely booked out, she couldn't move us. She suggested we look elsewhere! Luckily once I asked and they removed the feather topper and I slept on my husband's side, it was a bit better.
The furnishing are nice but not exceptional or 5 star except the couch which is leather and lovely.
There are 3 items that appear to have people raving. 1) the coffee machine (not that important to us) 2) the electronics including the light switches and dennon sound system (the latter is great and, really, who cares about the former) and 3) the pool (is in the corridor between the back and front buildings and in the corridor between the two front buildings. I use the term corridor because that is what it is: the space between the two buildings which is not large but appears to be the minimum spacing required. There is the jacuzzi which is larger than most and lovely but is still between two 5-6 storey buildings. We had terrible weather and so I don't know, but I wondered how much sun would penetrate these outdoor spaces and I expect not much.)
And as the title of this review states, I think that the developer has maximised their returns by crowding in as much as possible into the site and adding what appear to be 5 star touches such as the pools and light switches which on closer inspection do not make for a 5 star experience. Probably 4-41/2 star.

P.s We had room 409 and whilst you get a peep at the beach, the outlook is the airconditioning units for the buildings in front.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the front buildings facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lucy787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

We are so sorry you had an unpleasant time. We just can't understand what went wrong. If there is anything at all we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to contact me personally. I will stive to ensure you have a great "Rumba Experience".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed at Rumba for 4 days for during the flooding in S.E. Qld. We stayed in a 3 bedroom beach view apartment which was 5 star in most respects. It is 2 years old and as expected in spot on condition. The apartment on the 4th level is very very modern. Every applicance is very high quality e.g. Meile, Plasma. Spotless apartment, fully integrated air, great beds.
Front onto Bullock Beach which had been done up by Caloundra Council. This was a great place to stay for the 4 days of extremely heavy rain.
Staff on entry were good and contact with them during the four days was great. Staff wanted to make beds, take rubbish everyday.
May be brand new, but will be No. 1 at Caloundra for quite some time. Great apartment for family if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackboycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We have just finished a stay at Rhumba and there is not a single level on which the resort did not just deliver but exceed our expectations. We could not have had a better time and in fact extended our stay by a few days and have already booked for next year. The staff were not just helpful but incredibly friendly and warm. We had iffy weather for the first few days - but the heated pool was a great option for a swim in the rain, and once the sun came out, the kids lived in the big pool. The resort is amazing for families, but because of the layout, the parents can have a relaxing time while keeping an eye on the children. There are loads of cafe's and restaurants right at your doorstep. The rooms themselves are beautiful with a big open plan living, dining and kitchen, incredibly comfy beds and huge bathrooms. Cannot recommend Rhumba more highly.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the tower at the back, some of the rooms don't have views, so ask for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balmaingirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

When booking a week away for the family, I was tossing up between another resort and this one. Looking back we are so glad we chose Rumba. Firstly, we booked the two-bedroom spa suite resort. We rang up a week prior to confirm the reservation. The very helpful receptionist on the phone upgraded us to the two-bedroom ocean view room. A better room for a lower price. She even chucked in a free bottle of champagne!

On the morning of arrival, they contacted us saying we could check in two hours earlier. We were also quickly and promptly checked in and directed to our rooms. The only complaint I have is the vaguely signed car park which can be confusing. The lifts were very handy and almost private.

Although a bit smaller than usual, the rooms were very enjoyable. The amenities in the room were very impressive such as the spa, balcony, coffee machine and kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and hard to get out of in the morning!

One of the highlights of the resort was the two pools and jacuzzi. There was also plenty of room to sit by the pool and relax. Main beaches such as Bulcock and Kings were not far away. I would also recommend hiring the bikes from Reception and going for a ride along the beach.

To conclude, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Rumba Resort, would stay again and would recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Recommend selecting a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamlukeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.2 km away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
2 km away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
532 reviews
14.2 km away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
376 reviews
0.8 km away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#9 of 16 in Caloundra
255 reviews
16 km away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumba Beach Resort

Address: Bulcock Beach Esplanade | Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range: $193 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumba Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumba Beach Resort brings to Caloundra the finest boutique hotel facilities. With arguably the most well-appointed guest suites on the Sunshine Coast, Rumba Resort integrates the relaxing atmosphere of a tropical resort with the convenience of being right in the heart of town. Cafes and fine dining restaurants pepper the beachfront esplanade and a network of boardwalks and coastal pathways link the main shopping precinct to the locale’s famous surf beaches and beyond.Stunning 1, 2 and 3 bedroom guest apartments offer spa ensuites, espresso coffee machines and home theatre systems, all as standard. Rumba's pool bar known as 26degrees is a relaxing and enjoyable place to unwind. Drinks are served on Rumba's pool deck by friendly and professional wait staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rumba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumba Beach Hotel Caloundra
Rumba Beach Resort Caloundra, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing