We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Truly Charming House”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to 'Burnie Brae' circa 1908
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to 'Burnie Brae' circa 1908
Spacious main living area Dine is style in the main dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Welcome to 'Burnie Brae' circa 1908
Spacious main living area
Dine is style in the main dining area
Traditional main bedroom with queen size bed
Second Bedroom (optional pricing structure applies) - locked off when not required
Second Bedroom (optional pricing structure applies) - locked off when not required
Country style kitchen to have breakfast in
Traditional bathroom with modern fittings
Traditional shower area with room for two
Wide shady verandah to have your morning cuppa out on
Wide entrance hallway
'Burnie Brae' c 1908 is located in a quiet street in a historic part of town
Visit and be awed by The Three Sisters
Do a bushwalk to Katoomba Falls
Frollick in the waters of Katoomba Cascades
Admire Jamison Valley & Mt Solitary
Enjoy the thrills at Scenic World
Be dazzled by Weeping Rock
Go for a paddle at Queens Cascade
Be enthralled by Wentworth Falls
View the splendour of the Grose Valley
Hunt for hidden treasure at the Victory Theatre
Have lunch at the Megalong Tea Rooms
Explore the underworld of Jenoleon Caves
Take afternoon tea at The Paragon
Cherish some quality local restaurants
Ride the historic Zig Zag Railway
Meander the gardens of Mt Wilson
Find inspirion at Norman Lindsay Gallery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Katoomba, Blue Mountains, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sir Keith...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Truly Charming House”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed at Bernie Brae for three weeks, making it our base for a holiday from the UK. The house lived up to and exceeded our expectations; it is in a quiet road and is an easy walk into town. It is a comfortable 'home from home' with plenty of space. The rooms are all large and very well appointed. The owner (Michael) could not have been more helpful giving great advice on local restaurants and when I told him that we were planning to drive to the Hunter Valley for a couple of days he recommended a route (The Putty Road) which was stunning and really added to our visit. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajera201...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elegance and tranquility”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful historic home in a great location, surrounded by a beautiful garden coming into spring bloom; it was all that it was billed to be and, for my wife and I, much more. The kitchen is well equipped with excellent facilities. The whole house is spacious and caters for all one needs to relax and be a home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shep196
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently spent 3 nights at this beautifully decorated and very spacious house. It's location in Katoomba is hard to beat. Just a 10 minute walk from the station, restaurants and also supermarkets. It is well stocked with utensils etc if you want to self cater, but really there are so many restaurants at different price points so close by, I wouldn't bother.
Would stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsmith9...
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very, very happy with the property, furnishings, inclusions, owner's considerate treatment.”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

As our stay was for 10 days, the absence of a laundry was a disadvantage. However, there is a commercial laundry in the town.
The magazines and book on "Best Walks" were a great help in getting the best out of the stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness, decor, furniture, cleanliness, state of repair.
Liked least: Not being familiar with some aspects of some appliances etc
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn J
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant mountains hideaway”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Burnie Brae is an immaculately restored and maintained weatherboard Mountains home. The house, although only 5 minutes walk from the centre of Katoomba, is tucked away in a leafy street with a lovely garden surrounding the house. The owner, Michael, was a pleasure to deal with and the rates are extremely reasonable - the rustic kitchen is supplied with tea, coffee, milk and a packet of Tim Tams in the fridge! The living/dining area is spacious and the décor is beautifully done with Victorian colour scheme and décor.
My wife and I needed some real 'downtime' and Burnie Brae was absolutely perfect to relax and clear our heads.
Michael also provided descriptions of local cafes and restaurants which was thoughtful and very useful.
We are keen to return to the Mountains and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Quite solitude
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing