We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
77
29
9
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
29
9
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paris suite guest house french style clean suite wonderful french restaurant blue mountains escargot creme brûlée muesli bed and breakfast b and b beautiful room old world jenolan caves dining room roosters guesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2015

This was our fourth lovely experience visiting Jamison House and Rooster Restaurant. Last week not only did my husband and I have a short enjoyable stay at the Guesthouse but also had the most memorable evening at the Rooster with its beautiful French Cuisine, and entertainment by Matthew Dennett, a most accomplished pianist who performs there three times a week. Everything from Chopin to jazz, and even some piano accordion items gave the evening the very atmosphere one remembers from special restaurants long ago and which sadly have disappeared. Don't miss the experience!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 4 or 5 if you want a great view of the valley.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

Had the good fortune to stay at the Jamison guest house at katoomba and found this great restaurant which was part of the guest house.
Fantastic food you seem Togo back in time.
The place must be 100 years old an the atmosphere was great food fantastic if you like French cuisine.
Really nice and a place to visit if you in town.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

On July 22 I visited Le Cock French Restaurant in the Blue Mountains with my wife and daughter to celebrate her 21st.
What a great experience again. Its a joy to enter this restaurant with its classical look and feel where you are welcomed and invited into a little taste of France.
Service is attentive and the food is obviously prepared with love and dedication. Attention to detail is top while the wine list offers some great Australian AND French wines. To start you off with a Ricard/ Pernod, and finish with a Martell Cognac is just the best. Thank you to the chef for ensuring our daughter's birthday was extra special.
Chapeau

Enjoy

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

For a very romantic weekend away, I thoroughly recommend Jamison house. It's small and intimate, with maybe ten guest rooms at most (?). It is on the corner of two roads, no real gardens to speak of, and does not have the facilities of a large hotel such as the Fairmont. There is a small park with play equipment across the road, but I would recommend the guest house more for couples than families (and the other guests would probably thank you for leaving your kids at home!) It is very central, reasonably close to all the sights and Kattomba, but far enough away to be peaceful, and the roads are very quiet at night.

We stayed on the top floor and it was more like an apartment than a guesthouse. A lounge, small kitchenette, bathroom (bit small, only a shower, no bath) and a bedroom.
The pictures and the decor made us feel we were in Paris by the mountains, aided by friendly staff with beautiful French accents. Our lounge had a fabulous view of the Blue Mountains.

Food at the Rooster restaurant is to die for. Forget Julia Child, the chef is amazing! He produced an incredible boef bourguignon which was exquisite. Can't recommend the restaurant enough. There was live music, French of course, which added to the ambience, and the front of the restaurant looks out onto the mountains. A wonderful evening, enjoyed all the more as we didnt have to drive anywhere afterwards! There are not enough superlatives to describe it.

Go here to celebrate your next wedding anniversary - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Top room is awesome, great view, the bedroom is at the back and whisper quiet as it is farthest from the restaurant and lounge.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We've been going to this restaurant for years. We stopped going a year ago because the menu never changed. We are locals. The new owners have changed all that and now we are regulars again. The food is traditionally French and to die for. The snails are a must as is the duck and beef. The creme brûlée is the best I've ever had.
The staff are friendly and attentive with nothing being too difficult. Housed in a traditional mountain cottage, the atmosphere is romantic and cosy and the view over the Jamieson valley is extraordinary.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank jnewls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews